Comparison

VLA vs VLM: What Is the Difference?

A vision-language model outputs language; a vision-language-action model adds an action output for robot control, and that changes the data a team has to collect.

Short answer

A vision-language model (VLM) takes images and text and outputs language. A vision-language-action (VLA) model adds an action output for robot control, and is typically built on a pretrained VLM. VLM data is images paired with language; VLA data also needs a synchronized action stream. Firsthand collects egocentric episodes on demand for that VLA side.

Spec comparison

VLM and VLA compared: inputs, outputs, data and target

DimensionVision-language model (VLM)Vision-language-action (VLA) model
InputsImages and textA visual observation and a language instruction. The GR00T N1 paper (https://arxiv.org/abs/2503.14734) also lists the robot’s state as an input
OutputLanguage: an answer, description or decision in wordsAn action for robot control. RT-2 expresses actions as text tokens (https://arxiv.org/abs/2307.15818); π0 uses flow matching (https://arxiv.org/abs/2410.24164)
Typical training dataImages or frames paired with language that is true about themRT-2 abstract: robotic trajectory data together with Internet-scale vision-language tasks (https://arxiv.org/abs/2307.15818)
What links the twoA pretrained vision-language componentπ0: a flow matching architecture built on top of a pre-trained VLM (https://arxiv.org/abs/2410.24164)
Training objectiveNot stated as a single objective on this pageDiffers by source: co-fine-tuning in RT-2, action flow-matching in GR00T N1 (https://arxiv.org/abs/2503.14734)
EvaluationNot statedNot stated here; each paper reports its own evaluation and none is repeated
Deployment targetNot statedRobot control, as in the titles of RT-2 and π0
Language field in Firsthand captureOne task instruction per episode is the only language field the site states. Captions, narration, image-text pairs, visual question answering and dialogue are Not stated as deliverablesOne task instruction per episode, paired with synchronized video and human action signals
Cells come from generic definitions or from the linked official sources. Anything neither states is marked Not stated.

Spec comparison

How do the listed models relate to a VLM and output actions?

ModelRelation to a VLM, per the sourceHow actions are output, per the sourceTraining data named in the sourceSource
RT-2Co-fine-tunes state-of-the-art vision-language modelsActions expressed as text tokensRobotic trajectory data and Internet-scale vision-language tasks such as visual question answeringhttps://arxiv.org/abs/2307.15818
OpenVLABuilds on a Llama 2 language model with a visual encoder that fuses pretrained DINOv2 and SigLIP featuresNot stated in the abstract970k real-world robot demonstrationshttps://arxiv.org/abs/2406.09246
π0A flow matching architecture built on top of a pre-trained VLMFlow matchingA large and diverse dataset from multiple dexterous robot platforms: single-arm, dual-arm and mobile manipulatorshttps://arxiv.org/abs/2410.24164
GR00T N1A VLM backbone, named in the paper as NVIDIA Eagle-2, encodes image and language inputA DiT-based flow-matching policy outputs high-frequency actionsA heterogeneous mixture of real-robot trajectories, human videos and synthetic datasetshttps://arxiv.org/abs/2503.14734
OctoDescribed by its paper as a generalist robot policy; task descriptions are tokenized with a pretrained language modelTransformer backbone with a diffusion head, using diffusion decoding of chunked actions800k trajectories curated from the Open X-Embodiment datasethttps://arxiv.org/abs/2405.12213
EgoScaleThe abstract says a VLA is trained; the backbone is Not statedNot stated in the abstractOver 20,854 hours of action labeled egocentric human videohttps://arxiv.org/abs/2602.16710
Each row states only what the linked source says. Not stated means the source text read for this page does not say it.

Spec comparison

What does a VLA need, and what does Firsthand state it delivers?

VLA data needWhat the site states Firsthand deliversWhere it lives in a delivery
Visual observationHead and wrist RGB and depth, ten streams synced under 2 msDepth is streams/depth_mm in HDF5 and zarr and observation.depth_mm in RLDS; LeRobot carries video as mp4 per camera
Language instructionOne task instruction paired to each episode, on the same clock as the videoNot stated: the delivery format pages do not name an instruction field, so confirm it in the spec
Action signal3D hand pose with per-joint visibility, contact events on grasp and release, frame-accurate action segmentshand_joints, hand_visible, contact_events and action_segments, as listed on the delivery format pages
Motion signal200 Hz 6-DoF IMUs on the Firsthand capture rig; inclusion is set in the specSet in the spec
Robot action logs, teleoperation data, embodiments, action spacesNot statedNot stated
Captions, narration, image-text pairs, visual question answering, dialogue, subtask language, reasoning tracesNot stated as deliverablesNot stated
Episode counts, hours, task durations, success labelsNot statedQuoted against the spec
Rights and consentA signed contributor release per episode through a documented consent chain; faces, plates and screens irreversibly blurred at ingest; perpetual, buyer-owned commercial licenseConsent record and anonymization record ship with the delivery
Left column: needs that follow from the sources above. Middle and right columns: only what the site states. Not stated means no claim is made.

