Now recruiting capture teams worldwide. Get paid to record first-person video of real work.

Apply to capture

Glossary

What Is UP-VLA?

UP-VLA is a published VLA model trained on understanding and future prediction. Firsthand is not affiliated with its authors.

Last reviewed: October 2026

Short answer

UP-VLA is a vision-language-action (VLA) model for embodied agents, described in the paper UP-VLA: A Unified Understanding and Prediction Model for Embodied Agent (arXiv 2501.18867). It is trained with both multimodal understanding and future prediction objectives, to enhance both high-level semantic comprehension and low-level spatial understanding. Firsthand is not part of it.

01

What is UP-VLA?

UP-VLA is introduced in UP-VLA: A Unified Understanding and Prediction Model for Embodied Agent (arXiv 2501.18867) by Jianke Zhang, Yanjiang Guo, Yucheng Hu, Xiaoyu Chen, Xiang Zhu and Jianyu Chen, first submitted on 31 January 2025 and accepted to ICML 2025. The abstract starts from a limit it attributes to prior work: pre-trained vision-language models often focus on high-level semantic content and neglect low-level features, which limits their ability to capture detailed spatial information and understand physical dynamics. Read: the arXiv abstract page and the official GitHub README only. The full paper is not summarised here.

02

Where does Firsthand fit next to UP-VLA?

UP-VLA is third-party research. Firsthand is not affiliated with its authors and claims no use, training or compatibility with it. Firsthand captures first-person human video, not robot data, fast, on demand and to a written spec: 21 keypoints per hand with a visibility flag, wrist trajectories and action segments, plus one task instruction per episode.

03

What does unified understanding and prediction mean in UP-VLA?

The abstract describes a unified VLA model trained with two kinds of objective: multimodal understanding and future prediction. The aim it states is to enhance both high-level semantic comprehension and low-level spatial understanding, the second of which it calls crucial for embodied control. The README says the default backbone is show-o-w-clip-vit-512x512 and that the work is based on Show-o, Phi-1.5 and LLaVA. How the objectives are weighted, the loss and the tokenisation are Not stated in the sources read.

04

How does the official repository train UP-VLA?

The README lists two training runs, one with a prediction-tuning config and one with an action-tuning config, and says the pretraining stage can be skipped. Embodied data is the CALVIN dataset and the Bridge dataset, with Bridge optional during pretraining. A multimodal understanding set, llava_tuning_665k_data, is co-trained to maintain the model’s multimodal understanding, and the config can exclude it. Dataset sizes, hours and epochs are Not stated in the sources read.

05

What do the sources say UP-VLA was evaluated on?

The abstract reports a 33% improvement on the CALVIN ABC-D benchmark compared with the previous state-of-the-art method, and improved success rates in real-world manipulation tasks, particularly those requiring precise spatial information. Both are the authors’ own claims and are quoted as stated, not verified here. The previous method, the real-world task list and any per-task scores are Not stated in the sources read.

The README adds that a CALVIN rollout saves predicted images visualising both current observations and future predictions, that a trained CALVIN ABC-D checkpoint is provided, and that a reference rollout script, described as usable directly on a Franka Emika robot arm, is included for your own embodiment.

06

How does UP-VLA differ from WorldVLA, DreamVLA and a world model?

The site entries describe WorldVLA as one autoregressive model unifying a VLA and a world model, and DreamVLA as a VLA framework that forecasts dynamic regions, depth and semantics before acting. A world model, per the site entry, predicts how a scene changes in response to an action. The UP-VLA abstract names future prediction as a training objective alongside understanding, and the README shows predicted future images. Whether UP-VLA predicts depth or semantics, or calls itself a world model, is Not stated in the sources read.

07

What do the UP-VLA sources not state?

Parameter counts, architecture details, dataset sizes, hours of data, the real-world task list and the licence are Not stated in the sources read. No project page is linked from the arXiv page or the README read. Whether any human egocentric video is used is Not described: the embodied data named are CALVIN and Bridge.

