Comparison

Egocentric-10K vs GR00T N1 Training Data

A 10,000-hour dataset of head-mounted factory video, vs a humanoid foundation model whose training data puts human video at the base of a pyramid.

Short answer

Egocentric-10K is an Apache 2.0-licensed 10,000-hour dataset of head-mounted factory video with no action labels stated. GR00T N1 is NVIDIA’s humanoid foundation model, trained on a pyramid of human video, synthetic and real-robot data, where human video gets latent-action labels. One supplies footage; the other describes how footage gets used.

Spec comparison

Egocentric-10K vs GR00T N1, attribute by attribute.

AttributeEgocentric-10KGR00T N1
TypeA dataset of egocentric human video, released on Hugging FaceAn open vision-language-action foundation model for humanoid robots, trained on a pyramid of web, human, synthetic and real-robot data
Human data used10,000 hours of video of factory workers; the card calls it “the first dataset collected exclusively in real factories”Human videos from seven existing datasets: Ego4D, Ego-Exo4D, Assembly-101, EPIC-KITCHENS, HOI4D, HoloAssist and RH20T-Human
Capture setupMonocular head-mounted camera (Build AI Gen 1), 1080p at 30 fps, 128° horizontal by 67° vertical field of view, no audioNot a capture effort for human video: the paper says it sources “diverse human egocentric video data from open datasets”. Per-dataset rigs are not restated
Scale reported10,000 hours, 1.08 billion frames, 192,900 clips, median clip length 180.0 secondsHuman-video hours are given per dataset in the paper’s Table 7. Other stated scale: 88 hours of in-house teleoperation, 827 hours of neural trajectories, 780,000 simulation trajectories
Labels or action signalsPer-clip metadata only. No action, hand-pose or language annotations are stated on the cardNone in the human video. The paper states it has no explicit action labels, so latent actions are learned from frame pairs
Robot and synthetic data mixNone. It is human video onlyHeterogeneous mixture: real-robot trajectories, human videos, simulation trajectories and neural (video-generated) trajectories
EmbodimentHuman workers. No robot embodimentCross-embodiment, from tabletop arms to dexterous humanoids; real-robot tests on the Fourier GR-1
Results reportedNo robot-learning result is stated in the card text reviewedBeats Diffusion Policy and BC-Transformer baselines on simulation benchmarks and GR-1 real-robot tasks
LicenceApache 2.0 (dataset card)Repository lists Apache License 2.0. The paper does not restate a licence in the text reviewed
AvailabilityGated on Hugging Face: users must agree to share contact information to access itThe paper states the GR00T-N1-2B checkpoint, training data and simulation benchmarks are publicly available
Every third-party cell traces to the Egocentric-10K dataset card, the GR00T N1 paper (arXiv 2503.14734) or the NVIDIA Isaac-GR00T repository. Where a source does not state a fact, the cell says “not stated” rather than estimating it.

Spec comparison

Which signals each source states, signal by signal.

SignalEgocentric-10KGR00T N1
Action labels on human videoNot statedLearned latent actions from a VQ-VAE trained on pairs of frames, used as flow-matching targets
Per-clip metadatafactory_id, worker_id, video_index, duration_sec, width, height, fps, size_bytes and codec in a JSON file beside each videoNot applicable to a model; fine-tuning data uses a LeRobot v2-style layout with an extra modality.json file, per the repository
Camera calibrationA per-worker intrinsics.json (OpenCV fisheye model, four distortion coefficients)Not stated for the human video datasets
Hand pose or detailed annotationNot stated. The card says the dataset is “state-of-the-art in hand visibility and active manipulation density” compared with earlier in-the-wild egocentric datasetsNot for most human video. The paper notes HOI4D, one of its seven datasets, has frame-wise hand and object pose annotations
Evaluation materialA 30,000-frame evaluation set, Egocentric-10K-Evaluation, linked from the cardThree simulation benchmarks and four real-robot task categories on the GR-1
Egocentric-10K ships footage plus metadata. GR00T N1 describes how a model turns unlabelled video into a training signal. The two columns are not the same kind of thing.

