Comparison

EgoScale vs EgoVerse: Egocentric Pretraining Data Compared

A published NVIDIA scaling-law study on 20,854 hours of action-labeled human video vs a 1,362-hour, hand-pose-and-language-annotated human demonstration dataset with no stated license.

Short answer

EgoScale is an NVIDIA research study that pretrains on 20,854 hours of action-labeled egocentric human video and reports a log-linear scaling law. EgoVerse is a 1,362-hour, roughly 80,000-episode human-demonstration dataset with 3D hand pose and language annotations, but its paper states no license. Neither is robot execution data or a confirmed commercial dataset.

Spec comparison

EgoScale vs EgoVerse, attribute by attribute.

AttributeEgoScaleEgoVerse
SourcearXiv paper 2602.16710 and NVIDIA GEAR lab research pagearXiv paper 2604.07607
What it isA research study and two-stage pretraining recipe, not a published downloadable dataset releaseA published egocentric human-demonstration dataset
Total hours20,854 hours of action-labeled egocentric human videoApproximately 1,362 hours
Episodes / tasksMid-training stage covers 344 tabletop tasks; pretraining-stage task count not broken out in the material cited on this siteApproximately 80,000 episodes across 1,965 tasks and 240 scenes
DemonstratorsNot stated in the material cited on this site2,087 unique demonstrators
Capture setupAggregated egocentric video; not documented as a purpose-built, hardware-synchronized capture rigProject Aria Gen 1 glasses for academic labs (EgoVerse-A); custom wearable rigs and a phone-based pipeline for industry partners (EgoVerse-I)
LabelsAction labels derived from off-the-shelf SLAM and hand-pose estimation, applied after capture3D hand pose (21 keypoints per hand) and 6-DoF head pose from visual-inertial SLAM; EgoVerse-I adds fine-grained (1–2 s) language descriptions
Scaling or transfer findingReports a log-linear scaling law between human pretraining data volume and validation loss, correlated with a 54% downstream success-rate improvement on a 22-DoF dexterous handReports that co-training benefits from human data depend on how well that data aligns with the target robot’s task semantics; no published scaling-law curve cited on this site
Embodiment / evaluation22-degree-of-freedom dexterous hand, evaluated against a no-pretraining baselineHuman demonstration data; not evaluated on a specific robot embodiment in the material cited on this site
Stated licenseConfirm the specific release’s terms before commercial use; not a published open license on this siteNot stated in the paper
Every row traces to the source’s own official paper or project page. Where a source does not state a figure, this table says so rather than estimating one.

Spec comparison

What a robot pretraining program needs vs what each covers.

Pretraining needGap in EgoScale / EgoVerseWhat a custom collection adds
A confirmed commercial license for a funded productEgoScale’s release terms are not a published open license on this site; EgoVerse’s paper does not state a license at allA buyer-owned, perpetual, non-exclusive commercial license by default — see /guides/buyer-owned-training-data
Task and environment coverage outside each study’s own scopeEgoScale’s mid-training stage is scoped to 344 tabletop tasks; EgoVerse spans 1,965 tasks and 240 scenes, but as human demonstration data rather than a buyer’s own target tasksA skill spec scoped to the buyer’s own target tasks and environments, proven on a small pilot batch before scaling — see /custom-collection/egocentric-data-collection-pilot
Action or hand-pose labels synchronized to video on a purpose-built rigEgoScale’s labels come from off-the-shelf SLAM and hand-pose estimation applied after capture; EgoVerse documents 3D hand pose and head pose, but as human demonstration data rather than robot execution dataFrame-accurate action segments and manipulation-grade 3D hand pose captured on the rig, as described on /custom-collection/custom-egocentric-dataset
A format that drops into an existing training pipelineNeither source’s material cited on this site states a single standardized delivery formatDelivery in RLDS, LeRobot, WebDataset, HDF5, zarr or Rerun .rrd, matching the pipeline already in use
Data aligned to a specific target robot and taskEgoScale’s own mid-training stage exists precisely because broad human pretraining alone does not align to a target embodiment; EgoVerse’s paper reports the same dependency on alignment for co-training benefitA collection plan scoped to the target embodiment and task — see /guides/robot-pretraining-data
Mapped against this site’s own stated custom-collection coverage, not a new claim about either research effort.

The sources

What is EgoScale?

EgoScale is a research program from NVIDIA’s GEAR lab documented in a paper at arXiv 2602.16710 and on NVIDIA’s own GEAR lab research page at research.nvidia.com/labs/gear/egoscale/. It studies whether pretraining a robot foundation model on large-scale egocentric human video improves downstream manipulation performance, and how that improvement scales with data volume. It is not a downloadable dataset release documented on this site — it is a published research recipe built around a 20,854-hour egocentric video corpus.

See /guides/what-is-nvidia-egoscale for the full single-source explainer, and /compare/egoscale for a side-by-side against a custom, commercially licensed pretraining collection.

The sources

What is EgoVerse?

