Comparison

Egocentric Datasets for Robot Pretraining Compared

Three public egocentric corpora, compared on scale, labels and license — and where a custom pretraining collection fills the gap.

Short answer

EgoScale, EgoVerse and Egocentric-10K are the three public egocentric corpora referenced on this site for robot pretraining. They differ in scale — 20,854, about 1,362 and about 10,000 hours — in how labels are produced, and in license: only Egocentric-10K states an Apache 2.0 commercial license. None targets a specific task, which is where a custom collection fits.

Spec comparison

EgoScale, EgoVerse and Egocentric-10K compared on scale, labels and license.

DatasetScaleCapture / label sourceLicense stated
EgoScale20,854 hours of action-labeled egocentric human videoAggregated egocentric video; action labels derived from off-the-shelf SLAM and hand-pose estimation, not a purpose-built rigNot stated in the paper — confirm the specific release’s terms before commercial use
EgoVerseRoughly 1,362 hours across approximately 80,000 episodesPublished research corpus; the paper states hour and episode counts but does not publish capture or label methodologyNot stated in the paper
Egocentric-10KRoughly 10,000 hours of egocentric videoHosted on Hugging Face by builddotai; the dataset card states the hour count but not a capture or label methodologyApache 2.0 — commercial use permitted under that license’s terms

Spec comparison

What’s missing from public egocentric corpora for pretraining a commercial robot model.

Pretraining requirementWhat the public corpora provideWhat a custom collection adds
Task / environment fitBroad, general-purpose coverage fixed at each corpus’s release; none is built to one named skillCaptured to a written skill spec and environment, with coverage set by the buyer
Commercial licenseOnly Egocentric-10K states one (Apache 2.0); EgoScale and EgoVerse require confirming the release’s current terms before commercial usePerpetual, irrevocable, buyer-owned commercial license on every batch — see /guides/buyer-owned-training-data
Synchronized sensor streamsNot documented as hardware-triggered, multi-sensor capture on any of the three corporaTen synchronized streams incl. depth, IMU and 3D hand/body pose, hardware-triggered on one PTP clock
Hand poseEgoScale’s is estimated post-hoc via hand-pose estimation, not captured live; EgoVerse and Egocentric-10K do not state a hand-pose methodology3D hand pose captured live as handJoints[2][21][3], metric, in the head-camera frame
Provenance & consent documentationNot published per participant in any of the three corpora’s official sourcesWritten release per participant; consent artefacts and a data card delivered per batch — see /provenance
Where EgoScale, EgoVerse and Egocentric-10K leave a gap, and what a custom collection adds against each one.

Overview

Which egocentric datasets are used for robot pretraining?

EgoScale, EgoVerse and Egocentric-10K are the three public egocentric video corpora referenced across this site’s compare and guide pages as pretraining sources for robot foundation models. Each has a single official source this site cites: EgoScale from its arXiv paper (2602.16710) and NVIDIA’s GEAR research page, EgoVerse from its arXiv paper (2604.07607), and Egocentric-10K from its Hugging Face dataset card (huggingface.co/datasets/builddotai/Egocentric-10K).

See /guides/what-is-nvidia-egoscale, /guides/what-is-egoverse and /guides/what-is-egocentric-10k for a single-dataset explainer of each, sourced strictly from that dataset’s own official page or paper.

Scale

How do EgoScale, EgoVerse and Egocentric-10K compare on scale?

EgoScale’s paper reports 20,854 hours of action-labeled egocentric human video. EgoVerse’s paper reports roughly 1,362 hours across approximately 80,000 episodes. Egocentric-10K’s Hugging Face dataset card reports roughly 10,000 hours. All three sit well below GEN-0’s reported 270,000+ hours, stated on Generalist AI’s official blog.

Hour count alone does not indicate task or environment coverage — a large corpus can still miss the specific skill or setting a model needs. See the comparison table above for how scale, label source and license differ across the three, and /guides/robot-data-scaling-laws for how this site frames the relationship between corpus scale and downstream model performance more generally.

Labels

What labels does each dataset include?

EgoScale’s action labels are derived from off-the-shelf SLAM and hand-pose estimation applied to aggregated egocentric video — a post-hoc estimation pipeline, not a purpose-built capture rig. Its paper does not document hardware-triggered sync or a universal metric depth stream.

EgoVerse’s paper states its hour and episode counts but does not publish capture or label methodology beyond that, and this site does not infer one on its behalf. Egocentric-10K’s dataset card similarly states its hour count and Apache 2.0 license without publishing a capture or label methodology. Where a source does not state a fact, this page says so rather than estimating it.

Licensing

Can you use these datasets in a commercial robot model?

Egocentric-10K is the clearest case: its dataset card states an Apache 2.0 license, which permits commercial use under that license’s terms. EgoScale’s paper does not state a commercial license for its underlying data release, so confirm the specific release’s current terms before commercial use. EgoVerse’s paper does not state a license at all.

See /compare/public-dataset-licenses for the fuller license comparison across public egocentric and robotics datasets referenced on this site, and always check each dataset’s current official page directly — license terms can change between releases.

Gaps

What’s missing from public egocentric datasets for pretraining?

Across all three corpora, none is captured to a named task or environment spec, none states a hardware-synchronized multi-sensor capture rig, and none publishes per-participant consent documentation. EgoScale’s hand pose is estimated post-hoc rather than captured live, and EgoVerse and Egocentric-10K do not state a hand-pose methodology at all.

