Glossary

What Is TinyVLA?

TinyVLA is a published family of compact, fast VLA models that need no robot pretraining. Firsthand is not part of it.

Last reviewed: October 2026

Short answer

TinyVLA is a family of compact vision-language-action models for robot manipulation, introduced in arXiv 2409.12514. It starts the policy backbone from a fast multimodal model and adds a diffusion policy decoder during fine-tuning. The authors say it infers faster than OpenVLA and needs no robot-data pretraining stage. It is third-party research, not Firsthand’s.

01

What is TinyVLA?

TinyVLA is introduced in arXiv 2409.12514, with an official project page and GitHub repository. The abstract says current VLA models are slow at inference and need extensive robot pre-training, which hinders deployment. Read: the abstract, project page and README; not the full paper or Hugging Face pages.

02

Where does Firsthand fit next to TinyVLA?

TinyVLA is third-party research. Firsthand is not affiliated with its authors and claims no use, training or compatibility with it. Firsthand captures first-person human video, not robot data, fast, on demand and to a written spec: 21 keypoints per hand with a visibility flag, wrist trajectories and action segments, plus one task instruction per episode.

03

How is TinyVLA built?

The abstract names two components: a policy backbone initialized from robust, high-speed multimodal models, and a diffusion policy decoder integrated during fine-tuning. The README says the backbone puts the Pythia language model into the LLaVA framework, with Llava-Pythia weights of about 400M, 700M and 1.3B parameters for TinyVLA-S, -B and -H.

04

How is TinyVLA trained, and what data does it need?

The abstract says TinyVLA eliminates the pre-training stage, so the policy is fine-tuned on task data. The README expects ACT-format h5py files, with a script to convert RLDS. Its example holds actions, a raw language entry, left, right and wrist images, joint positions, qpos and qvel. Demonstration counts are Not stated in the sources read.

05

Why does a compact, fast VLA matter for robot manipulation?

The abstract names slow inference and large robot pre-training as barriers to deployment, and claims faster inference and better data efficiency than OpenVLA with comparable or superior performance. Speed figures are Not stated in the sources read, and scores are not reproduced.

06

How does TinyVLA compare with OpenVLA, SmolVLA and Diffusion Policy?

All four target robot control but differ in backbone, action output and training data. The table gives only what each official source or site entry states; Firsthand ranks none.

07

What does TinyVLA’s data setup not describe?

The sources describe robot demonstrations with joint states. Egocentric human video as training data is not described in the sources read, and dataset sizes are Not stated. Coverage of tasks, environments and people belongs in a written data spec.

08

What real-world egocentric data supports compact VLAs, and how do you get it custom-collected?

Firsthand captures human first-person video, not robot data, and states no robot joint state or actions. Write tasks, environments and signals into a spec and confirm them on a Spec Pilot. The median from signed spec to first validated batch is 48 hours where coverage is deep and three to four weeks where thin. Formats: RLDS, LeRobot v2.1, WebDataset, HDF5; mapping to TinyVLA’s layout is the buyer’s pipeline.

09

TinyVLA components and training setup, as stated in the official sources

TinyVLA components and training setup, as stated in the official sources
ItemWhat the official sources state
Backbone (README)Llava-Pythia: about 400M (S), 700M (B), 1.3B (H); total model size Not stated in the sources read
Action decoderDiffusion policy decoder, integrated during fine-tuning
Robot-data pre-trainingNone; the abstract says the pre-training stage is eliminated
Training input (README)ACT-format h5py files; RLDS converter provided; LoRA option
CodeMIT License; weight licences Not stated in the sources read
Firsthand relationshipNone

11

TinyVLA beside OpenVLA, SmolVLA and Diffusion Policy, as each official source or site entry states

TinyVLA beside OpenVLA, SmolVLA and Diffusion Policy, as each official source or site entry states
ItemTinyVLA (sources read)OpenVLASmolVLADiffusion Policy
Starting pointPretrained multimodal backbonePrismatic-7B vision-language modelSmolVLM-2Conditioned on visual observations
Action outputDiffusion policy decoderTokenized actions decoded to continuousFlow matching action expert, action chunksConditional denoising diffusion over action sequences
Robot pretrainingNone, per the abstract970k Open X-Embodiment trajectories481 community datasets, about 23k trajectoriesTrained from demonstrations
Egocentric human videoNot describedNot describedNot describedNot described

12

What TinyVLA consumes beside what the Firsthand site states

What TinyVLA consumes beside what the Firsthand site states
AspectTinyVLA (sources read)What the Firsthand site states
ImagesLeft, right and wrist in the README exampleHead-mounted egocentric video plus two wrist cameras
Robot stateJoint positions, qpos and qvel in the README exampleNot stated; Firsthand captures human video, not robot data
ActionsAn action arrayRobot actions Not stated; 21 keypoints per hand, visibility flag, wrist trajectories, action segments
LanguageA raw language entryOne task instruction per episode
File layouth5py (ACT format); RLDS converterRLDS, LeRobot v2.1, WebDataset, HDF5
CompatibilityNot claimedNot claimed

13

Frequently asked questions

What is TinyVLA?
A family of compact VLA models for robot manipulation with a fast multimodal backbone and a diffusion policy decoder.
Does TinyVLA need robot pretraining?
The abstract says it eliminates the pre-training stage. Dataset sizes are Not stated in the sources read.
How is TinyVLA different from OpenVLA?
The abstract claims faster inference and better data efficiency, from the authors’ own tests. Scores are not reproduced.
Is TinyVLA open source?
The repository lists the MIT License. Model weight licences are Not stated in the sources read.
Was TinyVLA trained on egocentric human video?
Not described in the sources read. The README describes robot demonstrations with joint states.
Does Firsthand use TinyVLA, and can I request a custom dataset?
Firsthand is not affiliated with the TinyVLA authors and claims no use, training or compatibility. You can request a custom dataset, confirmed first on a Spec Pilot.