Guide
How Much Data Does It Take to Train a VLA Model?
Short answer
There is no single number. How much data a VLA model needs depends on the training stage: published models report pretraining in hours, trajectories or demonstrations, and fine-tuning in smaller task-specific sets, each in different units. Read each paper’s own figures, then size custom VLA data collection by stage and task coverage, not a target total.
Last reviewed:
How much data does it take to train a VLA model?
There is no single number, and the published papers do not offer one. How much data it takes to train a vision-language-action (VLA) model depends on which stage you mean, which unit the data is counted in, and which robot and tasks the model has to handle. A VLA model takes camera images and a language instruction and outputs an action. Training one usually involves more than one dataset, and each dataset answers a different question.
The π0 paper (https://arxiv.org/abs/2410.24164) is direct about the limit of current knowledge. It says that "it remains unclear how to predict how much and what kind of data is needed to attain near-perfect performance." The same paper adds that its experiments do not yet give a comprehensive understanding of how pre-training datasets should be composed. This guide takes that seriously. It lists what each paper reports about its own data, attributed and linked, and stops short of turning those figures into a rule.
Three handling rules apply to every figure below. Each is quoted in the unit its paper uses: hours, trajectories, demonstrations or timesteps. Units are not converted, summed, averaged or ranked, because the papers do not count data the same way. Where a source does not state a figure, the table says "Not stated in the sources read". Firsthand is not affiliated with any of these authors or labs, and nothing here says a named model was trained, fine-tuned or evaluated on Firsthand data.
- Which stage is this data for? Pretraining, aligned mid-training and task fine-tuning are built to different goals, and the papers report different figures for each.
- Which unit is the target counted in? Hours, episodes, trajectories, demonstrations and timesteps are not interchangeable, so fix one unit in the written spec.
- Which tasks, objects and setting must the model handle? The papers tie fine-tuning data to the task, so list the tasks before you size anything.
How much data did published VLA models report?
The table lists the data each source reports for its own models, by training stage. It covers RT-2, OpenVLA, Octo, π0, GR00T N1 and EgoScale. Octo describes a generalist robot policy rather than a vision-language-action model, and is included because it reports data sizes for both pretraining and fine-tuning.
| Model and stage | Data as the paper states it | Unit as stated | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| RT-2: co-fine-tuning on robot and web data | Robot demonstration data from the earlier RT-1 work, "collected with 13 robots over 17 months in an office kitchen environment", each trajectory annotated with a natural language instruction. Web data: the WebLI dataset, "around 10B image-text pairs across 109 languages", filtered to 1B training examples. The robotics dataset is weighted to make up about 50% of the training mixture for RT-2-PaLI-X and about 66% for RT-2-PaLM-E. Robot episode count: Not stated in the sources read. | Robots and months; image-text pairs; training examples; share of the mixture | https://arxiv.org/abs/2307.15818 |
| OpenVLA: pretraining | A "diverse collection of 970k real-world robot demonstrations" from the Open X-Embodiment dataset. | Demonstrations | https://arxiv.org/abs/2406.09246 |
| OpenVLA: fine-tuning | "Small datasets with 10–150 demonstrations of a target task", across seven tasks. Examples the paper gives: 10 demonstrations (Flip Pot Upright), 50 (Put Carrot in Bowl) and 150 (Move onto Plate). | Demonstrations per task | https://arxiv.org/abs/2406.09246 |
| Octo: pretraining | 800k trajectories from the Open X-Embodiment dataset. | Trajectories | https://arxiv.org/abs/2405.12213 |
| Octo: fine-tuning | "A small target domain dataset with around 100 trajectories", used in all of the paper’s finetuning experiments. | Trajectories | https://arxiv.org/abs/2405.12213 |
