Comparison

EgoScale vs HumanScale: Human Video for Robot Pretraining

Two independent published research lines studying whether scaling egocentric human-video pretraining improves downstream robot policy learning.

Short answer

EgoScale (NVIDIA GEAR, arXiv 2602.16710) is a published paper documenting a log-linear scaling law across 20,854 hours of action-labeled egocentric human video, with a reported 54% task-success gain on a 22-DoF hand. HumanScale (arXiv 2606.20521) is an independent paper studying the same scaling question without publishing specific hour counts or benchmark figures on this site. Together they show human-video scaling is an active, multi-lab research area.

Spec comparison

EgoScale vs HumanScale, side by side.

DimensionEgoScaleHumanScale
Source typeResearch paper (arXiv 2602.16710) from NVIDIA’s GEAR lab, with an accompanying official research pageResearch paper (arXiv 2606.20521), an independent publication studying the same broad research question
Research questionDoes pretraining a robot foundation model on large-scale egocentric human video improve downstream manipulation performance, and how does that improvement scale with data volume?How does scaling human-video pretraining affect robot policy learning — the same broad question, studied independently
Data source and scale20,854 hours of action-labeled egocentric human video for pretraining, plus roughly 50 hours of human video and about 4 hours of robot data across 344 tabletop tasks for mid-trainingNot stated on this site — the paper studies human-video pretraining scaling, but this site does not extract a specific hour count or corpus composition; consult the official paper
Action labelsProduced from off-the-shelf SLAM and hand-pose estimation applied post-hoc to raw video, not captured live on a synchronized rigNot documented on this site — consult the official paper directly for its labeling methodology
Scaling claimQuantitative — a measured log-linear relationship between pretraining data scale and validation loss, reported to correlate with real downstream task successThe paper studies scaling behavior as its subject, but this site does not restate a specific scaling-law formulation or curve for HumanScale beyond that framing
Reported result54% average task-success improvement on a 22-degree-of-freedom dexterous hand vs. no pretrainingNot stated on this site — see the official paper for its reported benchmark results
Role in the research landscapeThe source this site documents in the most published technical depth, including its scaling-law methodology and evaluation protocolA second, independent line of evidence that the same underlying question — does human-video scale help robot pretraining — is being studied across more than one lab

Spec comparison

What EgoScale and HumanScale together mean for a team buying or commissioning pretraining data.

If your situation is…What the two studies supportWhat to ask a provider
Deciding whether human-video pretraining is worth planning around at allTwo independent, separately published research lines reaching the same broad conclusion — that human-video scale affects downstream robot performance — is stronger evidence than either paper alone, because the pattern is not an artifact of one lab’s specific corpus or evaluation choiceCan the provider explain how their collection design reflects published research on what matters for pretraining data, rather than treating hour count alone as the goal?
Sizing a pretraining corpus without a public benchmark number to targetBecause HumanScale’s specific scale is not published on this site, a buyer should not try to match either paper’s number as a target. EgoScale’s 20,854-hour figure is a documented reference point for the order of magnitude a scaling study used — not a quotaDoes the provider start from a written diversity spec across scenes, tasks, objects and people, rather than quoting a fixed hour count up front?
Verifying whether action labels are measurable or estimatedEgoScale documents its labels as post-hoc SLAM and hand-pose estimation, not rig-captured. HumanScale’s label methodology is not documented on this site, so neither paper should be assumed to use the same rig-synchronized capture a commercial provider might offerAre action labels captured live on a hardware-synchronized rig, or estimated after the fact — and which does the target model actually need?
Needing commercially licensed data before training a production modelNeither EgoScale’s nor HumanScale’s license terms for commercial use are documented on this site as confirmed — both are research publications, not commercial dataset releasesIs the license perpetual and buyer-owned for commercial use, confirmed up front, rather than a research-only release that needs separate clearance?
Practical implications, using only what each source states on this site plus how this site documents custom collection.

