Glossary
What Is OpenVLA-OFT?
Last reviewed: October 2026
Short answer
OpenVLA-OFT is OpenVLA fine-tuned with the Optimized Fine-Tuning (OFT) recipe from Stanford researchers. The recipe combines parallel decoding, action chunking, a continuous action representation and an L1 regression objective. The paper reports faster action generation and higher success rates than fine-tuning OpenVLA with its original autoregressive recipe.
01
What is OpenVLA-OFT?
OpenVLA-OFT is introduced in Fine-Tuning Vision-Language-Action Models: Optimizing Speed and Success (arXiv 2502.19645) by Moo Jin Kim, Chelsea Finn and Percy Liang, accepted to Robotics: Science and Systems (RSS) 2025, with an official project page and GitHub repository. The authors start from a practical problem: VLAs struggle with novel robot setups and need fine-tuning, yet how to fine-tune them most effectively is unclear given many possible strategies. Using OpenVLA as the representative base model, they study three design choices: how actions are decoded, how actions are represented, and which learning objective is used. OFT is the recipe their analysis informs, and OpenVLA-OFT is an instantiation of it. The paper says the recipe improves inference efficiency, policy performance and flexibility in the model’s input-output specifications. This page is a definition, not a guide to running the code.
02
Where does Firsthand fit next to OpenVLA-OFT?
OpenVLA-OFT is third-party research. Firsthand is not affiliated with its authors or their institution, and makes no claim that OpenVLA-OFT or any other named model was trained, fine-tuned or evaluated on Firsthand data. The site states custom egocentric collection to a written spec, fast and on demand, delivering first-person human video with 3D hand pose at 21 joints per hand and a per-joint visibility flag, calibrated stereo depth and 6-DoF IMUs at 200 Hz. The only language data tied to Firsthand capture is one task instruction per episode. Firsthand captures first-person human video, not robot or teleoperation data.
03
What does the OFT recipe change about fine-tuning OpenVLA?
Per the paper, original OpenVLA training predicts 7 discrete action tokens per timestep one after another (autoregressive decoding), with each action dimension normalised and split into 256 bins and a next-token cross-entropy loss. The authors say this makes action chunking impractical, because a single action takes 0.33 seconds on an NVIDIA A100 GPU.
OFT changes three things. Parallel decoding feeds the decoder empty action embeddings and swaps the causal attention mask for a bidirectional one, so all actions come out in a single forward pass. Action chunking then predicts several future timesteps in that same pass. Continuous actions replace the discrete tokens: an MLP action head maps the decoder’s final hidden states directly to action values, trained with an L1 regression loss. The paper compares this with a diffusion objective and reports comparable performance from L1 with faster training convergence and inference.
04
What inputs can an OpenVLA-OFT policy take, and what is OFT+?
Original OpenVLA processes a single camera view. The paper describes a more flexible pipeline: several camera views, each encoded into 256 patch embeddings, plus low-dimensional robot state such as joint angles and gripper state, all concatenated with the language tokens before the decoder. Adding a wrist camera image and robot state doubles the visual patch embeddings passed to the decoder from 256 to 512.
OFT+ is the augmented recipe used on the ALOHA robot. It adds feature-wise linear modulation (FiLM), which infuses the language embedding into the visual features. The authors say policies on that setup could latch onto spurious visual correlations instead of the instruction. In their ablation, removing FiLM dropped language following to 33%, equal to choosing the target at random.
05
What does the paper report for OpenVLA-OFT?
On the LIBERO simulation benchmark, the abstract reports that OpenVLA-OFT raised OpenVLA’s average success rate across four task suites from 76.5% to 97.1% while increasing action generation throughput by 26 times, and describes this as a new state of the art. On a real bimanual ALOHA robot, the authors report OpenVLA-OFT+ running dexterous tasks at 25 Hz and outperforming other VLAs fine-tuned with their default recipes, named in the paper as π₀ and RDT-1B, and policies trained from scratch, by up to 15% absolute in average success rate.