| π0: pre-training | "Over 10,000 hours of robot data" in the pre-training mixture. The paper also counts its own datasets in timesteps: 903M timesteps, of which 106M are from single-arm robots and 797M from dual-arm robots, across 7 robot configurations and 68 tasks. Open-source datasets, including Open X-Embodiment, make up 9.1% of the mixture. | Hours; timesteps; share of the mixture | https://arxiv.org/abs/2410.24164 |
| π0: post-training | "The simplest of the tasks necessitating only 5 hours and the most complex tasks using 100 or more hours of data." The fine-tuning experiments also vary the data per task, including 1-hour and 5-hour versions on one task. | Hours per task | https://arxiv.org/abs/2410.24164 |
| GR00T N1: pre-training | About 88 hours of in-house teleoperation data, from which the paper generates around 827 hours of neural-trajectory video (around 300k neural trajectories). It also reports 780,000 simulation trajectories that it describes as "equivalent to 6,500 hours" of human demonstration data. The paper points to its Table 7 for full dataset statistics, which this page does not reproduce. | Hours; trajectories | https://arxiv.org/abs/2503.14734 |
| GR00T N1: post-training | Human operators collected task-specific data "for durations ranging from 15 minutes to 3 hours, depending on task complexity", and low-quality trajectories were then filtered out. | Collection time per task | https://arxiv.org/abs/2503.14734 |
| EgoScale: Stage I human pretraining | 20,854 hours of action-labeled egocentric human video, which the abstract describes as "more than 20× larger than prior efforts". The paper describes the in-the-wild majority of the mixture as covering 9,869 scenes, 6,015 tasks and 43,237 objects. | Hours; scenes, tasks and objects | https://arxiv.org/abs/2602.16710 |
| EgoScale: scaling study | Models pretrained with 1k, 2k, 4k, 10k and 20k hours of human data to study how data volume affects results. | Hours | https://arxiv.org/abs/2602.16710 |
| EgoScale: Stage II aligned mid-training | 344 tabletop manipulation tasks, each captured in approximately 30 human trajectories and 5 robot trajectories, "totaling about 50 hours of human data and only 4 hours of robot data". | Trajectories per task; hours | https://arxiv.org/abs/2602.16710 |
| EgoScale: Stage III post-training | Fine-tuning on task-specific robot demonstrations. Demonstration count: Not stated in the sources read. | Not stated in the sources read | https://arxiv.org/abs/2602.16710 |
Dataset sizes exactly as each paper states them. Units differ between papers, so nothing is converted, summed, averaged or ranked.
Read the unit column before the number. The π0 paper itself notes that, because each training example is a timestep, it quantifies data in timesteps in its dataset discussion, while its headline pretraining figure is in hours. RT-2 does not state a robot episode count in the text read for this page; it refers to the earlier RT-1 dataset instead. A separate guide on this site covers pretraining corpora for robot foundation models in general, including corpora outside these six papers. This guide is limited to what the six papers report.
Why do pretraining, mid-training and fine-tuning need different amounts of data?
Because they have different jobs, and the papers say so. The π0 paper writes that "the requirements for the pre-training and post-training datasets are distinct": the pre-training dataset "should cover as many tasks as possible, and within each of those tasks should cover a diversity of behaviors", while the post-training dataset should cover behaviors that "exhibit a consistent and fluent strategy". Its stated reasoning is that diverse, lower-quality data helps the model recover from mistakes, and the high-quality data teaches it to perform the task well (https://arxiv.org/abs/2410.24164).
EgoScale describes a different split. It reports a two-stage transfer recipe, large-scale human pretraining followed by "lightweight aligned human–robot mid-training", and then post-training on downstream tasks (https://arxiv.org/abs/2602.16710). RT-2 describes co-fine-tuning, where robot data stays mixed with Internet-scale vision-language data instead of replacing it (https://arxiv.org/abs/2307.15818). GR00T N1 arranges its pre-training data as a pyramid of real-robot, synthetic and human video sources (https://arxiv.org/abs/2503.14734).