08

What human data supports VLA fine-tuning, and how do you get it custom-collected?

The README says that for your own robot data you reimplement the repository’s DataProvider dataloader class. Firsthand captures human first-person video, not robot data, and does not claim its capture fits that dataloader. Write tasks, environments and signals into a spec and confirm them on a Spec Pilot. Median time to first validated batch: 48 hours where coverage is deep, three to four weeks where thin. Formats: RLDS, LeRobot v2.1, WebDataset, HDF5; mapping to UP-VLA’s layout is the buyer’s pipeline.

09

UP-VLA components and training setup, as stated in the official sources

UP-VLA components and training setup, as stated in the official sources
ItemWhat the official sources state
Model typeUnified VLA model for embodied agents (abstract)
ObjectivesMultimodal understanding and future prediction (abstract)
Default backboneshow-o-w-clip-vit-512x512; based on Show-o, Phi-1.5 and LLaVA (README)
Embodied data namedCALVIN dataset and Bridge dataset (README)
Understanding data namedllava_tuning_665k_data, co-trained to maintain multimodal understanding (README)
Benchmark namedCALVIN ABC-D, 33% improvement claimed by the authors (abstract)
Code and checkpointOfficial PyTorch implementation; CALVIN ABC-D checkpoint provided (README)
Parameters, data sizes, licenceNot stated in the sources read
Firsthand relationshipNone

11

UP-VLA beside WorldVLA and DreamVLA, as each official source or site entry states

UP-VLA beside WorldVLA and DreamVLA, as each official source or site entry states
ItemUP-VLA (sources read)WorldVLA (site entry)DreamVLA (site entry)
PaperarXiv 2501.18867arXiv 2506.21539arXiv 2507.04447
Described asUnified VLA model trained with understanding and future predictionAutoregressive action model unifying a VLA and a world modelVLA framework that forecasts world knowledge before acting
Prediction targetFuture prediction; README rollouts save predicted imagesFuture images from images and actionsDynamic regions, depth and semantics
Benchmark namedCALVIN ABC-D (abstract)LIBERONot compared on this page
Firsthand relationshipNoneNoneNone

12

What UP-VLA consumes beside what the Firsthand site states

What UP-VLA consumes beside what the Firsthand site states
AspectUP-VLA (sources read)What the Firsthand site states
Embodied dataCALVIN and Bridge datasetsHuman first-person video; robot actions Not stated
Hand and body signalsNot stated in the sources read21 keypoints per hand, visibility flag, wrist trajectories, action segments
LanguageMultimodal understanding data co-trained; text format of tasks Not statedOne task instruction per episode
CamerasNot stated in the sources readHead-mounted egocentric video plus two wrist cameras; suitability not claimed
File layoutOwn dataloader (DataProvider class); layout Not statedRLDS, LeRobot v2.1, WebDataset, HDF5
CompatibilityNot claimedNot claimed

13

Frequently asked questions

What is UP-VLA?
A vision-language-action model for embodied agents, described in UP-VLA: A Unified Understanding and Prediction Model for Embodied Agent (arXiv 2501.18867).
What do the understanding and prediction objectives do?
The abstract says training with both multimodal understanding and future prediction objectives enhances high-level semantic comprehension and low-level spatial understanding.
What does UP-VLA claim on benchmarks?
The abstract claims a 33% improvement on the CALVIN ABC-D benchmark over the previous state-of-the-art method, and better real-world success where precise spatial information matters. These are the authors’ claims, not verified here.
Is UP-VLA open source?
The README calls the repository the official PyTorch implementation and provides a CALVIN ABC-D checkpoint. The licence is Not stated in the sources read.
Was UP-VLA trained on egocentric video?
Not described in the sources read. The embodied datasets named are CALVIN and Bridge.
Does Firsthand use UP-VLA, and can I request a custom dataset?
Firsthand is not affiliated with the UP-VLA authors and claims no use, training or compatibility. You can request a custom dataset, confirmed first on a Spec Pilot.