Glossary

What Is RoboFlamingo?

RoboFlamingo adapts the OpenFlamingo vision-language model into a robot policy with a history-aware policy head. Third-party research.

Last reviewed: October 2026

Short answer

RoboFlamingo is a vision-language manipulation framework from arXiv 2311.01378, built on the open-source OpenFlamingo model. A pre-trained vision-language model reads each step’s images and instruction, and a policy head with memory predicts robot actions, fine-tuned by imitation learning on language-conditioned data. It is third-party research, not Firsthand’s.

01

What is RoboFlamingo?

RoboFlamingo is introduced in arXiv 2311.01378, “Vision-Language Foundation Models as Effective Robot Imitators”, by Xinghang Li, Minghuan Liu and co-authors at ByteDance Research and three universities, with an official project page and GitHub repository. Read: abstract, full text, project page and README.

02

Where does Firsthand fit next to RoboFlamingo?

RoboFlamingo is third-party research. Firsthand is not affiliated with its authors and claims no use, training or compatibility. Firsthand captures first-person human video, not robot data, fast, on demand and to a written spec: 21 keypoints per hand with a visibility flag, wrist trajectories, action segments and one task instruction per episode.

03

How does it adapt a pretrained vision-language model (OpenFlamingo) into a robot policy?

It splits the work. OpenFlamingo reads the images and the instruction at every step: a vision transformer and perceiver resampler encode two camera views, a third-person camera and a gripper camera, and a decoder fuses them with the instruction. An explicit policy head carries history, an LSTM by default, and predicts a 7-DoF end-effector pose and gripper status.

04

How is RoboFlamingo trained and evaluated, as stated in the sources?

Training is imitation learning on language-conditioned demonstrations: mean squared error on relative pose, binary cross-entropy on gripper state. The paper says it can be trained or evaluated on a single GPU server, and reports experiments on one 8-GPU A100 server.

05

What does the paper report about CALVIN, as stated in the sources?

The paper evaluates only on CALVIN, a simulation with a Franka Emika Panda arm: 34 tasks, sequences of up to five instructions. Trained on all four splits and tested on D, it reports an average completed length of 4.09 against 3.06 for HULC. Trained on A, B and C and tested on D, it reports 2.48 against 0.67 for HULC and 0.90 for RT-1. These are the authors’ own figures.

06

How does RoboFlamingo relate to vision-language models, RoboVLMs and other VLA models?

A vision-language model outputs no actions on its own; the policy head supplies them. The paper contrasts RoboFlamingo with RT-2, which it describes as using private models and co-fine-tuning on large vision-language data, and with SayCan and PaLM-E, which need separate low-level skill policies. RoboVLMs is a separate study the sources read do not discuss.

07

What training data do VLA models need, and how do you get custom egocentric data for your own tasks?

RoboFlamingo’s CALVIN data is simulated teleoperation with robot actions, which Firsthand does not deliver; egocentric human video as RoboFlamingo training data is Not stated in the sources read. Firsthand captures human first-person video with one task instruction per episode and action segments; no compatibility is claimed. Put tasks and signals in a written spec and confirm it on a Spec Pilot. Median from signed spec to first validated batch: 48 hours where coverage is deep, three to four weeks where thin. Formats: RLDS, LeRobot v2.1, WebDataset, HDF5.

08

RoboFlamingo architecture, components and training data, as stated in the official sources

RoboFlamingo architecture, components and training data, as stated in the official sources
ItemWhat the official sources state
BackboneOpenFlamingo: vision encoder plus a decoder with frozen language-model layers
Policy headLSTM by default; GPT and MLP variants tested; 7-DoF pose and gripper status out
Trained partsResampler, gated cross-attention, policy head; other parameters frozen
Training dataLanguage-conditioned CALVIN demonstrations

10

RoboFlamingo beside related glossary entries

RoboFlamingo beside related glossary entries
EntryWhat the glossary says it isRelation to RoboFlamingo (sources read)
Vision-language modelTakes images and text together; no action output by itselfOpenFlamingo is the backbone; a policy head adds actions
CALVIN benchmarkSimulated benchmark; 34 tasks, long-horizon language-conditionedThe only benchmark the paper evaluates on
RoboVLMsSeparate study of building VLAs from VLM backbonesNot discussed in the sources read
Vision-language-action modelScene and instruction in, action outWhether the authors classify it as a VLA: Not stated in the sources read

11

What RoboFlamingo consumes beside what the Firsthand site states

What RoboFlamingo consumes beside what the Firsthand site states
AspectRoboFlamingo (sources read)What the Firsthand site states
ImagesSimulated third-person and gripper camerasHead-mounted egocentric video plus two wrist cameras
LanguageFree-form instruction at each stepOne task instruction per episode
ActionsRelative end-effector pose and gripper statusNot delivered; Firsthand captures human video, not robot data
Hand dataNot applicable; the embodiment is a robot arm21 keypoints per hand, visibility flag, wrist trajectories, action segments
CompatibilityNot claimedNot claimed

12

Frequently asked questions

What is RoboFlamingo?
A vision-language manipulation framework from arXiv 2311.01378, built on OpenFlamingo, with a policy head that predicts robot actions.
How does it turn a vision-language model into a robot policy?
OpenFlamingo reads images and the instruction each step; an LSTM policy head carries history and predicts pose and gripper status.
How is RoboFlamingo trained?
By imitation learning on language-conditioned CALVIN demonstrations, training only the resampler, cross-attention and policy head.
Is RoboFlamingo open source?
The official GitHub repository lists an MIT License, and its README says pre-trained models are on Hugging Face.
Was it tested on real robots or trained on egocentric human video?
The paper states it does not deploy on real-world robots. Egocentric human video as training data is Not stated in the sources read.
Does Firsthand use RoboFlamingo, and can I request a custom dataset?
Firsthand is not affiliated with the RoboFlamingo authors and claims no use, training or compatibility. You can request a custom dataset, confirmed first on a Spec Pilot.