The practical reading is that amounts differ because goals differ, not because one stage is bigger than another by a fixed ratio. No source read for this page gives a ratio between stages, so this guide does not either. The second table maps each stage to what its data has to contain, what the Firsthand site states it delivers, and the field in the existing episode schema where one exists.
| Stage or data element | What the data has to contain, per the sources | What the site states Firsthand delivers | Existing format field |
|---|---|---|---|
| Broad pretraining | Per π0: cover as many tasks as possible, with a diversity of behaviors within each. Per EgoScale: human video across diverse real-world environments. | First-person human video captured on demand and planned for coverage first: the scenes, tasks and objects are named in a written spec. | streams/head_rgb |
| Language instruction | RT-2 annotates each robot demonstration trajectory with a natural language instruction. OpenVLA tasks specify the target in the language instruction. | One task instruction per episode. That is the only language data the site ties to Firsthand capture. | Not stated |
| Hand and wrist motion | EgoScale pretrains on wrist motion and retargeted dexterous hand actions taken from egocentric human video. | 21-joint 3D hand pose with a per-joint visibility flag, and wrist trajectories. | annotations/hand_joints, annotations/hand_visible. Wrist trajectories: Not stated |
| Contact events and action segments | Not stated in the sources read. | Contact events and action segments, on the same clock as the video. | annotations/contact_events, annotations/action_segments |
| Inertial and depth streams | Not stated in the sources read. | 200 Hz 6-DoF IMUs on the head and each wrist, and stereo depth where the spec calls for it, calibrated and hardware-synchronized. | streams/imu_head, streams/imu_wrist_l/r, streams/depth_mm |
| Aligned mid-training data | EgoScale: human demonstrations collected with the same camera configuration as the robot, with matched viewpoints and calibrated intrinsics. | Human-side first-person video from calibrated cameras on one hardware clock. Robot-side data: Not stated as a deliverable. | streams/head_rgb, streams/wrist_l/r |
| Task-specific fine-tuning set | π0: behaviors that exhibit a consistent and fluent strategy. GR00T N1: low-quality trajectories filtered out. OpenVLA: small datasets of 10–150 demonstrations per task. | Collected on demand to a written spec that names the tasks, objects and accept criteria. A Spec Pilot proves the spec on real footage first. | Not stated. Delivered as RLDS, LeRobot, WebDataset or HDF5 |
| Robot action labels | Robot-trained recipes learn from robot actions; RT-2 expresses actions as text tokens. | Not stated as a deliverable. Human hand signals are not robot actions, so the mapping is settled in the written spec. | Not stated |
| Rights to ship on | Not stated in the sources read. | A perpetual, buyer-owned commercial license. | Not stated |
Training stage or data element, what the papers say it needs, and what the Firsthand site states it delivers. Not stated means the source or the site is silent.
The language row is deliberately narrow. The only language data the site ties to Firsthand capture is one task instruction per episode, kept on the same clock as the video and the action fields. Firsthand captures first-person human video, not robot or teleoperation data, so any robot-side data your recipe needs has to come from somewhere else.
Does data diversity matter as much as volume?
Several papers treat diversity as part of the answer to "how much", and none of them reduces it to a single exchange rate. The π0 paper says its pre-training data should cover "a diversity of behaviors" within each task. It also warns that its task count is not comparable with other papers: its own definition of a task is broad (the bussing task covers many dishes, cups and utensils), so "the actual range of behaviors in our dataset is significantly broader than this number of “tasks” would imply" (https://arxiv.org/abs/2410.24164). That is a reason not to compare task counts across the rows of the first table.
EgoScale gives the most explicit data-size study among the six papers. It pretrains models with 1k, 2k, 4k, 10k and 20k hours of human data. It reports that smaller datasets (1k to 2k hours) "initially reduce validation loss but later plateau or degrade, indicating overfitting to limited behavioral diversity", while larger datasets (10k to 20k hours) show stable, monotonic improvement. It also reports a log-linear relationship between hours of human data and validation loss, and no signs of saturation in the range it explored (https://arxiv.org/abs/2602.16710). Those are findings about EgoScale’s own data and model, in the range tested. They are not a rule for another dataset.
RT-2 points the same way from the robot side. Its limitations section says the robot does not acquire the ability to perform new motions from web-scale pretraining, and attributes this to "the dataset not being varied enough along the axes of skills" (https://arxiv.org/abs/2307.15818).