These are the authors’ own evaluations on their chosen tasks. The paper does not claim that the recipe is universally better than diffusion; its limitations section says L1 regression may struggle with truly multimodal demonstrations.
06
Is OpenVLA-OFT the same as LoRA fine-tuning?
No, they answer different questions. LoRA is about which weights are trained. OFT is about how actions are decoded, represented and optimised. The paper states that its study adapts OpenVLA through LoRA because the training sets are small, 500 demonstrations versus 1M for pretraining, and the project page says that because it uses LoRA there is no need for model sharding. OFT is therefore a recipe used on top of LoRA in that work, and LoRA fine-tuning for VLA models is defined on its own page.
07
What does it take to run it, and what is the licence?
The GitHub repository is listed with an MIT licence. Its README states that inference needs about 16 GB of VRAM for LIBERO and about 18 GB for ALOHA tasks, and that training needs between 1 and 8 GPUs with 27 to 80 GB, depending on the setup. The project page says the authors’ own jobs used 8 A100 or H100 GPUs with 80 GB, ran 50K to 150K gradient steps, and took 1 to 2 days. Read the licence text itself before a commercial program relies on it.
08
What limits do the authors name?
The paper names three open questions. Its demonstrations use a consistent strategy per task, so how OFT handles multimodal demonstrations is untested. It studies fine-tuning only, so whether the benefits carry over to pretraining is open. And language grounding was inconsistent: OpenVLA without FiLM grounded language poorly on ALOHA despite no such issue on LIBERO, and the cause is described as unclear.
09
What does a custom egocentric dataset have to do with OpenVLA-OFT?
OpenVLA-OFT is fine-tuned on robot demonstrations: camera images, robot state, a language instruction and robot actions. Firsthand captures first-person human video, not robot or teleoperation data, so it does not deliver the robot action trajectories or proprioception those recipes consume. Whether human egocentric data would help a policy like OpenVLA-OFT is Not stated in the sources read, and this page draws no conclusion about it.
What the site does state is custom egocentric collection, fast and on demand, to a written spec. The only language data is one task instruction per episode. Confirm the spec on a Spec Pilot, a small fast first batch. Where coverage is deep, the median from signed spec to first validated batch is 48 hours; where it is thin, three to four weeks. Billing is per validated hour, and delivery is in RLDS, LeRobot, WebDataset or HDF5.
10
OpenVLA-OFT at a glance, as stated in the official sources
| Item | What the official sources state |
|---|---|
| Paper | Fine-Tuning Vision-Language-Action Models: Optimizing Speed and Success (arXiv 2502.19645), accepted to RSS 2025 |
| Authors | Moo Jin Kim, Chelsea Finn and Percy Liang, Stanford University |
| Category | A fine-tuning recipe (OFT) and its instantiation on OpenVLA (OpenVLA-OFT) |
| Base model | OpenVLA, described in the paper as a 7B-parameter policy built on the Prismatic VLM |
| Recipe parts | Parallel decoding, action chunking, a continuous action representation, an L1 regression objective |
| OFT+ | Adds FiLM for language grounding; used for the ALOHA experiments |
| Chunk size | 8 timesteps on LIBERO; 25 timesteps on ALOHA, per the paper |
| LIBERO result | Average success rate 76.5% to 97.1% across four task suites, per the paper abstract |
| Throughput | 26 times higher on LIBERO per the abstract; 43 times higher than base OpenVLA with 25-timestep chunks, per the paper |
| Real robot | Bimanual ALOHA at 25 Hz, per the paper |
| Code and checkpoints | Official GitHub repository; the abstract says code and pretrained checkpoints are released |
| Licence | MIT, as listed on the GitHub repository |
| Firsthand relationship | None |
12
Original OpenVLA fine-tuning versus the OFT recipe, as the paper describes them