The question

What are EgoScale and HumanScale?

EgoScale and HumanScale are both published research papers studying the same underlying question from independent labs: does pretraining a robot policy on large-scale egocentric human video improve downstream manipulation performance, and how does that improvement scale with data volume? EgoScale comes from NVIDIA’s GEAR lab (arXiv 2602.16710), with an accompanying official research page. HumanScale is a separate publication (arXiv 2606.20521) studying the same broad research question.

Neither is a Firsthand product, and neither is a commercial dataset release. Both are treated on this site as public reference points for an argument this site makes throughout its pretraining guides: human-video scale helps robot pretraining, and that pattern is now supported by more than one independent research line rather than a single lab’s isolated result.

Differences

How do EgoScale and HumanScale differ?

The clearest difference is how much each paper is documented on this site. EgoScale is the source this site cites in the most technical depth — a specific corpus size, a documented label-production method, a two-stage pretraining-then-mid-training recipe, an evaluation platform and a reported benchmark result. HumanScale is referenced consistently at the level of its research question and its role alongside EgoScale, because this site does not extract or restate HumanScale’s specific hour counts, architecture details or benchmark figures.

That asymmetry is a sourcing choice, not a claim that HumanScale’s research is less substantial. A reader who needs HumanScale’s full technical detail should consult arxiv.org/abs/2606.20521 directly. What this page can state with confidence is the structural fact: two independently published papers are studying the same scaling question, which is itself evidence the question is an active area of robotics research.

Data and scale

What data did each use, and at what scale?

EgoScale pretrains on 20,854 hours of action-labeled egocentric human video, then runs a much smaller aligned mid-training stage using roughly 50 hours of human video plus about 4 hours of robot data across 344 tabletop tasks. That split — a large human-video pretraining corpus followed by a small, closely matched robot-aligned stage — is documented in detail at /compare/egoscale.

HumanScale studies human-video pretraining for robot policies, the same broad category of data as EgoScale’s corpus, EgoVerse’s roughly 1,362-hour dataset, and Egocentric-10K’s roughly 10,000-hour dataset. This site does not state a specific hour count, capture setup or label format for HumanScale’s own corpus, because that specific figure is not stated elsewhere on this site. Where this comparison needs concrete numbers, it uses EgoScale’s published figures and notes explicitly where HumanScale’s own numbers are not asserted.

Labels

How were actions or labels obtained?

EgoScale’s action labels are produced from off-the-shelf SLAM (for camera trajectory and scene geometry) and hand-pose estimation applied post-hoc to the raw egocentric video. That approach scales to tens of thousands of hours but is estimated rather than measured directly on a hardware-synchronized capture rig — a tradeoff this site documents in detail at /compare/egoscale.

HumanScale’s label or action-representation methodology is not documented in the material this site cites, so this page states that as not stated rather than inferring a method. A team that needs to know exactly how HumanScale represents actions should read the paper at arxiv.org/abs/2606.20521 directly.

Findings

What did each find about scaling human video?

EgoScale makes a quantitative claim: a log-linear scaling law between egocentric human-video pretraining scale and validation loss, which the paper reports correlating with real downstream robot task performance — measured as a 54% average success-rate improvement on a 22-degree-of-freedom dexterous hand versus no pretraining at all.

HumanScale’s reported contribution, as documented on this site, is framed at the level of its research question and its role alongside EgoScale: a separate published research line specifically studying the scaling behavior of human-video pretraining for robot policies. That two independently published papers, from what this site describes as different labs and different evaluation setups, converge on the broader conclusion that human-video scale matters is itself part of the evidence — it suggests the pattern is not an artifact of one paper’s specific corpus or benchmark choice.

Limits

What are the limits of each study?

