Comparison

Open-Source VLA Models Compared

OpenVLA, Octo, π0 and GR00T N1 side by side, as their own papers and repositories describe them, with no ranking and a plain account of the fine-tuning data each needs.

Short answer

Four openly released options are commonly compared: OpenVLA, Octo, π0 and GR00T N1. By their own papers they differ in backbone, how they output actions (discrete tokens, diffusion or flow matching), training data and licence. The best choice depends on your robot, compute and licence needs, not a ranking; every one still needs your own fine-tuning data.

Spec comparison

Backbone and action output, as each source states it

ModelWhat its source calls itBackbone and sizeAction outputSource
OpenVLA7B-parameter open-source vision-language-action modelPrismatic-7B VLM: Llama 2 language model with a DINOv2 and SigLIP visual encoderContinuous actions mapped to discrete tokens, each dimension discretised into one of 256 bins; 7-dimensional actionshttps://arxiv.org/abs/2406.09246 and https://github.com/openvla/openvla
OctoOpen-source generalist robot policyTransformer-based policy with a pretrained language model for task tokens; checkpoints of 27M and 93M parameters. A vision-language backbone: Not stated in the sources readConditional diffusion head predicting action chunks; pretrained with a chunk size of 4https://arxiv.org/abs/2405.12213 and https://github.com/octo-models/octo
π0Vision-language-action flow modelPaliGemma vision-language model plus a roughly 300M-parameter action expert, 3.3 billion parameters in totalContinuous action chunks via flow matching, horizon 50; the repository also lists π0-FAST, an autoregressive variant using the FAST action tokenizerhttps://arxiv.org/abs/2410.24164 and https://github.com/Physical-Intelligence/openpi
GR00T N1Open foundation model for generalist humanoid robots; a VLA modelNVIDIA Eagle-2 VLM plus a diffusion transformer; released GR00T-N1-2B has 2.2B parameters, 1.34B in the VLMDiffusion-transformer flow-matching policy producing continuous action chunks, with embodiment-specific state and action projectorshttps://arxiv.org/abs/2503.14734 and https://github.com/NVIDIA/Isaac-GR00T
Every cell comes from the linked paper or repository. Not stated in the sources read means the source does not say.

Spec comparison

Training data and licence, as each source states it

ModelPretraining data namedRepository LICENSE fileNotes on weights
OpenVLA970k real-world robot demonstrations from Open X-Embodiment (https://arxiv.org/abs/2406.09246)MIT License (https://github.com/openvla/openvla)README: released models are derived from Llama-2 and subject to the Llama Community License
Octo800k trajectories curated from about 1.5M Open X-Embodiment episodes (https://arxiv.org/abs/2405.12213)MIT License (https://github.com/octo-models/octo)Not stated in the sources read
π0About 10,000 hours of the authors’ own data from 7 robot configurations and 68 tasks, plus Open X-Embodiment (https://arxiv.org/abs/2410.24164)Apache License 2.0 (https://github.com/Physical-Intelligence/openpi)A licence for the checkpoints: Not stated in the sources read
GR00T N1A data pyramid: web data and human videos, synthetic data, and real-robot data (https://arxiv.org/abs/2503.14734)Apache License 2.0 (https://github.com/NVIDIA/Isaac-GR00T), a repository now documenting GR00T N1.7A licence for the N1 checkpoints named in the paper: Not stated in the sources read
Volumes are each paper’s own and describe different datasets, so they are not directly comparable. Licences are quoted from the repository files.

Spec comparison

Fine-tuning data needs against what Firsthand’s site states

Fine-tuning needWhat the sources expectWhat Firsthand’s site states it deliversFormat field
Camera observationImages per timestep; OpenVLA and π0 both take camera images as inputHead and wrist RGB streamsstreams/head_rgb (RLDS observation.head_rgb; LeRobot observation.images.head)
DepthNot stated in the sources read as a required input for these four modelsStereo depthstreams/depth_mm (WebDataset depth.png)
State-like observationπ0: proprioceptive state, a vector of joint angles. GR00T N1: robot state3D hand pose with a per-joint visibility flag; 21 jointsannotations/hand_joints and hand_visible
Action signalPer-step robot actions: 7-dimensional for OpenVLA, chunks for Octo, π0 and GR00T N1Wrist trajectories, action segments and contact events from human captureannotations/action_segments (start_ns, end_ns, verb, noun) and annotations/contact_events
MotionNot stated in the sources read as a required input for these four models200 Hz IMUstreams/imu_head, streams/imu_wrist_l, streams/imu_wrist_r
Language instructionA task instruction per episode, for example GR00T tasks.jsonl and the OpenVLA promptOne task instruction per episodeField name Not stated on this page; see the episode schema
Robot joint state, gripper action, robot-executed action vectorExpected by robot-demonstration formatsNot stated; Firsthand captures first-person human video, not robot or teleoperation dataNot stated
Left columns come from the linked repositories and papers. Firsthand columns use only field names and claims already stated on this site.

