Comparison

Figure Project Go-Big vs GEN-0

A humanoid navigation result learned from egocentric human video vs a foundation model pretrained on in-house robot manipulation data.

Short answer

Figure’s Project Go-Big and Generalist’s GEN-0 take opposite routes to robot pretraining data. Figure reports a Helix navigation result from 100% egocentric human video, with no robot demonstrations and no hour count. Generalist reports pretraining on over 270,000 hours of in-house robot manipulation data and says quality and diversity matter more than sheer volume.

Spec comparison

Figure Project Go-Big vs GEN-0, as each source states it.

DimensionFigure Project Go-BigGEN-0
Source typeCompany blog announcement from Figure, September 18, 2025Company blog post from Generalist AI, cited as November 2025
ModelHelix, Figure’s Vision-Language-Action (VLA) model for generalist humanoid controlA family of embodied foundation models, described as “a new class of embodied foundation models built for multimodal training directly on high-fidelity raw physical interaction”
Data typeEgocentric human video, collected passively as people do behaviors in real Brookfield homesAn in-house robotics dataset of “real-world diverse manipulation data”. The post does not say how much comes from robots rather than other devices, or whether any is human video
Scale statedNo hour count. The post cites property scale: over 100,000 residential units, 500 million square feet of commercial office space and 160 million square feet of logistics spaceOver 270,000 hours, growing at a rate of 10,000 hours a week, from 1,000s of homes, warehouses and workplaces
Capture hardwareNot statedNot described beyond “custom hardware” built for scale and “1,000s of data collection devices and robots”
Robot data in the reported resultNone in the navigation result: “no robot demonstrations whatsoever”Robot manipulation data is the pretraining source; the post says the model was tested on “6DoF, 7DoF, and 16+DoF semi-humanoid robots”
TaskLanguage-commanded navigation of cluttered homes, output as low-level SE(2) velocity commandsPost-training performance on manipulation tasks across 16 task sets
Reported resultZero-shot human-to-robot transfer for navigation, which Figure says is to its knowledge a first for a humanoid learning end-to-end from human video aloneA power-law relationship between pretraining data size and downstream error, and models reaching “up to 99% peak performance in certain cases”
Licence and availabilityNot stated. The post describes Figure building its own datasetNot stated. The dataset is described as in-house, and no way for outside teams to obtain it is described

Spec comparison

What each source means for a humanoid team choosing between human video and robot data.

If your situation is…What the sources suggestWhat to ask a data provider
You want a humanoid to learn from people without staging robot demonstrationsFigure states that a humanoid’s perspective and kinematics mirror a human’s, so everyday egocentric video can transfer. Its reported proof is navigation, not manipulationIs the capture head-worn, so the viewpoint matches the robot’s observation space, and does the spec cover the tasks your robot actually performs?
You already operate robots and can record on themGEN-0 describes pretraining on data from its own robots and devices, with custom hardware and infrastructure built for that scaleWhat hardware, operators and controlled setups does that recording need, and is it practical at your volume?
You want a scaling argument you can plan againstGEN-0 states that more pretraining data and compute consistently and predictably improve downstream post-training performance, and that quality and diversity matter more than sheer volume. Project Go-Big publishes no scaling curveCan the provider plan coverage against a written spec rather than quoting a total hour count?
You need data you can train a commercial model onNeither source states a licence or a way for outside teams to obtain its dataIs the licence written for commercial training, buyer-owned and backed by a documented consent chain?
Practical implications, using only what each source states plus what this site documents about custom collection.

Spec comparison

Where a custom egocentric collection fits next to both.

DimensionProject Go-Big and GEN-0, as statedCustom collection (Firsthand)
Who controls the capture planFigure collects through its own Brookfield partnership for its own Helix model. Generalist collects in-house for its own modelsA written skill spec for your scenes, tasks, objects and people, proven first with a Spec Pilot
ViewpointEgocentric human video for Project Go-Big. GEN-0’s capture rigs are not describedHead-worn, bimanual, whole-body egocentric capture for humanoid pretraining
Sensor sync and depthNot stated for eitherTen synchronized streams on one hardware-triggered clock with a sub-2 ms ceiling, plus metric depth alongside RGB, IMU and pose
Annotation schemaNot stated for eitherFrame-accurate action segments plus manipulation-grade 3D hand pose captured on the rig
LicenceNot stated for eitherPerpetual, buyer-owned commercial licence with a documented consent chain
Delivery formatsNot stated for eitherRLDS, LeRobot, WebDataset, HDF5, zarr and Rerun .rrd
Left column: what each source states. Right column: the custom collection terms already published on this site.

