Comparison
EgoScale vs GEN-0: Two Approaches to Robot Pretraining Data
Short answer
EgoScale (NVIDIA GEAR) is a research paper that pretrains on 20,854 hours of action-labeled egocentric human video and reports a log-linear scaling law plus a 54% success-rate gain on a 22-DoF hand. GEN-0 (Generalist AI) is a November 2025 blog announcement stating its model trained on 270,000+ hours, with a stated emphasis on data quality and diversity over raw volume. Both point the same way: composition matters alongside scale.
Spec comparison
EgoScale vs GEN-0, side by side.
Spec comparison
What each approach means for a team buying or commissioning pretraining data.
The question
What is the difference between EgoScale and GEN-0?
EgoScale and GEN-0 are different kinds of sources making different kinds of claims. EgoScale is a peer-reviewed-style research paper from NVIDIA’s GEAR lab (arXiv 2602.16710) that documents a measured log-linear scaling law between egocentric human-video pretraining scale and validation loss, plus a reported downstream result on a real robot. GEN-0 is a company blog announcement from Generalist AI, published November 4, 2025, stating that its robot foundation model trained on more than 270,000 hours of data, with an explicit emphasis on data quality and diversity over raw volume.
Neither is a Firsthand product. Both are treated on this site as public reference points for the same broader argument this site makes throughout its pretraining guides: composition and diversity shape pretraining outcomes alongside — not instead of — scale.
Data
What data does each approach pretrain on?
EgoScale pretrains on 20,854 hours of action-labeled egocentric human video, with action labels produced from off-the-shelf SLAM and hand-pose estimation applied after capture rather than measured on a purpose-built synchronized rig. See /compare/egoscale for the full technical breakdown.
GEN-0’s announcement states its model trained on more than 270,000 hours of data. Generalist AI’s official write-up does not break down the source composition of those hours in the material cited on this site, so this page does not attribute a specific data type, capture method or label source to GEN-0 beyond what the announcement itself states. See /guides/what-is-gen-0 for the full explainer.
Scale
How much data did each use?
EgoScale: 20,854 hours of egocentric human video for pretraining, plus a much smaller mid-training stage of roughly 50 hours of human video and about 4 hours of robot data across 344 tabletop tasks.
GEN-0: more than 270,000 hours, as stated in Generalist AI’s official blog post. That figure is more than an order of magnitude larger than EgoScale’s pretraining corpus, but the two numbers are not measuring the same thing in the same level of published detail — EgoScale’s figure comes with a documented scaling-law methodology, while GEN-0’s comes from a company announcement without the same published depth.
Labels
How are actions labelled in each?
EgoScale’s action labels are produced from off-the-shelf SLAM (for camera trajectory and scene geometry) and hand-pose estimation applied post-hoc to the raw egocentric video — an approach that scales to tens of thousands of hours but is estimated rather than measured directly on a synchronized capture rig.
GEN-0’s announcement does not document its labeling or action-representation approach in the material cited on this site, so this page states that as not stated rather than inferring a method.
Scaling claims
What scaling-law claims does each make?
EgoScale makes a quantitative claim: a log-linear scaling law between egocentric human-video pretraining scale and validation loss, which the paper reports correlating with real downstream robot task performance — measured as a 54% average success-rate improvement on a 22-degree-of-freedom dexterous hand versus no pretraining.
GEN-0 makes a qualitative claim: Generalist AI states directly that data quality and diversity matter more than sheer volume while scaling to 270,000+ hours. That is a stated priority, not a published scaling curve or a benchmark score, and this page does not attribute a quantitative result to GEN-0 beyond what the announcement itself says.
What it means
What do the results say about human video vs robot data?
EgoScale’s recipe is specific on this point: a large human-video pretraining stage, followed by a small aligned mid-training stage using real robot data (about 4 hours across 344 tasks) to close the embodiment gap. See /compare/human-video-vs-robot-data-for-pretraining for the full comparison of that trade-off.