EgoVerse is described in the paper "EgoVerse: An Egocentric Human Dataset for Robot Learning from Around the World" at arXiv 2604.07607. The paper reports roughly 1,362 hours of egocentric human demonstrations across approximately 80,000 episodes, spanning 1,965 tasks, 240 scenes and 2,087 unique demonstrators, contributed by a consortium of academic labs and industry partners.

The dataset splits into EgoVerse-A, collected under a standardized protocol across participating academic labs using Project Aria Gen 1 glasses for controlled study, and EgoVerse-I, sourced from industry partners using custom wearable rigs and a phone-based pipeline with denser, language-based annotations. See /guides/what-is-egoverse for the full single-dataset explainer.

Side by side

Is each a dataset, a recipe or both?

EgoScale is primarily a research recipe: a two-stage training methodology (broad human pretraining, then a small aligned human-robot mid-training stage) built around a 20,854-hour corpus, studied for what it reveals about scaling behavior rather than released as a standalone downloadable dataset documented on this site. EgoVerse is primarily a dataset: a published collection of roughly 1,362 hours of annotated human demonstrations, intended to be used directly by other researchers.

That distinction matters for how each is used. EgoScale’s value to a buyer is mainly as a citable reference point for how egocentric-video scale affects pretraining loss and downstream task success. EgoVerse’s value is mainly as a source of annotated human-demonstration footage with documented hand-pose and language labels, subject to its own unstated license.

Capture and labels

How is the egocentric video captured and labeled in each?

EgoScale’s paper describes its action labels as derived from off-the-shelf SLAM (for camera trajectory and scene geometry) and hand-pose estimation, applied to aggregated egocentric video rather than captured live on a purpose-built, hardware-synchronized rig.

EgoVerse’s paper documents 3D hand pose using 21 keypoints per hand, paired with a calibrated 6-DoF head pose from visual-inertial SLAM, captured across three different rigs: Project Aria Gen 1 glasses, custom industry wearables, and a phone-based pipeline. EgoVerse-I episodes add fine-grained (1–2 second) language descriptions, active-hand indicators and static-versus-mobile manipulation flags.

Scaling and transfer

What do they report about scale, scaling and transfer to robots?

EgoScale reports a log-linear scaling law between human pretraining data volume and validation loss, and ties that trend to a 54% downstream success-rate improvement on a 22-degree-of-freedom dexterous hand versus no pretraining — a quantitative, measured result tied to a specific evaluation setup.

EgoVerse’s paper does not publish the same kind of scaling-law curve in the material cited on this site. Its stated finding is about transfer rather than scale: co-training benefits from human data depend on how closely that data aligns with the target robot’s own task semantics — a caution that applies to EgoScale’s corpus as much as EgoVerse’s.

Licensing

What licence and availability does each state?

Neither source states a published open commercial license in the material cited on this site. EgoScale’s paper and GEAR lab page do not document a standalone open dataset license for the 20,854-hour corpus — any release terms for the underlying data would need confirming directly with NVIDIA before commercial use. EgoVerse’s arXiv paper does not state a license anywhere in the text this site cites.

For an early-stage robotics team, an unconfirmed or unstated license is a real blocker for a funded product, not a detail to defer. A custom collection closes that gap directly: Firsthand’s default is a buyer-owned, perpetual, non-exclusive commercial license, confirmed in writing before capture begins. See /guides/buyer-owned-training-data for why that distinction matters.

For buyers

What does each mean for a robot data buyer?

EgoScale is most useful as a citable, quantitative reference point for how egocentric-video scale affects pretraining loss and downstream manipulation success — evidence for the general principle that scale helps, measured on one embodiment and task set. EgoVerse is most useful as a reference for task, scene and demonstrator diversity, and for its documented hand-pose and language annotation style, while its lack of a stated license remains an open question for any commercial use.

Neither substitutes for a program’s own coverage plan. Both point toward the same conclusion this site makes throughout its pretraining guides: write a diversity spec across scenes, tasks, objects and people before setting an hour target, using /guides/robot-pretraining-data-diversity-plan as a starting framework.

Custom collection

Where does custom egocentric collection fit alongside either approach?

Custom collection is not a competitor to EgoScale or EgoVerse — it is how a program fills the specific coverage gap that neither a research recipe’s fixed corpus nor a published dataset’s own scope can close for a particular buyer’s tasks and environments. A program might treat EgoScale’s scaling-law result as a benchmark for how scale affects loss, use EgoVerse as a reference for task and demonstrator diversity, and then commission a custom, commercially licensed batch scoped to the exact scenes, tasks and failure cases its own model is missing.

Firsthand delivers custom batches in RLDS, LeRobot, WebDataset, HDF5, zarr and Rerun .rrd, so a custom collection mixes cleanly alongside data referenced from either source at any pipeline stage. See /guides/robot-pretraining-data for how pretraining, mid-training and post-training divide that work, and /custom-collection/pretraining-data-collection for the full engagement model.

Evaluation criteria

Eight things to check on any vendor.

