Comparison

Egocentric-10K vs GEN-0 Training Data

A 10,000-hour Apache 2.0 egocentric factory-video dataset, vs a robot foundation model pretrained on an in-house corpus of over 270,000 hours.

Short answer

Egocentric-10K is an Apache 2.0-licensed dataset of 10,000 hours of monocular head-mounted factory video, with no labels stated beyond clip metadata. GEN-0 is a robot foundation model pretrained on an in-house corpus of over 270,000 hours of manipulation data. They are not interchangeable: one is gated human video, the other in-house robot data.

Spec comparison

Egocentric-10K vs GEN-0, attribute by attribute.

AttributeEgocentric-10KGEN-0
TypeA downloadable dataset on Hugging Face, published by Build AIA family of embodied foundation models, announced in a company blog post, with scaling experiments on an in-house dataset
Source setting“Collected exclusively in real factories”; the directory listing runs from factory 001 to 085Manipulation data “collected across diverse activities in 1,000s of homes, warehouses, and workplaces worldwide”
EmbodimentHuman wearers; a monocular head-mounted camera, per-worker foldersRobot manipulation data; the post says the model was tested on “6DoF, 7DoF, and 16+DoF semi-humanoid robots”. The robot-versus-device split is not stated
Capture hardwareA “Build AI Gen 1” device: monocular head-mounted camera, 128° horizontal and 67° vertical field of view, no audioNot stated beyond “custom hardware” and “1,000s of data collection devices and robots”
Scale10,000 hours, 1.08 billion frames, 192,900 clips, 16.4 TB; median clip 180 secondsOver 270,000 hours of real-world manipulation data, growing at over 10,000 hours a week
FormatH.265/MP4, 1080p (1920x1080), 30 fps, in WebDataset shards with a JSON metadata file per clipNot stated; the post mentions compressing “dozens of Petabytes of data”
Annotations or labelsPer-worker calibrated fisheye intrinsics and per-clip metadata (factory, worker, duration, resolution, frame rate, size, codec). No hand-pose, action or language labels stated for the main set; a 30,000-frame evaluation set is linked and its labels are not describedLanguage labels appear in a dataset-search figure; the annotation schema is not stated
Licence“Licensed under the Apache 2.0 License.”Not stated; the dataset is described as in-house
AvailabilityGated: “You need to agree to share your contact information to access this dataset”Not stated; no way for outside teams to obtain the dataset is described
Every third-party cell traces to the Egocentric-10K dataset card on Hugging Face or the GEN-0 post from Generalist AI. Where a source does not state a fact, the cell says “not stated”. The two are different kinds of thing, so the cells describe each as stated and do not rank them.

Spec comparison

What each source says about scale, use and results.

TopicWhat the source statesSource
Egocentric-10K: scale claim“Egocentric-10K is the largest egocentric dataset. It is the first dataset collected exclusively in real factories.”Dataset card, opening lines
Egocentric-10K: quality claim“State-of-the-art in hand visibility and active manipulation density compared to previous in-the-wild egocentric datasets.” The card text reviewed gives no benchmark for thisDataset card, opening lines
Egocentric-10K: intended useNot stated in the card text reviewedDataset card
GEN-0: model size1B models show “ossification”; 6B models begin to benefit; 7B+ models transfer with “only a few thousand steps of post-training”GEN-0 post, Surpassing the Intelligence Threshold
GEN-0: data scalingMore pretraining data improves post-training performance across all 16 task sets, following a power-law relationship with pretraining dataset sizeGEN-0 post, Scaling Laws for Robotics
GEN-0: real robotWith 5.6 hours of task-specific data, more pretraining improves success; the best models use the full pretraining set and 550+ hours of post-training data, up to 99% peak in certain casesGEN-0 post, Figure 3
GEN-0: data quality“Data quality and diversity matters more than sheer volume”; different mixtures give models different characteristicsGEN-0 post, Science of Pretraining
Figures and claims are quoted as the sources state them. The Egocentric-10K card makes claims about the dataset; the GEN-0 post reports experiments. They measure different things and are not comparable with each other.

Spec comparison

What a pretraining mixture needs vs what each source covers.