See the second table above for how each of those gaps maps to what a custom pretraining collection adds — a written skill spec, a buyer-owned commercial license, synchronized depth/IMU/hand-pose streams, and documented per-participant consent.

Custom collection

When should you commission a custom pretraining dataset instead?

Commission a custom collection once a program needs a specific task or environment none of the three corpora covers, a commercial license a paper or dataset card does not clearly state, or synchronized depth, IMU and 3D hand-pose streams none of them documents. See /custom-collection/pretraining-data-collection for how a written spec becomes a delivered batch, typically starting with a fast, on-demand Spec Pilot before scaling to full volume.

Most programs do not treat this as either-or: EgoScale, EgoVerse or Egocentric-10K is often used for early experimentation and broad pretraining, then a custom batch fills the specific task, environment or license gap the public corpus leaves. See /compare/public-vs-custom-pretraining-datasets for the fuller version of that decision, and /guides/robot-pretraining-data for how pretraining data fits alongside mid-training and post-training in a full pipeline.

Evaluation criteria

Eight things to check on any vendor.

Does a public corpus already cover your task and environment?
EgoScale, EgoVerse and Egocentric-10K each offer broad scale, but none is captured to a specific manipulation skill in a specific environment. Check /compare/best-egocentric-video-datasets-for-robotics before assuming a coverage gap needs custom capture.
Does the corpus’s license permit your intended commercial use?
Egocentric-10K states an Apache 2.0 license; EgoScale’s paper and EgoVerse’s paper do not state a commercial license for their underlying data, so confirm current terms directly against each official source before relying on either.
Do you need synchronized depth, IMU or 3D hand pose throughout?
None of the three corpora is documented as a hardware-synchronized, multi-sensor capture rig. A custom collection ships depth, IMU and 3D hand pose as standard synchronized streams across the whole batch.
Do you need buyer-owned rights to the data and derived models?
A public corpus’s terms, where stated, apply to everyone who uses it. Custom collection is delivered on a license written for one engagement — see /guides/buyer-owned-training-data.
Can public and custom data be combined in one pipeline?
A common pattern is broad pretraining on a public corpus, then a custom batch collected to fill a specific coverage or license gap, or to feed mid-training and fine-tuning.

Red flags

Walk away when you see these.

  • Assuming a paper or dataset card implies a commercial license it never states — EgoScale’s and EgoVerse’s papers do not state one.
  • Treating raw hour count alone as a proxy for pretraining value without checking what labels or sync guarantees actually ship with the corpus.
  • Committing to custom collection before checking whether EgoScale, EgoVerse or Egocentric-10K already covers the task and environment.
  • Mixing sources with unstated sync guarantees into one training run without checking each corpus’s own documentation first.

Scoring template

Score candidates against your skill spec.

Copy this table, weight each criterion for your use case, and score each vendor on the same free or paid sample.

CriterionWeight (1–5)Public corpusCustom collection
Does a public corpus already cover your task and environment?———
Does the corpus’s license permit your intended commercial use?———
Do you need synchronized depth, IMU or 3D hand pose throughout?———
Do you need buyer-owned rights to the data and derived models?———
Can public and custom data be combined in one pipeline?———

FAQ

Common questions.

What are the three main public egocentric datasets used for robot pretraining?

EgoScale, EgoVerse and Egocentric-10K are the three referenced across this site as public egocentric pretraining sources, alongside GEN-0. Each traces to a single official source: EgoScale’s arXiv paper, EgoVerse’s arXiv paper, and Egocentric-10K’s Hugging Face dataset card.

How many hours of data does each dataset have?

EgoScale’s paper reports 20,854 hours. EgoVerse’s paper reports roughly 1,362 hours across about 80,000 episodes. Egocentric-10K’s dataset card reports roughly 10,000 hours.

Which of these datasets has a stated commercial license?

Only Egocentric-10K — its Hugging Face dataset card states an Apache 2.0 license, which permits commercial use under that license’s terms. EgoScale’s and EgoVerse’s papers do not state a license for their underlying data.

Does EgoScale ship 3D hand pose captured live?

No. EgoScale’s action labels, including hand pose, are derived from off-the-shelf SLAM and hand-pose estimation applied after capture, not from a purpose-built synchronized rig.

Can I combine EgoScale, EgoVerse or Egocentric-10K with a custom pretraining collection?

Yes, and it is the common pattern: pretrain broadly on a public corpus, then commission a custom batch to fill the specific task, environment or license gap the public data leaves. See /custom-collection/pretraining-data-collection.

How does EgoScale compare with GEN-0?

EgoScale’s 20,854 hours is far smaller than GEN-0’s reported 270,000+ hours, and the two use different approaches — EgoScale pretrains on action-labeled human video with a log-linear scaling law, while GEN-0’s announcement emphasizes data quality and diversity over sheer volume. See /compare/egoscale-vs-gen-0 for the full comparison.

Where can I read the official source for each dataset?

EgoScale: arxiv.org/abs/2602.16710 and NVIDIA’s GEAR research page. EgoVerse: arxiv.org/abs/2604.07607. Egocentric-10K: huggingface.co/datasets/builddotai/Egocentric-10K. Each is linked in the sources section below.

When should I commission a custom pretraining dataset instead of using a public corpus?

Once you need a task or environment none of the three public corpora covers, a commercial license a paper or dataset card does not clearly state, or synchronized depth, IMU and 3D hand-pose streams none of them documents. See /custom-collection/pretraining-data-collection to request a spec.

Judge it on your own skill spec.

Get the free 40-episode sample pack, or send us your target skills and hours for a scoped quote.