The field

Which open-source VLA models are available?

This page compares four models that publish a paper and a public code repository: OpenVLA, Octo, π0 and GR00T N1. The OpenVLA paper (https://arxiv.org/abs/2406.09246) introduces a 7B-parameter open-source vision-language-action (VLA) model. The π0 repository, openpi (https://github.com/Physical-Intelligence/openpi), describes itself as holding open-source models and packages for robotics. The GR00T N1 paper (https://arxiv.org/abs/2503.14734) is titled as an open foundation model for generalist humanoid robots. The Octo paper (https://arxiv.org/abs/2405.12213) is titled as an open-source generalist robot policy.

Octo is worded the way its own paper words it: a generalist robot policy. The π0 paper states that "Octo is not a VLA" while using it as a baseline, so this page does not label Octo a VLA. RT-2 (https://arxiv.org/abs/2307.15818) appears only as context. Its paper describes a VLA that expresses actions as text tokens, and the OpenVLA abstract describes RT-2-X (55B) as a closed model. This page does not call RT-2 open-source.

There is no winner here. Each paper evaluates its own model on its own tasks, robots and baselines, so a number from one paper does not transfer to another. This page quotes no cross-paper benchmark figures, and wherever a source is silent the cell says Not stated in the sources read.

Side by side

How do OpenVLA, Octo, π0 and GR00T N1 compare?

The first table below sets the four against the same questions: what the source calls the model, its backbone and size, and how it outputs actions. The second covers training data and licence. Every row carries a source link.

The clearest split is in how actions leave the model. OpenVLA maps continuous robot actions to discrete tokens in the language model’s output space. Octo uses a diffusion head, and π0 and GR00T N1 use flow matching for continuous action chunks. That choice changes what a fine-tuning dataset has to contain and how it is normalised.

Architecture

What backbone and action output does each model use?

OpenVLA builds on a Llama 2 language model combined with a visual encoder that fuses pretrained DINOv2 and SigLIP features, starting from the Prismatic-7B VLM. Its paper says the actions are represented in the output space of the language model by mapping continuous actions to discrete tokens, "discretize each dimension of the robot actions separately into one of 256 bins". Its architecture figure states that the model predicts 7-dimensional robot control actions.

π0 starts from the PaliGemma vision-language model, adds an action expert of about 300M parameters, and generates continuous action chunks with flow matching. The paper writes the action horizon as 50 steps and the observation as multiple RGB images, a language command and the robot’s proprioceptive state. The openpi README also lists a π0-FAST model, described as an autoregressive VLA based on the FAST action tokenizer.

Octo is described by its paper as a transformer-based policy that tokenizes task descriptions with a pretrained language model and observations with a lightweight CNN, then decodes actions with a conditional diffusion head. The Octo repository states that it can be instructed with language commands or goal images, and that it was pretrained with an action chunk size of 4. A vision-language backbone is Not stated in the sources read.

Training data

What data was each model trained on?

All four were trained on robot data, and the volumes are each paper’s own. The OpenVLA abstract states 970k real-world robot demonstrations from the Open X-Embodiment dataset. The Octo paper states 800k trajectories curated from roughly 1.5M Open X-Embodiment episodes. The π0 paper describes about 10,000 hours of its own dexterous manipulation data from 7 robot configurations and 68 tasks, combined with the Open X-Embodiment dataset. These counts describe different things and are not directly comparable.

GR00T N1 describes its training corpus as a data pyramid. The GR00T N1 paper places web data and human videos at the base, synthetic data in the middle, and real-robot data at the top. For action-less sources such as human video, it describes learning a latent-action codebook and training an inverse dynamics model to infer pseudo-actions. That is the paper’s own method for turning human video into training signal, and it is stated for GR00T N1’s data, not as a general rule.

The EgoScale abstract (https://arxiv.org/abs/2602.16710) separately describes training a VLA on over 20,854 hours of action-labeled egocentric human video. That is a statement about its own paper, not about the models above.

Licences

What licences do open VLA models use?

Licences are quoted from each repository’s LICENSE file or README and are never inferred. The OpenVLA and Octo LICENSE files are MIT License. The openpi and Isaac-GR00T LICENSE files are Apache License 2.0.

A repository licence covers the code in that repository. The OpenVLA README adds a separate note: all code is released under the MIT License, but "our pretrained models may inherit restrictions from the underlying base models we use", and its released models "are derived from Llama-2, and as such are subject to the Llama Community License". The code licence and the weights licence can differ, so read both.