Spec comparison

What a robot pretraining program needs vs what each covers.

Pretraining needWhat Egocentric-10K and GR00T N1 provide or describeWhat a custom collection adds
Human data for your own tasks and scenesEgocentric-10K covers factory work only. GR00T N1 draws on seven open datasets its authors choseA skill spec scoped to the buyer’s own target tasks and environments, proven on a small pilot batch first — see /custom-collection/egocentric-data-collection-pilot
Action signals aligned to the videoEgocentric-10K states none. GR00T N1 infers latent actions from video that has noneFrame-accurate action segments and manipulation-grade 3D hand pose captured on the rig, as described on /custom-collection/custom-egocentric-dataset
A licence confirmed for a funded productEgocentric-10K lists Apache 2.0. GR00T N1’s repository lists Apache 2.0, and each source dataset behind its human video carries its own termsA buyer-owned, perpetual, non-exclusive commercial licence by default — see /guides/buyer-owned-training-data
Delivery in your pipeline’s formatEgocentric-10K ships WebDataset shards of H.265/MP4 video. GR00T fine-tuning expects its LeRobot v2-style layoutDelivery in RLDS, LeRobot, WebDataset, HDF5, zarr or Rerun .rrd — see /guides/robot-pretraining-data
The custom-collection column uses only capabilities this site already states elsewhere; it is not a new claim about either source.

The sources

What is Egocentric-10K?

Egocentric-10K is a dataset published by Build AI on Hugging Face. Its card opens: “Egocentric-10K is the largest egocentric dataset. It is the first dataset collected exclusively in real factories.” It reports 10,000 hours, 1.08 billion frames and 192,900 video clips, filmed with a monocular head-mounted camera at 1080p and 30 fps.

The card also claims it is “state-of-the-art in hand visibility and active manipulation density compared to previous in-the-wild egocentric datasets”. That is the publisher’s own description. See /guides/what-is-egocentric-10k for the single-source explainer.

The sources

What is GR00T N1, and what data is it trained on?

GR00T N1 is NVIDIA’s “open foundation model for humanoid robots”, described in arXiv 2503.14734 and released through the NVIDIA/Isaac-GR00T repository. It is a vision-language-action model: a vision-language module interprets the scene and instruction, and a diffusion transformer generates motor actions. The abstract says it is trained “with a heterogeneous mixture of real-robot trajectories, human videos, and synthetically generated datasets”.

The paper organises that mixture as a data pyramid: web data and human video at the base, synthetic data in the middle, real-robot data at the top. See /guides/gr00t-n1-data-pyramid-explained and /glossary/data-pyramid for the pyramid in detail. The repository README now describes GR00T N1.7, which it says adds 20K hours of EgoScale human video to pretraining; this page uses the original paper for N1 and labels README material as N1.7.

Framing

Is this a like-for-like comparison?

No. Egocentric-10K is raw material: footage plus metadata. GR00T N1 is a trained model, and what its paper offers a data buyer is a description of how mixed data, including human video, is used. They answer different questions: what a large factory-video corpus contains, versus how a foundation model blends human video with other layers.

Neither source names the other. The Egocentric-10K card text reviewed does not mention GR00T N1, and the GR00T N1 paper lists seven human-video datasets that do not include Egocentric-10K. For other pairings see /compare/egocentric-10k-vs-egoscale, /compare/egocentric-10k-vs-egoverse, /compare/egocentric-10k-vs-humanscale and /compare/egoverse-vs-gr00t-n1.

Capture and sourcing

What egocentric or human data does each contain or use, and how is it captured or sourced?

Egocentric-10K is its own capture. The card gives the device as Build AI Gen 1, a monocular head-mounted camera, with a 128° by 67° field of view and no audio. Footage is organised by factory and worker: the folder tree runs from factory_001 to factory_085, with each worker’s clips in WebDataset shards of up to 1 GB.