The short version

What is the difference between a VLA and a VLM?

A vision-language model (VLM) takes images and text together and produces language. A vision-language-action (VLA) model takes a visual observation and a language instruction and produces an action for robot control. That added action output is the whole difference in one line, and the rest of this page follows it through what the model is built from, what it trains on and what data a team has to collect.

The two are related by construction, not set against each other. The RT-2 abstract (https://arxiv.org/abs/2307.15818) studies how vision-language models trained on Internet-scale data can be incorporated directly into end-to-end robotic control, and names the resulting category vision-language-action models. The π0 abstract (https://arxiv.org/abs/2410.24164) describes a flow matching architecture built on top of a pre-trained vision-language model. In the sources read for this page, a VLA is a vision-language starting point that has been extended and trained to act.

Where the two diverge is the data. A VLM learns from images paired with language that is true about them. A VLA also needs the action that carried the task out, on a timeline where the vision, the instruction and the action are provably simultaneous. That is what makes VLA training data harder to source than VLM data, and it is where Firsthand’s custom egocentric collection fits.

This page does not claim that Firsthand data trained, fine-tuned or evaluated any named model, and it claims no affiliation with the authors of the models it cites. Third-party statements come only from the official papers linked in Sources. Everything about Firsthand comes from other pages of this site, and where the site states nothing, this page says Not stated.

The VLM side

What is a vision-language model (VLM)?

A vision-language model combines an image encoder with a language model, so it can interpret a scene and a written request together. Images and text go in. What comes out is language: an answer, a description or a decision expressed in words. A VLM does not output an action by itself, which is why a robot cannot be driven directly from one.

VLM training data is images or video frames paired with language that is true about them. The RT-2 abstract names visual question answering as one example of the Internet-scale vision-language tasks such models are trained on. The pairing is what the model learns, so footage with no true language, or language that describes something other than the footage, teaches the wrong relationship. The language side is where VLM datasets differ most.

This page describes VLMs generically. It does not name or compare VLM products. The only VLM it names is one that a listed paper itself names: the GR00T N1 paper (https://arxiv.org/abs/2503.14734) states that it uses the NVIDIA Eagle-2 VLM as the vision-language backbone.

On the Firsthand side, the one language field the site states is a task instruction paired to each episode. Captions, narration, image-text pairs, visual question answering and dialogue are not stated as deliverables, so none is claimed. That single instruction is the whole of the language data this page describes.

The VLA side

What does a vision-language-action (VLA) model add?

A VLA adds an action output. Instead of ending in text, the model ends in something a robot can execute. The RT-2 abstract describes one way to do it: the actions are expressed as text tokens and incorporated directly into the training set of the model in the same way as natural language tokens. That keeps one token format for language and for action.

Other sources attach the action output differently. The π0 abstract describes a flow matching architecture. The GR00T N1 paper describes a Diffusion Transformer module, trained with action flow-matching, that generates motor actions from the vision-language module’s output tokens together with the robot’s state. The Octo paper (https://arxiv.org/abs/2405.12213) describes a transformer-based policy with a diffusion head to model action distributions. The Octo paper calls Octo a generalist robot policy, and this page uses that wording because the text read here does not call it a VLA.

The inputs grow as well. In the GR00T N1 paper the model takes the robot’s state, visual observations and a language instruction as input, and its output is the corresponding motor action. A VLA’s input can therefore include robot state in addition to image and text, which a VLM has no use for.

Not every source states the same things. The OpenVLA abstract (https://arxiv.org/abs/2406.09246) and the EgoScale abstract (https://arxiv.org/abs/2602.16710) do not describe how the action is encoded, so the tables below say Not stated for those cells rather than filling the gap.

Architecture

How are VLA models built from VLMs?