The π0 paper leaves the composition question open. It says that understanding what type of data is more helpful to add, and how it should be weighted, "remains an open problem". A practical way to size a collection is therefore to list the scenes, tasks, objects and behaviors the model must cover, then count hours or episodes against that list. Fixing a total first and hoping it covers everything gets the order backwards.
Can egocentric human video add to robot data?
Two of the six papers use egocentric human video, and both report on their own data. EgoScale trains a vision-language-action model on 20,854 hours of action-labeled egocentric human video, then adds a "lightweight" aligned human-robot mid-training stage. The mid-training set it describes is about 50 hours of human data and 4 hours of robot data across 344 tabletop tasks. Its abstract says the recipe enables "one-shot task adaptation with minimal robot supervision" (https://arxiv.org/abs/2602.16710).
GR00T N1 places human egocentric video from open datasets at the base of its data pyramid, together with web data, and builds up through synthetic data to real-robot data at the top. It also observes that robot data "scales linearly with human labor", because a human operator typically has to teleoperate the robot to produce each trajectory (https://arxiv.org/abs/2503.14734). RT-2 lists "videos of humans" as a direction for future work on acquiring new skills (https://arxiv.org/abs/2307.15818).
The caution is about actions. Human video has no robot actions, so someone has to decide how hand motion maps to the actions your model learns. Firsthand delivers the human side: 21-joint 3D hand pose with a per-joint visibility flag, wrist trajectories, contact events, action segments, a 200 Hz IMU and stereo depth where the spec calls for it, all on one hardware clock. Whether that is enough for your model, or has to be paired with robot-side demonstrations, is a decision for the written spec and a pilot batch, not a number this page can supply.
How much data do you need to fine-tune a VLA on a new task?
The sources report what they used, not what you need. OpenVLA fine-tunes on "small datasets with 10–150 demonstrations of a target task" across seven tasks, with 10, 45, 50, 70 and 150 demonstrations for individual tasks (https://arxiv.org/abs/2406.09246). Octo uses "around 100 trajectories" in all of its finetuning experiments (https://arxiv.org/abs/2405.12213). π0 describes post-training sets running from 5 hours for the simplest tasks to 100 or more hours for the most complex (https://arxiv.org/abs/2410.24164). GR00T N1 reports operators collecting task-specific post-training data for 15 minutes to 3 hours depending on task complexity, then filtering out low-quality trajectories (https://arxiv.org/abs/2503.14734).
What those figures share is the unit problem: demonstrations, trajectories, hours and collection time are four different counts, and none of the papers claims a minimum. The stated driver is the task. π0 says different tasks "require very different datasets". OpenVLA separates narrow single-instruction tasks from multi-instruction tasks in which the target is specified in the language instruction. GR00T N1 ties collection time to task complexity.
To put a number on your own task, write the task list first, then run a small first batch. Firsthand calls that first batch a Spec Pilot: a small, fast batch that proves the spec and accept criteria on real footage before volume is added. Where coverage is deep, the first validated batch lands in a median of 48 hours from a signed spec. That is a turnaround figure for the first batch. It is not a statement about how much data a VLA needs.
When do you need custom VLA data collection?
Public mixtures such as Open X-Embodiment cover the robots and scenes their publishers collected. Custom VLA data collection makes sense when your tasks, objects, environments or label vocabulary are not in that coverage, or when you need a narrow, filtered fine-tuning set faster than your own team can capture one.
- Your target tasks or objects are missing from the public data you can access, and a pilot batch would show it quickly.
- You need human-side egocentric episodes with hand pose, contact events and action segments on one clock, and can map hand motion to your own action space.
- You want the unit, the accept criteria and the delivery format written down before capture starts, so the dataset loads into the training code you already run.
- You need to ship on data you own, under a perpetual commercial license, instead of data with a restricted license.
Firsthand collects custom first-person data on demand, to a written spec. Each episode carries one task instruction, 21-joint 3D hand pose with a per-joint visibility flag, wrist trajectories, contact events and action segments, with a 200 Hz IMU and stereo depth where the spec calls for them. Delivery is in RLDS, LeRobot, WebDataset or HDF5 under a perpetual, buyer-owned commercial license. The first validated batch lands in a median of 48 hours where coverage is deep, and in three to four weeks where contributors have to be recruited first. The custom dataset request below starts the written spec.