GR00T N1 does not film its own human video. The paper says it first sources “diverse human egocentric video data from open datasets”, and lists seven, covering cooking, assembly, tool use and other “task-oriented activities performed in natural environments”. Capture hardware therefore varies by dataset and the paper does not restate it. Its robot data is different: teleoperation on a Fourier GR1 using tracked wrist poses and hand-tracking gloves, retargeted to the robot.

Scale and diversity

How do they compare on scale and diversity?

Egocentric-10K states its scale in one table: 10,000 hours, 1.08 billion frames, 192,900 clips, a median clip of 180.0 seconds and a mean of 4.68 hours per worker. Its diversity is of one kind: every clip comes from a real factory, across the factory folders in its structure.

GR00T N1 does not summarise its human-video hours in the text reviewed; the paper points to Table 7 for per-dataset statistics. The numbers it does state describe the rest of the pyramid: 88 hours of in-house teleoperation expanded to 827 hours of neural trajectories, 140,000 AgiBot-Alpha trajectories, and 780,000 simulation trajectories described as equivalent to 6,500 hours of human demonstration data. Its human video spans several activity types, but the paper reports no single hours figure to set beside 10,000.

Labels

What labels or action signals come with each?

Egocentric-10K ships a JSON metadata file beside each video: factory and worker identifiers, a video index, duration, dimensions, frame rate, file size and codec. Each worker folder also holds an intrinsics.json with calibrated fisheye parameters. The card text reviewed states no action labels, hand pose or language annotations.

GR00T N1 has no action signal in its human video, so it manufactures one. It trains a VQ-VAE on a current frame and a future frame to produce a latent-action label, and the paper uses “learned latent actions as flow-matching targets” for human videos. For neural trajectories it also uses an inverse dynamics model to infer pseudo-actions. The repository adds that N1.7 uses a relative end-effector action space shared across robot and human embodiments. See /glossary/latent-actions and /glossary/inverse-dynamics-model.

Data mix

How does GR00T N1 combine human, robot and synthetic data, and what does Egocentric-10K supply on its own?

GR00T N1 uses a layered recipe. Human video forms the base, supplying what the paper calls broad visual and behavioural priors. Synthetic data forms the middle: simulation trajectories built from a small set of human demonstrations, and neural trajectories generated by fine-tuned video models. Real-robot data completes the top and grounds the model in real execution. All layers are co-trained in pretraining, then the model is post-trained on a single embodiment, with neural trajectories sampled 1:1 against real trajectories in the low-data case.

Egocentric-10K supplies one layer only: human video, with no robot, synthetic or action data attached. A team using it would still need to decide how to label it, how to mix it with robot data and how to evaluate transfer. The card text reviewed reports no such experiment.

Licensing

What are the licence and availability terms of each?

The Egocentric-10K card states: “Licensed under the Apache 2.0 License.” Access is gated: the card says users must agree to share their contact information. The card text reviewed does not describe consent or release terms for the workers filmed.

The Isaac-GR00T repository lists the Apache License 2.0, and the README says GR00T N1.7 is “fully commercially licensable under Apache 2.0”. The paper states the GR00T-N1-2B checkpoint, training data and simulation benchmarks are publicly available. The human videos it draws on come from other datasets, each with its own terms, which the paper does not restate.

Gaps

What does each leave open for a data buyer?

Egocentric-10K leaves open anything beyond factory work, any measured action or hand-pose signal, and any evidence that it improves a robot policy. The card text reviewed states none of these. It also gives no way to specify new tasks: it is a fixed release.

GR00T N1 leaves open the contribution of human video, the human-data licence chain and long-horizon work. The paper says the model “focuses primarily on short-horizon tabletop manipulation tasks” and names long-horizon loco-manipulation as future work. Its results are reported against baselines, and the sections reviewed include no run that removes human video, so they do not measure that layer alone.

Custom collection

Where does custom egocentric collection fit alongside either?