Four of the listed sources describe a vision-language or language-model starting point, and each says it differently. RT-2 co-fine-tunes state-of-the-art vision-language models on both robotic trajectory data and Internet-scale vision-language tasks. π0 builds a flow matching architecture on top of a pre-trained VLM so that it inherits Internet-scale semantic knowledge. GR00T N1 contains a vision-language backbone and a DiT-based flow-matching policy, and names Eagle-2 as the backbone. OpenVLA builds on a Llama 2 language model combined with a visual encoder that fuses pretrained features from DINOv2 and SigLIP, and its abstract calls it a 7B-parameter open-source VLA trained on a diverse collection of 970k real-world robot demonstrations.

Octo and EgoScale are described separately. The Octo paper tokenizes task descriptions with a pretrained language model and observations with a lightweight CNN, passes them through a transformer backbone, and produces actions with diffusion decoding. It reports training on 800k trajectories curated from the Open X-Embodiment dataset. This page treats Octo as the paper does, a generalist robot policy, and does not call it VLM-based. The EgoScale abstract says it trains a VLA on over 20,854 hours of action labeled egocentric human video, and does not state the backbone.

The pattern across these sources is a split of labour. The pretrained vision-language part supplies what the abstracts call Internet-scale knowledge, and robot or action data supplies the mapping to motion. The vision-language part is available pretrained. The action data is the part a team usually has to source for its own robot and task, which is why the rest of this page is about it.

The second table below sets each source against the same four questions: how it relates to a VLM, how it outputs actions, what data it names, and where the claim comes from. Cells that the source does not state say Not stated.

Training data

How do VLA and VLM training data differ?

The two differ in what a training example is. A VLM example is an image, or a few frames, plus language. A VLA example is a sequence: an observation, an instruction and an action, in time order. The first table below sets the two side by side across inputs, outputs, typical data and target.

The sources also show that VLA data is rarely action data alone. RT-2 trains on robotic trajectory data together with Internet-scale vision-language tasks. GR00T N1 trains on a heterogeneous mixture of real-robot trajectories, human videos and synthetic datasets. In the sources read here, action data is added to a vision-language base, not substituted for it.

Volumes in the sources describe each paper’s own dataset, and none is a guide for a custom collection. The OpenVLA abstract names 970k real-world robot demonstrations. The Octo paper names 800k trajectories from Open X-Embodiment. The EgoScale abstract names over 20,854 hours of action labeled egocentric human video. This page states no episode count or hour count for a Firsthand custom collection, because the site gives none for one. The size of a collection is set in the written spec and the quote.

A second difference is synchronization. A caption can be attached to a frame loosely and still teach the model something. An action cannot: a hand or gripper movement that is a few frames out of step with the frame it belongs to teaches the wrong mapping. VLA data therefore depends on all streams sharing one clock, which is a collection property and not something a team can add afterwards.

What is extra

What data does a VLA need that a VLM does not?

A VLA needs four things beyond what a VLM needs. First, an action stream: a record of what the actor did, in a form the model can learn to output. Second, one clock across vision, instruction and action, so the three are provably simultaneous. Third, an instruction tied to the episode, so the model learns which behaviour answers which request. Fourth, a decision about how the recorded action maps to the actions your robot can execute.

The fourth point matters most for egocentric human data. The action in a Firsthand episode is human action: 3D hand pose with per-joint visibility, contact events on grasp and release, and frame-accurate action segments. The official sources describe models that output robot actions, and the GR00T N1 paper describes embodiment-specific encoders and decoders to handle variable state and action dimensions. The site does not state that Firsthand delivers robot action logs, teleoperation data, robot embodiments or action spaces, so those are Not stated. If your stack needs robot actions, settle in the spec how the human signals are to be mapped, and who does the mapping, before you plan around the data.

The third table below maps each need to what the site states Firsthand delivers and where it lives in a delivery. The site states ten streams synced under 2 ms with head and wrist RGB, depth, 3D hand pose, contact events and action segments, plus 200 Hz 6-DoF IMUs on the Firsthand capture rig. Whether a given collection includes the IMU streams is set in the spec.

Coverage is also different. A VLM is judged on breadth of language and imagery. A VLA collected for a deployment is judged on how closely the data matches the task and setting. The site states that a spec can name the failure modes and recovery behaviours a policy currently struggles with, so a batch is built around those and not only the clean version of the task.

Egocentric human video

Can egocentric human video help train VLA models?

Two of the listed sources train on human video. The EgoScale abstract says a VLA was trained on over 20,854 hours of action labeled egocentric human video, and the GR00T N1 paper lists human videos in its heterogeneous training mixture alongside real-robot trajectories and synthetic datasets. Both are statements about those papers’ own data and models.