GEN-0’s announcement does not specify a human-video-versus-robot-data split for its 270,000+ hours in the material cited on this site, so this page does not attribute that composition to GEN-0. What both sources agree on, in their own framing, is that composition and diversity matter alongside scale — see /guides/why-dataset-diversity-matters-in-robot-learning.
For buyers
Which approach fits which kind of lab or robot program?
A program that wants a citable, quantitative reference point for how egocentric-video scale affects pretraining loss and downstream success has more to work with in EgoScale’s published methodology and evaluation. A program that wants evidence that a very large model has been trained with data quality and diversity as an explicit priority has GEN-0’s public statement, though without the same level of published detail.
Neither source substitutes for a program’s own coverage plan. Both point toward the same conclusion this site makes throughout its pretraining guides: write a diversity spec across scenes, tasks, objects and people before setting an hour target, using /guides/robot-pretraining-data-diversity-plan as a starting framework.
Getting started
What does this mean if you are buying or commissioning pretraining data?
Treat both EgoScale’s hour figure and GEN-0’s hour figure as reference points for the range of published and announced pretraining scale, not as a target to match. The right size for a specific pretraining, mid-training or fine-tuning order depends on the target model’s architecture and task distribution, and how much of that distribution is already covered — not on matching the most recent public number.
A custom pretraining collection starts with a written skill spec covering the scenes, tasks, objects and people a corpus is missing, quoted before capture begins — often starting with a Spec Pilot, a small first batch that proves the spec before scaling volume. See /custom-collection/pretraining-data-collection for the full engagement model.
Custom collection
How does custom egocentric collection fit alongside either approach?
Custom collection is not a competitor to EgoScale or GEN-0 — it is how a program fills the specific coverage gap neither a research paper’s fixed corpus nor a company’s announced model can close for a particular buyer’s tasks and environments. A program might pretrain broadly using public reference points like EgoScale as a benchmark for scaling behavior, note GEN-0’s public framing on quality and diversity, and then commission a custom, commercially licensed batch scoped to the exact scenes, tasks and failure cases its own model is missing.
Firsthand delivers custom batches in RLDS, LeRobot, WebDataset, HDF5, zarr and Rerun .rrd, so a custom collection mixes cleanly alongside data collected or referenced at any pipeline stage. See /guides/robot-pretraining-data for how pretraining, mid-training and post-training divide that work.
Evaluation criteria
Eight things to check on any vendor.
- Does the claim come from a paper or a blog post?
- EgoScale is a published arXiv paper with a documented methodology and evaluation protocol. GEN-0 is a company blog announcement that states a training-data volume and a qualitative framing without the same depth of published methodology. Both are legitimate primary sources, but they support different levels of scrutiny.
- Is the scaling claim quantitative or qualitative?
- EgoScale reports a measured log-linear scaling law with a reported downstream result (54% success-rate improvement on a 22-DoF hand). GEN-0’s public statement is qualitative — that quality and diversity matter more than sheer volume — without a published benchmark number on this site.
- How were action labels produced?
- EgoScale’s labels come from off-the-shelf SLAM and hand-pose estimation applied after capture. GEN-0’s announcement does not document its labeling approach in the source cited on this site. Neither is documented as captured live on a hardware-synchronized multi-sensor rig.
- What does each source recommend about raw scale?
- Neither treats hour count as the only variable. EgoScale’s scaling law is specific to its own corpus and setup; GEN-0’s announcement states directly that quality and diversity matter more than sheer volume. Both point a buyer toward planning diversity coverage first, not chasing the largest available hour count.
- Is the data commercially licensed?
- Neither source’s license terms are documented on this site as ready for commercial training without confirmation. A program relying on either as a reference point still needs a custom, commercially licensed collection for its own production model — see /guides/buyer-owned-training-data.
Red flags
Walk away when you see these.
- Treating GEN-0’s 270,000+ hour figure as a target to match, rather than a data point about the range of published and announced pretraining scale.
