Comparison

GEN-0 vs HumanScale: Robot Data vs Human Data at Scale

Two published reports on scaling robot pretraining data: a company blog post describing an in-house robotics dataset, and an arXiv paper comparing egocentric human video with real-robot data.

Short answer

GEN-0 (Generalist AI blog) describes pretraining on over 270,000 hours of real-world manipulation data from an in-house robotics dataset, with a power-law link between pretraining data and downstream performance. HumanScale (arXiv 2606.20521) compares 5,000 hours of egocentric human video against 5,000 hours of real-robot data and reports the human video generalizing better on unseen tasks.

Spec comparison

GEN-0 vs HumanScale, attribute by attribute, using only what each source states.

AttributeGEN-0 (Generalist AI blog post)HumanScale (arXiv 2606.20521)
Source typeCompany blog post (Generalist AI Blog, November 2025)arXiv paper; listed affiliations include PKU, NUS, MIT, UCSB and NVIDIA
What it presentsA class of embodied foundation models, with scaling experimentsA controlled comparison of egocentric human video and teleoperated real-robot trajectories as pretraining sources
Data typeAn in-house robotics dataset of real-world manipulation data; the post refers to “robot data operations”. Split by capture method: not statedEgocentric human video (a 5,000-hour subset of the egocentric portion of HumanNet) against a matched 5,000-hour multi-embodiment real-robot corpus
CaptureA “global network of hardware and 1,000s of data collection devices and robots”; sensor suite and device types not statedHuman video curated from HumanNet (listed as web curation in the paper’s Table 1); robot corpus aggregated from existing datasets
Action labelsNot statedPseudo-action labels from retargeted hand pose for human video; precise poses and gripper states in the robot corpus
Scale reportedOver 270,000 hours; over 10,000 new hours per week5,000 hours per arm, scaled from 100 to 5,000; HumanNet is described as one million hours, over 800,000 egocentric
Scaling findingA power law between pretraining data size and downstream post-training validation error; a phase transition at 7B parametersA log-linear fit of loss against hours, R² 0.86 (Seen) and 0.94 (Unseen), not saturated at 5,000 hours
Real-robot evaluationBlind A/B real-robot tests; 5.6 hours of task data; up to 99% peak success with full pretraining plus 550+ hours of task dataAgiBot bimanual platform, three tasks: 92.5% vs 40.0% in-distribution and 90.0% vs 0.0% out-of-distribution against a baseline with no embodied pretraining
EmbodimentTested on 6DoF, 7DoF and 16+DoF semi-humanoid robotsAgiBot post-training and evaluation; post-training with robot data is said to close the embodiment gap
AvailabilityDataset and model availability not statedCode stated as forthcoming on GitHub (DAGroup-PKU/HumanNet); 5,000-hour subset release not stated

Spec comparison

How the figures in each report should be read.

FigureSourceWhat it measuresWhat it does not show
270,000+ hoursGEN-0 postSize of the in-house pretraining datasetA scaling result by itself, or the split between robot and other capture methods
Power law in pretraining dataGEN-0 postHow downstream post-training validation error falls as pretraining data grows, across 16 post-training task setsA threshold for any other team’s model or tasks
5,000 hours vs 5,000 hoursHumanScale paperMatched pretraining hours, with post-training and evaluation held fixedMatched trajectories: in the 100-hour recipe, roughly 45,000 human-video trajectories against about 8,000 robot ones
92.5% and 90.0% successHumanScale paperReal-robot success of the egocentric-pretrained model on three AgiBot tasksA head-to-head against robot-pretrained policies: the real-robot baseline is a model with no embodied pretraining
What each headline number measures, and what it does not show, based only on the two sources.

Spec comparison

Pretraining data needs and what each source, and custom egocentric collection, addresses.