Pretraining needOpen egocentric dataset, as Egocentric-10K states itRobot data, as GEN-0 describes itWhat a custom collection adds
Your own tasks and scenesFixed: real factories only, as capturedAn in-house corpus; no access for outside teams is describedA skill spec scoped to the buyer’s own target tasks and environments, proven on a small pilot first — see /custom-collection/egocentric-data-collection-pilot
Action signalsNo pose or action labels stated for the main setDescribed as robot manipulation data; action format and human/robot split not statedFrame-accurate action segments and manipulation-grade 3D hand pose captured on the rig — see /custom-collection/custom-egocentric-dataset
Alignment to a target robotNot applicable; the data is human head-camera videoTested on 6DoF, 7DoF and 16+DoF robots, then post-trained on task-specific dataA collection plan scoped to the target embodiment, delivered in RLDS, LeRobot, WebDataset, HDF5, zarr or Rerun .rrd — see /guides/robot-pretraining-data
Licence for a funded productApache 2.0 stated; consent and release terms not stated in the card text reviewedNot stated; in-houseA buyer-owned, perpetual, non-exclusive commercial licence by default, confirmed in writing before capture — see /guides/buyer-owned-training-data
Speed to first dataDownload after agreeing to share contact information; streaming loading is shown on the cardOver 10,000 new hours a week reported for its own operationA fast, on-demand Spec Pilot, with a median 48-hour first validated batch where coverage is deep
The custom-collection column uses only capabilities this site already states elsewhere; it is not a new claim about either source.

The sources

What is Egocentric-10K, according to its dataset card?

Egocentric-10K is a Hugging Face dataset published by Build AI. The card opens: “Egocentric-10K is the largest egocentric dataset. It is the first dataset collected exclusively in real factories.” Its statistics table lists 10,000 total hours, 1.08 billion frames and 192,900 video clips, with a 180-second median clip length and 4.68 mean hours per worker. The card also calls it “state-of-the-art in hand visibility and active manipulation density compared to previous in-the-wild egocentric datasets”; the text reviewed gives no benchmark behind that.

Footage is H.265/MP4 at 1080p and 30 fps, from a monocular head-mounted camera with no audio. It is organised in WebDataset format by factory and worker, with calibrated fisheye intrinsics per worker and a JSON metadata file per clip. The licence line reads “Licensed under the Apache 2.0 License.” Access is gated: “You need to agree to share your contact information to access this dataset.” See /guides/what-is-egocentric-10k for the single-source explainer.

The sources

What is GEN-0, according to Generalist?

GEN-0 is announced in a Generalist AI blog post cited as November 2025. It calls GEN-0 “a new class of embodied foundation models built for multimodal training directly on high-fidelity raw physical interaction”, pretrained on “our in-house robotics dataset, which includes over 270,000 hours of real-world diverse manipulation data, growing at a rate of 10,000 hours a week”.

The post describes the data as manipulation trajectories collected in homes, warehouses and workplaces, using “1,000s of data collection devices and robots”. It does not give a split between robots and other devices, and does not say whether any of it is human video. It is a company blog post, not a peer-reviewed paper. See /guides/what-is-gen-0.

Framing

How does an egocentric human-video dataset differ from robot training data?

They record different things. Egocentric-10K records what a worker sees through a head-mounted camera while doing factory work. The card gives video, camera intrinsics and clip metadata, and states no hand-pose, action or language labels for the main set. GEN-0 trains on manipulation trajectories and measures “next-action prediction error”, so its pretraining data carries robot actions in a way a head-camera video does not.

They also differ in who can use them. Video from a person has no embodiment gap to close if you only want visual and task-structure data, but turning it into a policy input means producing action or pose signals yourself. Robot data is matched to a robot, but needs hardware and operators; the GEN-0 post describes custom hardware, dataloaders and network infrastructure built for its scale. For the general argument see /compare/human-video-vs-robot-data-for-pretraining.

Side by side

How do Egocentric-10K and GEN-0 compare on scale, capture, format and licence?