- Assuming GEN-0’s quality-and-diversity framing is backed by the same kind of published scaling-law methodology EgoScale’s paper documents — it is not, on the source cited on this site.
- Comparing EgoScale’s measured 54% result directly against GEN-0 as if the two reported the same kind of benchmark — one is a quantitative paper result, the other a qualitative company statement.
- Assuming either source’s data is ready for commercial training without confirming license terms directly.
Scoring template
Score candidates against your skill spec.
Copy this table, weight each criterion for your use case, and score each vendor on the same free or paid sample.
FAQ
Common questions.
What is the main difference between EgoScale and GEN-0?
EgoScale is a published research paper from NVIDIA GEAR (arXiv 2602.16710) documenting a measured log-linear scaling law on 20,854 hours of egocentric human video. GEN-0 is a company blog announcement from Generalist AI stating its model trained on 270,000+ hours, with a qualitative emphasis on data quality and diversity over raw volume.
How much data did EgoScale and GEN-0 each use?
EgoScale pretrained on 20,854 hours of action-labeled egocentric human video, plus a smaller mid-training stage of roughly 50 hours of human video and about 4 hours of robot data across 344 tasks. GEN-0’s announcement states more than 270,000 hours of data, without a published breakdown of source composition on this site.
Did GEN-0 report a scaling law like EgoScale did?
Not in the source cited on this site. EgoScale reports a quantitative log-linear scaling law with a measured downstream result (54% success-rate improvement on a 22-DoF hand). GEN-0’s announcement states a qualitative priority — that quality and diversity matter more than sheer volume — without publishing the same scaling-law methodology.
How are actions labelled in EgoScale vs GEN-0?
EgoScale’s labels come from off-the-shelf SLAM and hand-pose estimation applied after capture. GEN-0’s labeling or action-representation approach is not documented in the announcement cited on this site.
Is GEN-0’s 270,000-hour figure comparable to EgoScale’s 20,854 hours?
They are both stated hour figures for pretraining-scale data, but they come with very different levels of published detail. EgoScale’s figure is documented in a peer-reviewed-style paper with a scaling-law methodology and evaluation protocol; GEN-0’s figure comes from a company blog post without the same published depth.
Which is better for pretraining, EgoScale or GEN-0?
They are not directly interchangeable evidence for the same claim. EgoScale offers a citable, quantitative reference for how egocentric-video scale affects pretraining loss and downstream success. GEN-0 offers a public statement that a very large model was trained with quality and diversity as an explicit priority, without the same published methodology. Most programs use both as reference points, then plan their own diversity spec rather than copying either figure as a target.
Does either EgoScale or GEN-0 provide commercially licensed data?
Neither source’s license terms for commercial training are documented on this site as confirmed. A program relying on either as a reference point still needs its own commercially licensed data for production training — see /guides/buyer-owned-training-data.
How do I get a custom pretraining dataset informed by EgoScale or GEN-0’s approach?
Write a skill spec covering the scenes, tasks, objects and people a corpus is missing, informed by the diversity-over-volume principle both sources point toward. See /guides/robot-pretraining-data-diversity-plan for how to turn that into coverage targets, and /custom-collection/pretraining-data-collection for the full engagement model.
Last reviewed: 2026-09-29
Sources
- EgoScale paper (arXiv 2602.16710)
- EgoScale — NVIDIA GEAR Lab
- GEN-0 announcement — Generalist AI
- What is NVIDIA EgoScale? — guide
- What is GEN-0? — guide
- EgoScale — full comparison
- EgoScale vs HumanScale
- Human video vs robot data for pretraining
- Robot pretraining data — guide
- Pretraining data collection for robot foundation models
- EgoScale vs GR00T N1: training data compared
- GEN-0 vs HumanScale
- EgoVerse vs GEN-0: human data vs robot data at scale
Judge it on your own skill spec.
Get the free 40-episode sample pack, or send us your target skills and hours for a scoped quote.