For the others, the sources read state a repository licence and not a separate weights licence. The openpi README does not state a licence for its checkpoints. The Isaac-GR00T repository currently documents GR00T N1.7 and says N1.7 is fully commercially licensable under Apache 2.0. A licence for the GR00T N1 checkpoints named in the N1 paper is Not stated in the sources read.

Choosing

Which open VLA model is best for my robot?

No source reviewed here names a best model, and this page does not either. What it can do is list the questions each source’s own text makes relevant. What does your robot output: a single arm’s end-effector deltas, bimanual joints, or humanoid whole-body commands? How fast does it need to be controlled? The π0 paper cites control at up to 50 Hz and describes OpenVLA as not supporting action chunking. The OpenVLA README, in turn, now lists an optimised fine-tuning recipe that it says enables high-frequency bimanual control, so check the current repository, not the original paper.

How much GPU memory do you have? The openpi README lists above 8 GB for inference, above 22.5 GB for LoRA fine-tuning and above 70 GB for full fine-tuning. The OpenVLA README says LoRA fine-tuning can run on a GPU with at least about 27 GB with a reduced batch size. The Isaac-GR00T README lists a 16 GB GPU for inference and 40 GB or more recommended for fine-tuning. Those are each repository’s own figures for its own setup.

Fine-tuning data

What data do you need to fine-tune an open VLA model?

Every one of these models is fine-tuned on episodes from your robot: camera observations, usually robot state, an action at each step, and a task instruction. The OpenVLA README says a custom dataset not in Open X-Embodiment should be converted to RLDS, then registered with its observation and action spaces. The openpi README says to convert your data to a LeRobot dataset, define training configs and compute normalisation statistics. The Isaac-GR00T README describes a flavour of the LeRobot v2 format with a modality file that maps state, action and video keys.

The sources give a few volumes for their own tasks, and none is a target for yours. The Octo paper fine-tunes on small target datasets of around 100 trajectories in its experiments. The π0 paper says its simplest post-training tasks needed only 5 hours of data and its most complex used 100 or more hours. These show the range each team reported, not what your robot will need.

The third table below pairs each need with what Firsthand’s site states it delivers. Robot joint state, gripper action and a robot-executed action vector are Not stated, because Firsthand captures first-person human video, not robot or teleoperation data.

Custom collection

How do you get custom fine-tuning data for an open VLA?

Write down the model, the stage it is at and the format your trainer reads. Then name the tasks, the setting and the wording of the single task instruction for each episode. We turn that into a written spec covering tasks, environments, capture tier, annotation depth and accept criteria, then quote reach, timeline and price before any capture begins.

The site states that capture is fast and on demand. Where coverage is already deep, the first validated batch lands in a median of 48 hours from a signed spec. Where coverage is thin it typically takes three to four weeks, and the quote says which applies. The usual route starts with a Spec Pilot, a small batch that proves the spec on real footage before you scale.

Delivery formats stated on this site include RLDS, LeRobot v2.1, WebDataset, HDF5 and zarr, plus a Rerun .rrd recording for inspection. Whether a given trainer accepts the delivered field names unchanged is Not stated and untested, so plan for a short mapping step. The only language field the site states is one task instruction per episode; captions, narration and other language labels are not offered.

FAQ

Common questions.

What are the main open-source VLA models?

This page compares OpenVLA, Octo, π0 and GR00T N1, each of which has a paper and a public repository. Octo is called a generalist robot policy by its own paper and is not labelled a VLA here. RT-2 appears only as context, and its paper does not describe an open release.

Which open VLA model is best?

No source reviewed here names one, and this page does not rank them. The right choice depends on your robot’s action space, control frequency, GPU memory, licence needs and the format your data is already in. Fine-tune candidates on a small set from your own robot and compare on your own task.

What data do I need to fine-tune an open VLA model?

Episodes from your own robot: camera observations, usually robot state, an action per step and a task instruction, in the format your trainer reads. OpenVLA expects RLDS, and openpi and GR00T read LeRobot-style datasets. Sizes reported in the papers describe their own tasks and are not a target for yours.

What language data does Firsthand capture include?

One task instruction per episode. Captions, narration, dense language annotation, image-text pairs, visual question answering, dialogue, subtask language and reasoning traces are not stated as deliverables, so none is claimed.

Was any of these models trained on Firsthand data?

No such claim is made. This page does not claim that Firsthand data trained, fine-tuned or evaluated OpenVLA, Octo, π0, GR00T N1 or any other model, and it claims no affiliation with their authors.

Can egocentric human video fine-tune an open VLA on its own?

The sources do not say so. Firsthand captures first-person human video, not robot or teleoperation data, so robot joint state and gripper actions are Not stated. How hand and wrist signals map to your robot is the buyer’s pipeline, settled in the spec before collection.

Judge it on your own skill spec.

Get the free 40-episode sample pack, or send us your target skills and hours for a scoped quote.