Data need in robot pretrainingWhat GEN-0 and HumanScale describeWhat custom egocentric collection covers
Diversity across scenes, tasks and objectsGEN-0: quality and diversity matter more than sheer volume. HumanScale: egocentric video is more diverse than robot data at matched durationA written skill spec naming the scenes, tasks, objects and people a corpus lacks
Action supervisionGEN-0: label methods not stated. HumanScale: pseudo-action labels from retargeted hand poseHead and wrist views on one PTP clock, 21-joint 3D hand pose with per-joint visibility flags, and action segments
Embodiment alignmentGEN-0: cross-embodiment by design. HumanScale: a little labeled robot data adapts the human-video priorNot covered: Firsthand captures human first-person video, not robot teleoperation data
Rights to train and shipLicence terms: not statedA perpetual, irrevocable, worldwide, buyer-owned licence, non-exclusive by default, with a written release per participant
Delivery formatNot stated by either sourceRLDS, LeRobot, WebDataset, HDF5, zarr and Rerun .rrd
Time to first dataNot applicable to either sourceA Spec Pilot first, then a median of 48 hours from signed spec to first validated batch where coverage is deep, and three to four weeks where it is thin
The right-hand column uses only capabilities this site already states for custom collection.

GEN-0

What is GEN-0?

GEN-0 is introduced in a Generalist AI blog post as a new class of embodied foundation models built for multimodal training directly on raw physical interaction. The post lists several headline claims: a phase transition at 7B parameters, where smaller models stop absorbing new data and larger ones keep improving; scaling laws that link more pretraining data and compute to better downstream post-training performance; an approach called Harmonic Reasoning that interleaves asynchronous streams of sensing and acting tokens; and tests on 6DoF, 7DoF and 16+DoF semi-humanoid robots.

It is a company announcement rather than a peer-reviewed paper. Its figures come from the post’s own charts and text. It does not state whether the models or the dataset are available outside the company, so this page treats availability as not stated.

HumanScale

What is HumanScale?

HumanScale is an arXiv paper, “HumanScale: Egocentric Human Video Can Outperform Real-Robot Data for Embodied Pretraining” (arXiv 2606.20521). It runs a controlled comparison: the same autoregressive world-action model is pretrained on either egocentric human video or teleoperated real-robot data at matched hours, then post-trained on the same set of real-robot tasks, a 15-task, 1,500-trajectory set drawn from AgiBot World, and evaluated on Seen and Unseen splits.

The abstract reports that, with the same amount of pretraining data, models pretrained on egocentric data reach a 24% lower validation loss on real-robot action prediction and 52.5% and 90% higher success rates on in-distribution and out-of-distribution real-robot tasks. The authors describe their results as encouraging but still preliminary.

Data type

What kind of data does each scale: robot data or human data?

GEN-0’s post describes an in-house robotics dataset of more than 270,000 hours of real-world manipulation data and refers to its “robot data operations” and to “1,000s of data collection devices and robots”. It does not say how much of the 270,000 hours is robot teleoperation, how much comes from other devices, or whether any of it is human video.

HumanScale is explicit. Its two pretraining arms are egocentric human video, a 5,000-hour subset of the egocentric portion of HumanNet selected for diversity in objects, skills and environments, and a 5,000-hour multi-embodiment real-robot corpus. The paper frames the choice as which source supplies coverage at scale for pretraining, with post-training handling embodiment alignment, rather than as one modality being intrinsically better.

So the robot-versus-human framing fits HumanScale directly and GEN-0 only loosely. The two are not arms of one experiment: neither source evaluates the other.

Capture

How is the data captured in each?

GEN-0’s post describes the infrastructure around collection more than the collection itself: custom hardware, dataloaders and network infrastructure, including new dedicated internet lines, to carry uplink bandwidth from data collection sites worldwide. It also notes that its pretraining and post-training datasets were collected by different people in different environments, to keep evaluations valid. Sensor suites, camera placement and label methods are not stated.