Is the claim stated on the source’s own official page?
Every figure on this page traces to EgoScale’s arXiv paper or NVIDIA GEAR lab page, or to EgoVerse’s arXiv paper. Where a figure is not stated on either official source, this page says so rather than estimating it.
Is it a research recipe or a published dataset?
EgoScale is a research study and two-stage training recipe built around a 20,854-hour corpus, not a downloadable dataset release documented on this site. EgoVerse is a published dataset with per-episode annotations, intended to be used directly.
How were action or hand-pose labels produced?
EgoScale’s paper states its action labels come from off-the-shelf SLAM and hand-pose estimation applied after capture, not a purpose-built synchronized rig. EgoVerse’s paper documents 3D hand pose (21 keypoints per hand) and 6-DoF head pose from visual-inertial SLAM, captured as part of the dataset itself.
Is a license stated, and does it cover commercial use?
Neither source states a published open commercial license in the material cited on this site. EgoScale’s release terms need confirming before commercial use; EgoVerse’s paper does not address licensing at all.
What does each report about scaling or transfer to a specific robot?
EgoScale reports a measured log-linear scaling law tied to a 54% downstream success-rate improvement on one dexterous hand. EgoVerse’s paper reports that co-training benefit depends on alignment between the human data and the target robot’s task semantics — a finding about transfer, not a scaling-law curve.

Red flags

Walk away when you see these.

  • Treating EgoScale’s 20,854-hour figure as a dataset you can download and use directly — it is the corpus size behind a research recipe, not a published dataset release documented on this site.
  • Assuming EgoVerse’s hand-pose and language annotations are action labels usable as-is for policy training without checking the paper’s own annotation definitions first.
  • Training a commercial product on either source without confirming license terms directly — EgoScale’s release terms need confirming, and EgoVerse’s paper states no license at all.
  • Assuming EgoScale’s 54% improvement on a 22-DoF dexterous hand generalizes to a different embodiment without its own aligned mid-training stage.

Scoring template

Score candidates against your skill spec.

Copy this table, weight each criterion for your use case, and score each vendor on the same free or paid sample.

CriterionWeight (1–5)EgoScaleEgoVerse
Is the claim stated on the source’s own official page?———
Is it a research recipe or a published dataset?———
How were action or hand-pose labels produced?———
Is a license stated, and does it cover commercial use?———
What does each report about scaling or transfer to a specific robot?———

FAQ

Common questions.

What is the main difference between EgoScale and EgoVerse?

EgoScale is an NVIDIA research study and two-stage pretraining recipe built around 20,854 hours of action-labeled egocentric human video, documented in arXiv paper 2602.16710. EgoVerse is a published, roughly 1,362-hour human-demonstration dataset with 3D hand pose and language annotations, documented in arXiv paper 2604.07607, but its paper states no license.

How much data does each use?

EgoScale’s paper states 20,854 hours of action-labeled egocentric human video for pretraining, plus a smaller mid-training stage of roughly 50 hours of human video and about 4 hours of robot data across 344 tasks. EgoVerse’s paper states roughly 1,362 hours across approximately 80,000 episodes.

Is EgoScale a downloadable dataset like EgoVerse?

Not in the material cited on this site. EgoScale is a research recipe and scaling-law study built around its 20,854-hour corpus, not a standalone downloadable dataset release documented here. EgoVerse is published as a dataset with per-episode annotations.

How are actions or hand poses labeled in EgoScale vs EgoVerse?

EgoScale’s labels come from off-the-shelf SLAM and hand-pose estimation applied after capture. EgoVerse documents 3D hand pose (21 keypoints per hand) and 6-DoF head pose captured via visual-inertial SLAM as part of the dataset itself, plus language descriptions for its EgoVerse-I component.

Did EgoVerse report a scaling law like EgoScale did?

Not in the source cited on this site. EgoScale reports a quantitative log-linear scaling law tied to a 54% downstream success-rate improvement on a 22-DoF dexterous hand. EgoVerse’s paper instead reports that co-training benefit from human data depends on alignment with the target robot’s task semantics, without publishing the same scaling-law methodology.

Does either EgoScale or EgoVerse provide a commercial license?

Neither source’s license terms for commercial training are documented on this site as confirmed. EgoScale’s release terms need confirming directly with NVIDIA, and EgoVerse’s paper does not state a license at all. A program relying on either as a reference point still needs its own commercially licensed data for production training — see /guides/buyer-owned-training-data.

Which should a robot data buyer use, EgoScale or EgoVerse?

They answer different questions. EgoScale offers a citable, quantitative reference for how egocentric-video scale affects pretraining loss and downstream success. EgoVerse offers a reference for task, scene and demonstrator diversity plus documented hand-pose and language annotations, with its license left unstated. Most programs treat both as reference points, then plan their own diversity spec rather than copying either figure as a target.

How do I get a custom pretraining dataset informed by EgoScale or EgoVerse’s approach?

Write a skill spec covering the scenes, tasks, objects and people a corpus is missing, informed by the scaling and alignment findings both sources point toward. See /guides/robot-pretraining-data-diversity-plan for how to turn that into coverage targets, and /custom-collection/pretraining-data-collection for the full engagement model.

Judge it on your own skill spec.

Get the free 40-episode sample pack, or send us your target skills and hours for a scoped quote.