The first table sets them side by side. Scale is the widest gap: GEN-0 states over 270,000 hours against Egocentric-10K’s 10,000. Treat the units as different. Egocentric-10K counts hours of head-camera footage, with a stated size of 16.4 TB. GEN-0 counts hours of manipulation data and mentions compressing dozens of petabytes, which is not a like-for-like size.

Capture and format are documented for Egocentric-10K down to field of view, frame rate and codec; GEN-0 states only that it built custom hardware. Licence is the sharpest contrast. Egocentric-10K states Apache 2.0 on the card. GEN-0 states no licence, and the post describes no way for outside teams to obtain its dataset. For other pairings see /compare/egoverse-vs-gen-0, /compare/egoscale-vs-gen-0 and /compare/gen-0-vs-humanscale.

Scaling and use

What does each source state about scaling or intended use?

The Egocentric-10K card states no scaling experiment and no intended use in the text reviewed. Its claims are about the dataset itself: size, factory setting, and hand visibility. It lists a section for models trained or fine-tuned on it, but the text reviewed names no result. Any scaling behaviour with this dataset would have to be measured by the team using it. See /compare/egocentric-10k-vs-gr00t-n1 for how it sits beside a published training recipe.

GEN-0 is the opposite: the post is about scaling. It states that “more pretraining data and compute consistently (and predictably) improve downstream post-training performance”, with a power-law relationship between pretraining data size and downstream error across 16 task sets. Models post-trained on only 5.6 hours of task-specific data improved with more pretraining, and the best models reached “up to 99% peak performance in certain cases” when paired with all 550+ hours of post-training data.

The post also warns against reading scale alone: “data quality and diversity matters more than sheer volume”, and “different mixtures of pretraining data” give models different characteristics. That is a statement about GEN-0’s own robot data, not a finding about human video, and it should not be applied to Egocentric-10K as evidence.

Decision

When should a team use an open egocentric dataset vs robot data?

Neither source recommends a mixture. What the sources can support is a set of conditions, and this is the page’s reading of them, not a recommendation either publisher makes.

Lean on an open egocentric dataset when you need a licence you can read today, when your targets are factory or industrial manipulation, and when you can supply the labelling or pose estimation the card does not state. It suits early experiments and visual pretraining where you want to start without collecting anything. Check what is not stated first: consent and release terms, and the labels, are not described in the card text reviewed.

Lean on robot data when you already operate robots at volume, when your target is one embodiment and its action space, or when you judge progress by closed-loop success on that robot. GEN-0’s results come from that setting, and the post describes no outside access to the corpus. In practice a team does not choose one: it tests each source as one component of a mixture and measures the effect on its own tasks. See /guides/building-a-robot-pretraining-data-mixture.

Gaps

What does each leave open for a data buyer?

For Egocentric-10K, the card text reviewed does not state the consent or release basis for the footage, any hand-pose or action annotation, an intended use, or a training result. The gate asks for contact information, and the card does not describe what is done with it. One setting, real factories, is a strength for factory tasks and a limit for anything else.

For GEN-0, the post is an announcement, not a methods paper, and defers further findings to “more on these learnings in future posts”. It states no licence or release, does not break its hours down by robot, device or human source, and gives no annotation schema.

Custom collection

Where does custom egocentric collection fit alongside both?

Custom collection is not a substitute for either source. It covers what a fixed public dataset and an in-house corpus cannot: tasks, scenes and failure cases specific to your own program, with a licence you hold in writing. GEN-0 says that having “multiple data collection strategies at scale allows us to continually A/B test which data improves pretraining the most”. The same logic applies to a buyer: treat each data source as something to test.

Firsthand collects custom egocentric video to a buyer’s skill spec, scoped to the buyer’s own target tasks and environments. Many programs start with a Spec Pilot, a small, fast first batch that proves coverage and label quality before scaling volume, with a median 48-hour first validated batch where coverage is deep. Data includes frame-accurate action segments and manipulation-grade 3D hand pose captured on the rig, delivered in RLDS, LeRobot, WebDataset, HDF5, zarr or Rerun .rrd.

The default licence is buyer-owned, perpetual and non-exclusive, confirmed in writing before capture. See /custom-collection/pretraining-data-collection, /custom-collection/egocentric-data-collection-pilot and /provenance. Firsthand has no relationship with Generalist or the Egocentric-10K publisher.