EgoScale’s documented limits: its action labels come from post-hoc estimation rather than a synchronized rig, so label precision is bounded by what SLAM and hand-pose estimation can recover under occlusion, fast motion or unusual lighting. Its scaling law describes what happened with its own corpus and evaluation setup — evidence that scale helped in that specific study, not a guarantee every corpus scales identically regardless of diversity or label quality. And commercial usage terms for any EgoScale-related release should be confirmed directly against its published license before relying on it for a commercial model.

HumanScale’s limit, as far as this site can state it, is different in kind: because this site does not extract its specific dataset scale, capture methodology or benchmark results, it cannot state how HumanScale’s exact numbers compare with EgoScale’s, or whether its corpus carries action labels of comparable precision. More broadly, the same structural limitation applies to both: a published research dataset is captured for its own study’s purpose, with its own scene, task and demographic distribution, and is not reshaped after the fact to a specific buyer’s target task set, embodiment or coverage gaps.

For buyers

What do EgoScale and HumanScale mean for buying pretraining data?

Together, EgoScale and HumanScale are evidence that planning a pretraining pipeline around human-video scale — rather than assuming robot-only teleoperated data is the only credible path to a working policy — is a pattern supported by more than one independent research line. Neither paper substitutes for a buyer’s own coverage plan: EgoScale’s 20,854-hour figure and its reported 54% result describe what happened with its own evaluation setup, and HumanScale’s specific figures are not published on this site at all.

The practical takeaway this site repeats throughout its pretraining guides applies here too: write a diversity spec across scenes, tasks, objects and people before setting an hour target, using /guides/robot-pretraining-data-diversity-plan as a starting framework. A provider’s ability to show how its collection design maps to that spec — not a quoted hour count alone — is what distinguishes a pretraining order that fills a real coverage gap from one that simply adds volume.

Custom collection

How do you turn these findings into a custom collection spec?

A custom pretraining collection starts with a written skill spec naming the scenes, tasks, objects and people a corpus is missing — informed by what both EgoScale and HumanScale point toward (human-video scale helps pretraining) without copying either paper’s own scene mix, task distribution or label format, which were built for that paper’s own study rather than a specific buyer’s model. The spec is quoted before capture begins, often starting with a Spec Pilot, a small first batch scored against the spec before scaling to full volume.

Firsthand delivers custom batches in RLDS, LeRobot, WebDataset, HDF5, zarr and Rerun .rrd, so a custom collection mixes cleanly alongside data collected or referenced at any pipeline stage — whether a program is pretraining broadly using EgoScale and HumanScale as public reference points for scaling behavior, or aligning a broad prior to one target robot with a small mid-training batch, the same structure EgoScale’s own recipe uses. See /custom-collection/pretraining-data-collection for the full engagement model and /guides/robot-pretraining-data for how pretraining, mid-training and post-training divide that work.

Evaluation criteria

Eight things to check on any vendor.

Does the claim come from a published methodology or a general framing?
EgoScale’s page on this site documents a full methodology: corpus size, label source, mid-training recipe, evaluation platform and a reported result. HumanScale is referenced on this site only at the level of its research question and its role alongside EgoScale, because this site does not extract its specific figures.
Is the scaling claim quantitative or described only in general terms?
EgoScale reports a measured log-linear relationship between pretraining scale and validation loss, correlated with a specific downstream result. HumanScale is documented on this site as studying the same scaling question, without this site restating a specific scaling-law curve or figure for it.
How were action labels produced?
EgoScale’s labels come from off-the-shelf SLAM and hand-pose estimation applied after capture. HumanScale’s labeling approach is not documented on this site — readers who need that detail should consult the paper directly.
Does either source settle how large a pretraining corpus should be?
No. Each paper reports what happened with its own corpus and evaluation setup. Two independent studies pointing the same direction is evidence that human-video scale matters generally, not a target hour count for any specific buyer’s model.
Is the data commercially licensed?
Neither source’s license terms are documented on this site as ready for commercial training without confirmation. A program relying on either as a reference point still needs a custom, commercially licensed collection for its own production model — see /guides/buyer-owned-training-data.