Custom collection is not a substitute for either source. It fills coverage that a fixed corpus and a fixed pyramid cannot. A program might use Egocentric-10K or GR00T N1 as an input, then commission a fast, on-demand pilot batch scoped to the tasks, scenes and failure cases its own model is missing.

Firsthand collects custom egocentric video to a buyer’s skill spec, tests the spec on a small Spec Pilot batch before scaling, and delivers in RLDS, LeRobot, WebDataset, HDF5, zarr or Rerun .rrd. The default licence is buyer-owned, perpetual and non-exclusive, confirmed in writing before capture. See /guides/robot-pretraining-data for how pretraining and post-training divide the work, and /custom-collection/pretraining-data-collection to request a custom pretraining dataset.

Evaluation criteria

Eight things to check on any vendor.

Is the claim stated on the source’s own official page?
Every figure here traces to the Egocentric-10K dataset card, arXiv 2503.14734 or the Isaac-GR00T repository. Anything else is marked “not stated”.
Does the source provide footage, or describe a training recipe?
Egocentric-10K is a footage source. GR00T N1 is a model whose paper describes how human video is used. Treat them as inputs to different decisions.
Where would the action labels come from?
Egocentric-10K states none. GR00T N1 infers latent actions. A buyer needing measured hand pose has to supply it another way.

Red flags

Walk away when you see these.

  • Assuming GR00T N1 trained on Egocentric-10K. Neither source says so, and Egocentric-10K is not among the seven human-video datasets the paper lists.
  • Reading the repository’s N1.7 notes as the original paper. The README now describes N1.7, a later release that names EgoScale human video, not Egocentric-10K.
  • Treating an Apache 2.0 label as a full licence chain for a funded product without checking consent terms for the people filmed.

Scoring template

Score candidates against your skill spec.

Copy this table, weight each criterion for your use case, and score each vendor on the same free or paid sample.

CriterionWeight (1–5)Egocentric-10KGR00T N1
Is the claim stated on the source’s own official page?———
Does the source provide footage, or describe a training recipe?———
Where would the action labels come from?———

FAQ

Common questions.

What is the main difference between Egocentric-10K and GR00T N1?

Egocentric-10K is a 10,000-hour dataset of head-mounted factory video. GR00T N1 is a humanoid foundation model whose training data is a pyramid of web data, human video, synthetic data and real-robot trajectories. One is footage; the other is a model and its data recipe.

Was GR00T N1 trained on Egocentric-10K?

Neither source says so. The GR00T N1 paper lists seven human-video datasets, and Egocentric-10K is not among them. The repository’s N1.7 notes name EgoScale human video, not Egocentric-10K.

Does Egocentric-10K come with action labels?

The dataset card text reviewed states none. It lists per-clip metadata such as factory and worker identifiers, duration and codec, plus per-worker camera intrinsics. Teams needing action labels would have to add them.

How does GR00T N1 get actions from human video?

The paper says human videos have no explicit action labels. It trains a VQ-VAE on pairs of frames to produce latent actions, uses them as flow-matching targets, and uses an inverse dynamics model to infer pseudo-actions for neural trajectories.

What licence does each have?

The Egocentric-10K card states Apache 2.0. The Isaac-GR00T repository lists Apache License 2.0. Check consent terms for the people filmed and the terms of any source dataset behind a model before building a product on either.

Can I get custom egocentric data instead of relying on either?

Yes. Firsthand collects custom egocentric video to a buyer’s skill spec, starts with a small Spec Pilot batch, and delivers in RLDS, LeRobot, WebDataset, HDF5, zarr or Rerun .rrd under a buyer-owned, perpetual, non-exclusive default licence. See /custom-collection/pretraining-data-collection.

Is Firsthand affiliated with Build AI or NVIDIA?

No. Firsthand has no relationship with the Egocentric-10K publisher or with NVIDIA. This page reads their official sources and compares them for data buyers.

Judge it on your own skill spec.

Get the free 40-episode sample pack, or send us your target skills and hours for a scoped quote.