Related
- Training data for vision-language-action models
- How are VLA models trained?
- VLA dataset format: what a training episode contains
- How much pretraining data does a robot foundation model need?
- Pretraining data for VLA models
- VLA fine-tuning data
- How do you collect training data for a VLA model?
- Request a custom dataset
FAQ
How Much Data Does It Take to Train a VLA Model?, answered.
01How much data does it take to train a VLA model?
There is no single published number. It depends on the training stage, the unit the data is counted in and the tasks involved. The papers read for this guide report pretraining in hours, trajectories or demonstrations and fine-tuning in smaller task-specific sets, and none claims a minimum.
02How much data did OpenVLA use?
The OpenVLA paper reports training on a diverse collection of 970k real-world robot demonstrations from the Open X-Embodiment dataset. For fine-tuning to new settings, it reports small datasets of 10–150 demonstrations of a target task. Both figures are in demonstrations, as the paper states them.
03How much data did π0 use?
The π0 paper reports pre-training on over 10,000 hours of robot data, and counts its own datasets as 903M timesteps across 7 robot configurations and 68 tasks. For post-training, it says the simplest tasks needed only 5 hours and the most complex 100 or more hours.
04How much data do you need to fine-tune a VLA on one task?
The sources do not give a minimum. OpenVLA reports 10–150 demonstrations per task, Octo around 100 trajectories, π0 5 to 100 or more hours, and GR00T N1 15 minutes to 3 hours of collection. The units differ, so they should not be compared or averaged.
05How many hours of egocentric human video did EgoScale use?
EgoScale reports pretraining on 20,854 hours of action-labeled egocentric human video, a scaling study at 1k, 2k, 4k, 10k and 20k hours, and an aligned mid-training set of about 50 hours of human data and 4 hours of robot data. These are findings about its own data.
06Is more data always better for a VLA model?
The sources do not say so. EgoScale reports gains across the range it tested, with smaller sets overfitting to limited behavioral diversity. π0 says how to compose pre-training data remains an open problem. Diversity and task coverage matter alongside volume, and no source gives a rule.
07What language data does Firsthand capture include?
One task instruction per episode. That is the only language data the site ties to Firsthand capture, kept on the same clock as the video and the action fields. Nothing more is stated.
08Has Firsthand data trained a named VLA model?
This guide makes no claim that Firsthand data trained, fine-tuned or evaluated RT-2, OpenVLA, π0, Octo, GR00T N1 or any other named model, and Firsthand is not affiliated with their authors. Every figure cited here comes from the paper that reports it.
Sources
Where is this documented?
- RT-2 (arXiv 2307.15818) (opens in a new tab)Source for the robot data collected with 13 robots over 17 months, the WebLI image-text counts, the mixture shares and the limitations on skill variety. arxiv.org
- OpenVLA (arXiv 2406.09246) (opens in a new tab)Source for the 970k-demonstration pretraining set and the 10–150 demonstration fine-tuning datasets. arxiv.org
- Octo (arXiv 2405.12213) (opens in a new tab)Source for the 800k-trajectory pretraining set and the finetuning datasets of around 100 trajectories. arxiv.org
- π0 (arXiv 2410.24164) (opens in a new tab)Source for the pre-training hours and timesteps, the 5-hour to 100-plus-hour post-training sets and the open questions on data composition. arxiv.org
- GR00T N1 (arXiv 2503.14734) (opens in a new tab)Source for the 88 hours of teleoperation data, the 827 hours of neural trajectories, the simulation trajectories and the 15 minute to 3 hour post-training collection. arxiv.org
- EgoScale (arXiv 2602.16710) (opens in a new tab)Source for the 20,854-hour human pretraining set, the 1k to 20k hour scaling study and the 50-hour human and 4-hour robot mid-training set. arxiv.org
Check it against the sample pack.
40 episodes across 4 environments, delivered in the exact schema these guides describe.