Red flags

Walk away when you see these.

  • Treating EgoScale’s 20,854-hour figure as a number HumanScale also reports — this site does not state a comparable hour count for HumanScale.
  • Assuming HumanScale’s findings are weaker than EgoScale’s because this site documents fewer specifics — the asymmetry reflects what this site has extracted and verified, not a judgment on either paper’s rigor.
  • Citing a HumanScale benchmark number, architecture detail, or scaling curve that is not stated on this site, rather than linking the paper directly.
  • Assuming either paper’s data is ready for commercial training without confirming license terms directly against the publication.

Scoring template

Score candidates against your skill spec.

Copy this table, weight each criterion for your use case, and score each vendor on the same free or paid sample.

CriterionWeight (1–5)EgoScaleHumanScale
Does the claim come from a published methodology or a general framing?———
Is the scaling claim quantitative or described only in general terms?———
How were action labels produced?———
Does either source settle how large a pretraining corpus should be?———
Is the data commercially licensed?———

FAQ

Common questions.

What is the main difference between EgoScale and HumanScale?

EgoScale is a published research paper from NVIDIA GEAR (arXiv 2602.16710) documenting a measured log-linear scaling law on 20,854 hours of egocentric human video, with a reported 54% task-success gain. HumanScale (arXiv 2606.20521) is an independent paper studying the same scaling question; this site does not state specific hour counts or benchmark figures for HumanScale and directs readers to the paper for that detail.

How much data did EgoScale and HumanScale each use?

EgoScale pretrained on 20,854 hours of action-labeled egocentric human video, plus a smaller mid-training stage of roughly 50 hours of human video and about 4 hours of robot data across 344 tasks. HumanScale’s own dataset scale is not stated on this site — consult arxiv.org/abs/2606.20521 directly.

Did HumanScale report a scaling law like EgoScale did?

HumanScale studies the scaling behavior of human-video pretraining for robot policies, but this site does not restate a specific scaling-law formulation, curve or benchmark result for HumanScale, since those specifics are not documented elsewhere on this site. EgoScale’s log-linear scaling law and 54% success-rate result are documented in detail at /compare/egoscale.

How are actions labelled in EgoScale vs HumanScale?

EgoScale’s labels come from off-the-shelf SLAM and hand-pose estimation applied after capture, not a synchronized rig. HumanScale’s labeling or action-representation approach is not documented in the material cited on this site.

Is EgoScale’s 20,854-hour figure comparable to HumanScale’s dataset?

Not in a way this site can state directly — HumanScale’s own hour count is not published here. EgoScale’s figure comes with a documented scaling-law methodology and evaluation protocol; HumanScale is referenced as a second, independent research line studying the same question without this site restating its specific numbers.

Which is more useful for planning pretraining data, EgoScale or HumanScale?

EgoScale offers the more detailed, citable reference point on this site: a documented corpus size, labeling method, two-stage recipe and reported result. HumanScale adds independent evidence that the same scaling question is being studied across more than one lab, which strengthens the general case for planning around human-video scale, even without its own specific figures documented here.

Does either EgoScale or HumanScale provide commercially licensed data?

Neither source’s license terms for commercial training are documented on this site as confirmed. A program relying on either as a reference point still needs its own commercially licensed data for production training — see /guides/buyer-owned-training-data.

How do I get a custom pretraining dataset informed by EgoScale and HumanScale’s findings?

Write a skill spec covering the scenes, tasks, objects and people a corpus is missing, informed by the pattern both papers point toward — that human-video scale helps pretraining. See /guides/robot-pretraining-data-diversity-plan for turning that into coverage targets, and /custom-collection/pretraining-data-collection for the full engagement model.

Judge it on your own skill spec.

Get the free 40-episode sample pack, or send us your target skills and hours for a scoped quote.