HumanScale’s human video is curated rather than captured for the study. The paper describes egocentric footage as typically captured passively by an off-the-shelf camera or headset, or harvested from the web, and notes that the remaining difficulty is curation: filtering, deduplication, privacy review and pseudo-action labeling through hand-pose retargeting. Its Table 1 lists HumanNet as web curation. The robot arm of the study is aggregated from existing real-robot datasets.

Scale

How do they compare on scale, and what does each report about scaling?

On scale, GEN-0 reports over 270,000 hours and more than 10,000 new hours per week, and a figure in the post states it is trained on orders of magnitude more real-world manipulation data than some of the largest robotics datasets as of November 2025. HumanScale trains on 5,000 hours per arm, limited by available real-robot data.

On scaling behaviour, GEN-0 reports a power-law relationship between pretraining dataset size, counted in action trajectories, and downstream validation error after post-training, measured across 16 task sets. It gives the form L(D) = (D_c / D)^α and says the fit can estimate how much pretraining data a target error needs. It also reports from large-scale ablations that data quality and diversity matter more than sheer volume.

HumanScale reports that as egocentric pretraining grows from 100 to 5,000 hours, best post-training action loss falls monotonically, from 0.0234 to 0.0204 on unseen tasks, with log-linear fits of R² 0.86 (seen) and 0.94 (unseen). On unseen tasks, real-robot pretraining stays near 0.025 across scales, reaching 0.0254 at 5,000 hours. The axes, models and metrics differ from GEN-0’s, so read the two curves separately.

Transfer

What does each report about transfer to robots, embodiment and evaluation?

GEN-0 reports that scaling trends carry into real-robot performance. In blind A/B evaluations, more pretraining data raised downstream task success for models post-trained on only 5.6 hours (about 1%) of task-specific data, with up to 99% peak success in some cases when large-scale pretraining was paired with all 550+ hours of task data. The post states pretraining and post-training data did not overlap. It says the architecture works across robots and was tested on 6DoF, 7DoF and 16+DoF semi-humanoid robots.

HumanScale evaluates on a single real-robot platform, an AgiBot bimanual robot, across three tasks: placing a cup, sorting fruits and vegetables, and stamping. The egocentric-pretrained model reaches 92.5% in-distribution and 90.0% with unseen objects, against 40.0% and 0.0% for a Wan2.2 baseline with no embodied pretraining. For embodiment, the paper’s position is that egocentric video’s main weakness, the embodiment gap, is what post-training with a smaller amount of kinematically aligned robot data corrects.

Open questions

What does each leave open for robot pretraining?

For GEN-0, the post leaves open how the 270,000 hours were captured and labeled, how they divide by source, what the model and dataset availability is, and what its data-mixture experiments, shown only as anonymized partner and class results, imply for any single capture method.

For HumanScale, the paper itself lists limits. Training is capped at 5,000 hours because real-robot data is limited. Evaluation is mainly on one world-action model built on Wan 2.2, and a parallel study with vision-language-action models is left to future work. Real-robot rollouts use one platform and three tasks, and their baseline has no embodied pretraining. The actions on human video are pseudo-labels from retargeted hand pose, and matching by hours does not match trajectory counts. The paper does not state commercial licence terms for the data in the text read for this page.

Custom collection

Where does custom egocentric collection fit alongside either?

This page is an independent reading of two public documents, and Firsthand is a separate data provider with no role in either result. Custom egocentric collection does not replicate GEN-0’s dataset or HumanScale’s experiment, and it does not provide robot teleoperation data. What it offers is a way to fill the coverage a buyer’s own pretraining or mid-training mix lacks, with human first-person demonstrations captured to the buyer’s own spec.

A collection starts with a written skill spec naming the scenes, tasks, objects and people the corpus is missing, usually proved by a Spec Pilot, a small first batch, before volume scales. Capture uses a head camera and two wrist cameras hardware-triggered on one PTP clock, and batches ship with 21-joint 3D hand pose with per-joint visibility flags and action segments. Each participant signs a written release, and the buyer holds a perpetual, irrevocable, worldwide licence, non-exclusive by default. Formats are RLDS, LeRobot, WebDataset, HDF5, zarr and Rerun .rrd, with a median of 48 hours from signed spec to first validated batch where coverage is deep and three to four weeks where it is thin.