Buying

What should you ask for when buying egocentric pretraining data?

The sources suggest six questions. First, the licence in writing, since GEN-0 states none and a card’s licence line does not settle consent. Second, the capture hardware and calibration, which Egocentric-10K documents and GEN-0 does not. Third, the annotations, and how any hand or action signal is produced. Fourth, scene and site diversity rather than hours alone, since GEN-0 says quality and diversity matter more than volume. Fifth, alignment to your target tasks and robot. Sixth, a small pilot with a pass bar before volume; see /guides/evaluating-a-robot-pretraining-data-pilot. Review any licence with counsel; this page is not legal advice.

Evaluation criteria

Eight things to check on any vendor.

Is the claim stated in the source’s own text?
Every figure here traces to the Egocentric-10K dataset card or the Generalist AI GEN-0 post. Anything else is marked “not stated”.
Are the hours the same unit?
Egocentric-10K counts hours of head-mounted video. GEN-0 counts hours of manipulation data from its own operations. Compare scale only with that caveat.
Does the source state results, or only a description?
The GEN-0 post reports scaling experiments. The Egocentric-10K card describes a dataset and reports no training result in the text reviewed.

Red flags

Walk away when you see these.

  • Comparing 10,000 hours with 270,000 hours as if they were the same kind of data. The sources define their hours differently.
  • Assuming GEN-0 used Egocentric-10K or any human video. The GEN-0 post does not say so.
  • Treating the card’s “largest” and “state-of-the-art” wording as a benchmark. The card text reviewed gives no comparison figures.

Scoring template

Score candidates against your skill spec.

Copy this table, weight each criterion for your use case, and score each vendor on the same free or paid sample.

CriterionWeight (1–5)Egocentric-10KGEN-0
Is the claim stated in the source’s own text?———
Are the hours the same unit?———
Does the source state results, or only a description?———

FAQ

Common questions.

What is the main difference between Egocentric-10K and GEN-0?

Egocentric-10K is a Hugging Face dataset of 10,000 hours of head-mounted video from real factories, with an Apache 2.0 licence line. GEN-0 is a robot foundation model pretrained on an in-house corpus of over 270,000 hours of manipulation data. One is a dataset; the other is a model and its scaling results.

Which is larger, Egocentric-10K or GEN-0?

By stated hours, GEN-0: over 270,000 against Egocentric-10K’s 10,000. The units differ. Egocentric-10K counts hours of head-camera footage; GEN-0 counts manipulation data from its own operations, so the figures are not directly comparable.

Can I use Egocentric-10K or GEN-0 data commercially?

The Egocentric-10K card states “Licensed under the Apache 2.0 License” and gates access behind contact details; consent and release terms are not stated in the text reviewed. GEN-0 states no licence and its dataset is described as in-house. Review any licence with counsel before building a product on it.

Does GEN-0 use Egocentric-10K or human video?

The post does not say. It describes an in-house robotics dataset gathered with “1,000s of data collection devices and robots” and gives no split by robot, device or human source. It does not mention Egocentric-10K.

Does Egocentric-10K include hand pose or action labels?

Not stated for the main set. The card describes video, per-worker camera intrinsics and per-clip metadata. It links a 30,000-frame evaluation set, whose labels the card text reviewed does not describe.

Did either source find that human video beats robot data?

No. The Egocentric-10K card reports no training result in the text reviewed, and the GEN-0 post reports scaling of its own robot data. Neither compares human video against robot data.

Can I get custom egocentric data instead of relying on either?

Yes. Firsthand collects custom egocentric video to a buyer’s skill spec, starts with a small Spec Pilot batch, and delivers in RLDS, LeRobot, WebDataset, HDF5, zarr or Rerun .rrd under a buyer-owned, perpetual, non-exclusive default licence. See /custom-collection/pretraining-data-collection.

Is Firsthand affiliated with Generalist or the Egocentric-10K publisher?

No. Firsthand has no relationship with Generalist or the Egocentric-10K publisher. This page reads their official sources and compares them for data buyers.

Judge it on your own skill spec.

Get the free 40-episode sample pack, or send us your target skills and hours for a scoped quote.