Now recruiting capture teams worldwide. Get paid to record first-person video of real work.

Apply to capture

Glossary

What Is PointVLA?

PointVLA is a published framework that adds point cloud inputs to pre-trained VLA models without retraining. Firsthand is not affiliated.

Last reviewed: October 2026

Short answer

PointVLA is a published vision-language-action framework, introduced in arXiv 2503.07511, that adds point cloud inputs to a pre-trained VLA without retraining it. Per the abstract, it freezes the action expert and injects 3D features through a lightweight modular block, placed in blocks a skip-block analysis marks as less useful. It is third-party research; Firsthand is not affiliated.

01

What is PointVLA?

PointVLA is introduced in arXiv 2503.07511 (v1, 10 Mar 2025) by Chengmeng Li, Junjie Wen, Yan Peng, Yaxin Peng, Feifei Feng and Yichen Zhu. The project page lists Shanghai University and Midea Group and says IEEE RA-L 2025 accepted it. Read: the arXiv abstract page, project page and GitHub account page; the full paper text was not read.

02

Where does Firsthand fit next to PointVLA?

Third-party research; Firsthand is not affiliated and claims no use, training or compatibility with it. Firsthand captures first-person human video, not robot data, fast, on demand and to a written spec: depth derived from a calibrated stereo rig, 21 keypoints per hand with a visibility flag, wrist trajectories and action segments, plus one task instruction per episode.

03

What problem does PointVLA address?

The abstract says VLA models draw on large-scale 2D vision-language pretraining, but reliance on RGB images limits spatial reasoning. Retraining them with 3D data is computationally prohibitive, while discarding existing 2D datasets wastes resources.

04

How does PointVLA inject 3D without retraining?

Per the abstract, PointVLA enhances pre-trained VLAs with point cloud inputs without requiring retraining. It freezes the vanilla action expert and injects 3D features via a lightweight modular block. To choose where, the authors run a skip-block analysis that pinpoints less useful blocks in the action expert, and 3D features go only into those blocks, which minimises disruption to the pre-trained representations.

05

What does PointVLA claim, and what do the demos show?

The abstract says PointVLA outperforms state-of-the-art 2D imitation learning methods such as OpenVLA, Diffusion Policy and DexVLA across simulated and real-world tasks. It highlights few-shot multi-tasking (four tasks with 20 demonstrations each), real-vs-photo discrimination, adaptation to table heights unseen in the training data, and long-horizon picking and packing of objects from a moving conveyor belt.

The project page shows videos for these, with captions for a real object versus a photo and for evaluation at heights of 3 mm and 52 mm. No success rates appear in the text read, so this page gives none.

06

How does PointVLA differ from 3D-VLA and SpatialVLA?

The site’s entries describe 3D-VLA as a generative world model that predicts goal images and point clouds, and SpatialVLA as a 3D-aware VLA with Ego3D Position Encoding and Adaptive Action Grids. PointVLA’s stated move is narrower: add point cloud features to an existing pre-trained VLA. The table ranks none of them.

07

What depth does Firsthand state next to a point-cloud model like PointVLA?

PointVLA consumes point clouds. On the stereo capture pages, the site states depth derived from a head-mounted calibrated stereo rig, not a standalone depth sensor, delivered in metric millimetres. The site’s point-cloud entry says a buyer can compute a cloud from the delivered depth and calibration; Firsthand point-cloud file delivery is Not stated. Whether that suits PointVLA is the buyer’s to check.

08

What do the PointVLA sources not state?

The full paper’s method detail was not read, so the encoder, base model, point source and point count are Not stated here. No code repository is linked in the sources read: the GitHub account lists one public repository, the project-page site. The author list differs, with six names on arXiv and five on the project page, and RA-L 2025 appears only on the project page. Licence, weights and per-task scores are Not stated, and whether first-person human video would suit PointVLA is not said.

09

What human data pairs with point-cloud VLA research like PointVLA, and how do you get it custom-collected?

Human video is not PointVLA’s stated input. Firsthand records first-person human video to a written spec: depth from a calibrated stereo rig, 21 keypoints per hand with a visibility flag, wrist trajectories, action segments and one task instruction per episode. Robot actions are Not stated. Confirm tasks and signals in a written spec on a Spec Pilot. Median time to first validated batch: 48 hours where coverage is deep, three to four weeks where thin. Formats include RLDS; matching PointVLA’s expected fields is the buyer’s to check.

10

PointVLA setup, as stated in the official sources

PointVLA setup, as stated in the official sources
ItemWhat the official sources state
Contribution (abstract)Point cloud inputs added to pre-trained VLAs without retraining
Method (abstract)Frozen action expert, lightweight modular injection block, skip-block analysis
Compared against (abstract)OpenVLA, Diffusion Policy, DexVLA
Few-shot setting (abstract)Four tasks, 20 demonstrations each
Venue (project page)IEEE RA-L 2025
Code, weights, licence, scoresNot stated in the sources read
Firsthand relationshipNone

12

PointVLA beside 3D-VLA and SpatialVLA

PointVLA beside 3D-VLA and SpatialVLA
ItemPointVLA (sources read)3D-VLA (site entry)SpatialVLA (site entry)
Stated focusSpatial reasoning for pre-trained VLAs without retrainingA 3D generative world model that predicts goal images and point cloudsA 3D-aware VLA for spatially enhanced manipulation
MechanismFrozen action expert plus a lightweight 3D injection block in skip-block-selected blocksA 3D-based LLM with interaction tokens and aligned diffusion modelsEgo3D Position Encoding and Adaptive Action Grids
What it isA model designA model designA model design

13

What PointVLA consumes beside what the Firsthand site states

What PointVLA consumes beside what the Firsthand site states
AspectPointVLA (sources read)What the Firsthand site states
3D inputPoint cloud; sensor and density Not statedDepth from a calibrated stereo rig, not a standalone depth sensor
Depth unitsNot statedMetric millimetres (depth_mm)
Point-cloud fileNot statedDelivery Not stated; compute from depth plus calibration
CalibrationNot statedIntrinsics and extrinsics in each episode’s calibration group
OutputRobot actions through an action expertHuman video, hand pose and action segments; no robot actions

14

Frequently asked questions

What is PointVLA?
A vision-language-action framework (arXiv 2503.07511) that adds point cloud inputs to a pre-trained VLA without retraining it.
How does PointVLA add 3D to a VLA?
Per the abstract, it freezes the action expert and injects 3D features through a lightweight modular block, placed in blocks a skip-block analysis marks as less useful.
How is PointVLA different from 3D-VLA and SpatialVLA?
PointVLA adds point cloud features to an existing pre-trained VLA. The site entries describe 3D-VLA as a generative world model and SpatialVLA as using Ego3D Position Encoding and Adaptive Action Grids.
Is PointVLA open source?
The sources read link no code repository. The GitHub account lists one public repository, the project-page site. Licence and weights are Not stated.
Does Firsthand use PointVLA or deliver point clouds, and can I request a custom dataset?
Firsthand is not affiliated and claims no use, training or compatibility. The site states depth from a calibrated stereo rig, and point-cloud file delivery is Not stated. You can request a custom dataset, confirmed first on a Spec Pilot.