What the sources do not say is that any listed model depends on data of the kind Firsthand collects. This page does not claim that Firsthand data was used by, or would reproduce the results of, EgoScale, GR00T N1 or any other model. It does not claim any affiliation with their authors.

What the site does state is what Firsthand captures. Egocentric capture is head-mounted or wrist-mounted and matched to the target task, delivered as episodes with synchronized video and depth, 3D hand pose, contact events, action segments and one task instruction. That is the same family of signal that the EgoScale abstract describes as action labeled egocentric human video, but the site publishes no label vocabulary, so a team should confirm the exact labels in the spec.

Human video and robot actions are different things. A team that wants to train a VLA on egocentric human data decides, ahead of collection, whether its pipeline uses hand pose directly, retargets it to a robot, or uses the data in another way. That decision belongs in the spec, since it determines which signals are worth capturing.

Custom collection

How do you get custom VLA training data?

Write down the model and the stage it is at: a VLM-based starting point that needs action data, a pretrained VLA that needs fine-tuning data, or an earlier pretraining effort. Then name the tasks and objects, the setting, the wording of the single task instruction for each episode, which human signals your pipeline will use, the delivery format and how many episodes to hold back for evaluation. We turn that into a written spec covering tasks, environments, capture tier, annotation depth and accept criteria, then quote reach, timeline and price before any capture begins.

The site publishes two timing figures. Where coverage is already deep, the first validated batch lands in a median of 48 hours from a signed spec. Where coverage is thin, it typically takes three to four weeks, because vetting operators there is the bottleneck, and the quote says which applies. Neither is a delivery date for your dataset. The usual route starts with a Spec Pilot, a small, fast batch that proves the spec and accept criteria on real footage before you scale.

Delivery formats are RLDS, LeRobot and WebDataset, plus HDF5, zarr and Rerun .rrd, each a projection of the same episode schema. The OpenVLA repository (https://github.com/openvla/openvla) states that it supports datasets in RLDS format. Whether Firsthand RLDS field names match what that repository expects is Not stated and untested, so expect a short mapping step.

Every episode links to a signed contributor release through a documented consent chain, and faces, plates and screens are detected and irreversibly blurred at ingest. Billing is per validated hour, a reject log ships with every batch, and rejected episodes are recaptured at our cost. Every collection ships under a perpetual, buyer-owned commercial license.

FAQ

Common questions.

What is the difference between a VLA and a VLM?

A VLM takes images and text and outputs language. A VLA takes a visual observation and a language instruction and outputs an action for robot control. In the sources read, a VLA is a vision-language starting point extended and trained to produce actions.

Is a VLA just a VLM with an extra output?

Not exactly. The sources attach the action output in different ways: RT-2 expresses actions as text tokens, π0 builds a flow matching architecture on a pre-trained VLM, and GR00T N1 pairs a VLM backbone with a diffusion transformer that generates motor actions.

Do VLAs still use vision-language data?

In the sources read, yes. RT-2 co-fine-tunes on robotic trajectory data and Internet-scale vision-language tasks, and π0 builds on a pre-trained VLM to inherit Internet-scale semantic knowledge. Action data is added to a vision-language base.

What data does a VLA need that a VLM does not?

An action stream on the same clock as the vision and the instruction, plus a decision on how the recorded action maps to your robot’s actions. A VLM needs only images paired with true language.

What language data does Firsthand capture include?

One task instruction per episode, paired to the video and action stream on one clock. Captions, narration, image-text pairs, visual question answering, dialogue, subtask language and reasoning traces are not stated as deliverables.

Was any named model trained on Firsthand data?

No such claim is made. This page does not claim that Firsthand data trained, fine-tuned or evaluated RT-2, OpenVLA, π0, GR00T N1, Octo or any other model, and it claims no affiliation with their authors.

Can egocentric human video be used for a VLA?

The EgoScale abstract describes a VLA trained on over 20,854 hours of action labeled egocentric human video. Human hand signals are not robot actions, so how they map to your robot is settled in the spec before collection.

How fast can a custom VLA dataset be collected?

The site states a median of 48 hours to a first validated batch where coverage is deep, and three to four weeks where it is thin. The usual route is a Spec Pilot first, and the timeline is quoted against your spec before capture begins.

Judge it on your own skill spec.

Get the free 40-episode sample pack, or send us your target skills and hours for a scoped quote.