Both sources point to a habit this site recommends: decide which coverage is missing before choosing an hour count. See /guides/robot-pretraining-data and /custom-collection/pretraining-data-collection.

Evaluation criteria

Eight things to check on any vendor.

Is the data type stated, or inferred?
HumanScale states its two arms outright. GEN-0 describes an in-house robotics dataset without splitting its 270,000 hours by capture method, so a robot-versus-human label for it is a reading, not a statement.
What are the axes of the scaling claim?
GEN-0 relates pretraining data, in action trajectories, to post-training validation error. HumanScale relates pretraining hours to post-training validation loss. Different models and metrics mean the curves are not interchangeable.
What is the real-robot baseline?
HumanScale’s real-robot baseline has no embodied pretraining, not robot pretraining. GEN-0 compares models pretrained on different amounts of its own data.
How were action labels produced?
HumanScale uses pseudo-action labels from retargeted hand pose. GEN-0 does not state its label methods.
Is the data available and licensed for commercial use?
Neither source states commercial licence terms. Confirm them in writing before training on any data.

Red flags

Walk away when you see these.

  • Calling GEN-0 a human-data result or HumanScale a robot-data result: the first does not split its hours by capture method, and the second studies both.
  • Plotting the two scaling curves together as if measured the same way; units, models and protocols differ.
  • Quoting HumanScale’s 92.5% and 90.0% as a win over robot-pretrained policies; its real-robot baseline had no embodied pretraining.

Scoring template

Score candidates against your skill spec.

Copy this table, weight each criterion for your use case, and score each vendor on the same free or paid sample.

CriterionWeight (1–5)GEN-0HumanScale
Is the data type stated, or inferred?———
What are the axes of the scaling claim?———
What is the real-robot baseline?———
How were action labels produced?———
Is the data available and licensed for commercial use?———

FAQ

Common questions.

What is the main difference between GEN-0 and HumanScale?

GEN-0 is a Generalist AI blog post about embodied foundation models trained on an in-house robotics dataset of over 270,000 hours. HumanScale is an arXiv paper (2606.20521) comparing egocentric human video with real-robot data at a matched 5,000 hours.

Is GEN-0 robot data and HumanScale human data?

HumanScale studies both. GEN-0’s post describes an in-house robotics dataset and robot data operations but does not split its hours by capture method, so a strict robot-versus-human label is not stated.

What did each report about scaling?

GEN-0 reports a power law between pretraining data size and downstream post-training error, plus a 7B-parameter phase transition. HumanScale reports log-linear loss from 100 to 5,000 hours, with R² of 0.86 (seen) and 0.94 (unseen).

Did either test transfer to real robots?

Yes. GEN-0 reports blind A/B real-robot tests, up to 99% peak success. HumanScale reports 92.5% in-distribution and 90.0% out-of-distribution success on an AgiBot platform, against 40.0% and 0.0% for a baseline with no embodied pretraining.

Do GEN-0 and HumanScale compare themselves to each other?

No. Each reports its own setup and neither evaluates the other. Any side-by-side reading, including this page, compares two separate documents.

Are the GEN-0 or HumanScale datasets available for commercial training?

Neither source states commercial licence terms in the text read here. GEN-0 does not state availability; HumanScale says code will be released on GitHub. Confirm licence terms in writing.

How do I get a custom egocentric pretraining dataset?

Write a skill spec for the scenes, tasks, objects and people your corpus lacks, then start with a Spec Pilot. Batches ship in RLDS, LeRobot, WebDataset, HDF5, zarr or Rerun .rrd under a buyer-owned licence. See /custom-collection/pretraining-data-collection.

Judge it on your own skill spec.

Get the free 40-episode sample pack, or send us your target skills and hours for a scoped quote.