| Design choice | Original OpenVLA recipe | OFT recipe |
|---|---|---|
| Action decoding | Autoregressive, one token at a time with a causal mask | Parallel decoding in a single forward pass with bidirectional attention |
| Actions per pass | One timestep | A chunk of timesteps (8 on LIBERO, 25 on ALOHA) |
| Action representation | Discrete tokens, 256 bins per dimension | Continuous values from an MLP action head |
| Learning objective | Next-token prediction with cross-entropy | L1 regression |
| Camera views | A single third-person image | Multiple views, including wrist cameras |
| Robot state input | Not used | Optional, projected into the language embedding space |
| Language grounding aid | None | FiLM in OFT+ for ALOHA |
13
LIBERO inference efficiency on one A100 GPU, from the paper’s Table II
| Variant | Throughput (Hz) | Latency (s) |
|---|---|---|
| OpenVLA | 4.2 | 0.2396 |
| Plus parallel decoding | 15.9 | 0.0629 |
| Plus parallel decoding and action chunking | 108.8 | 0.0735 |
| Plus continuous actions with L1 regression | 109.7 | 0.0729 |
| Plus wrist image and robot state inputs | 71.4 | 0.1120 |
14
What OpenVLA-OFT consumes versus what custom egocentric capture delivers
| Aspect | OpenVLA-OFT (official sources) | Custom egocentric capture (per the site) |
|---|---|---|
| Source of data | Robot demonstrations on LIBERO and ALOHA | First-person human video from paid, consented contributors to a written spec |
| Camera views | Third-person image, optionally wrist cameras | Head-mounted camera plus two wrist cameras, hardware-triggered onto one clock |
| Hand data | Not applicable; the embodiment is a robot arm | 3D hand pose at 21 joints per hand, with a per-joint visibility flag |
| Proprioception | Robot state is an optional input | Not delivered; 6-DoF IMUs at 200 Hz, head and both wrists |
| Actions | Robot actions, predicted as chunks | Not delivered; Firsthand captures first-person human video, not robot data |
| Language | A language instruction as input | One task instruction per episode, and nothing further |
| Mapping to OFT action spaces | Needs a dataset registered with the data loader | Not stated |
| Access | MIT-listed code and released checkpoints | Paid; Spec Pilot; billed per validated hour |
15
Frequently asked questions
- What is OpenVLA-OFT?
- OpenVLA fine-tuned with the Optimized Fine-Tuning recipe from Kim, Finn and Liang. The recipe combines parallel decoding, action chunking, a continuous action representation and an L1 regression objective.
- What does OFT stand for?
- Optimized Fine-Tuning. The paper uses OFT for the recipe and OpenVLA-OFT for its instantiation on OpenVLA. OFT+ adds FiLM for stronger language grounding on the ALOHA robot.
- Is OpenVLA-OFT the same as LoRA?
- No. LoRA decides which weights are trained, while OFT changes how actions are decoded, represented and optimised. The paper adapts OpenVLA through LoRA in its study because its training sets are small.
- How much faster is it than base OpenVLA?
- The abstract reports 26 times higher action generation throughput on LIBERO. The paper reports 43 times higher throughput than base OpenVLA with 25-timestep chunks on ALOHA. Both are the authors’ measurements on their hardware.
- Is OpenVLA-OFT open source, and what is the licence?
- The official GitHub repository is listed with an MIT licence, and the abstract says code and pretrained checkpoints are released. Read the licence text before a commercial program relies on it.
- Did OpenVLA-OFT use Firsthand data, and can I request a custom dataset?
- No. Firsthand is not affiliated with the OpenVLA-OFT authors and makes no claim that OpenVLA-OFT or any model was trained on Firsthand data. You can request a custom egocentric dataset: write the tasks, fields and format into a spec, confirm it on a Spec Pilot, and billing is per validated hour. Firsthand captures first-person human video, not robot or teleoperation data.
Related terms