The question

What is the difference between Figure Project Go-Big and GEN-0?

Project Go-Big is a humanoid pretraining data-collection initiative that Figure announced in a company blog post on September 18, 2025. Figure says it is building what it calls the world’s largest and most diverse humanoid pretraining dataset for Helix, accelerated by a partnership with Brookfield. GEN-0 is a family of embodied foundation models announced in a Generalist AI blog post, cited as November 2025, and pretrained on the company’s in-house robotics dataset.

The headline difference is the data. Project Go-Big collects egocentric human video. GEN-0 is pretrained on robot manipulation data from Generalist’s own operations. Neither is a Firsthand product, and Firsthand has no relationship with Figure, Brookfield or Generalist. For the single-source explainers, see /guides/what-is-figure-project-go-big and /guides/what-is-gen-0.

Figure

What does Figure state about Project Go-Big?

Figure states that Project Go-Big is accelerated by a partnership with Brookfield, which it describes as owning over 100,000 residential units worldwide, alongside 500 million square feet of commercial office space and 160 million square feet of logistics space. It says data collection has already begun in Brookfield environments and will continue to scale.

The post reports one result. Figure trained Helix on 100% egocentric human video, collected passively as people do behaviors in real Brookfield homes, with no robot demonstrations, and Helix now responds to commands such as “Walk to the kitchen table” by generating closed-loop navigation control from pixels. Figure says that, to its knowledge, this is the first time a humanoid has learned end-to-end from images and language to low-level SE(2) velocity commands using only human video.

The post does not state an hour count, an episode count, an action-label method, a licence or a benchmark number, so this page does not either.

Generalist

What does Generalist state about GEN-0?

The GEN-0 post calls it “a new class of embodied foundation models built for multimodal training directly on high-fidelity raw physical interaction”, pretrained on “our in-house robotics dataset, which includes over 270,000 hours of real-world diverse manipulation data, growing at a rate of 10,000 hours a week”. It describes the data as collected across diverse activities in 1,000s of homes, warehouses and workplaces worldwide, using 1,000s of data collection devices and robots.

The post states that more pretraining data and compute consistently and predictably improve downstream post-training performance, with a power-law relationship between pretraining data size and downstream error across 16 task sets. It adds that data quality and diversity matter more than sheer volume. It does not describe its capture rigs beyond custom hardware, does not give an annotation schema, and does not state a licence.

Human vs robot

Human video vs robot data for humanoids: which do these sources support?

Each supports its own side, and neither tests the other. Project Go-Big’s reported result is a navigation capability learned with no robot data at all. GEN-0’s reported results come from pretraining on robot manipulation data and then post-training, tested on 6DoF, 7DoF and 16+DoF semi-humanoid robots. Neither post compares human video with robot data on the same task.

The trade-off is the one /compare/human-video-vs-robot-data-for-pretraining describes. Robot data is recorded on the target embodiment but needs hardware and operators, and the GEN-0 post describes custom hardware and infrastructure built for its scale. Human video avoids that cost, and Figure argues a humanoid’s perspective and kinematics mirror a human’s, so it can transfer. Read the two as independent evidence for different routes, not as a head-to-head result.

Task and result

Are the two reported results comparable?

No. Figure’s result is zero-shot navigation from human video alone. GEN-0’s results concern post-training performance on manipulation task sets, including real-robot runs where models post-trained on 5.6 hours of task-specific data improved with more pretraining. Different tasks, different embodiments and different evaluation setups mean the navigation result and the 99% peak figure answer different questions.

Scale

How do the stated scales compare?

GEN-0 states over 270,000 hours of manipulation data. Project Go-Big states property access, not hours. Treat them as different units. Property scale describes how many real spaces a partnership opens up, while an hour count describes how much recorded data exists. A buyer should not convert one into the other, and neither is a target for a custom collection.

Both posts point the same way on diversity. GEN-0 states quality and diversity matter more than sheer volume. Project Go-Big frames diversity of real-world spaces as its goal. A pretraining plan should start from your robot’s coverage gaps. See /guides/why-dataset-diversity-matters-in-robot-learning.

Custom collection

Where does custom egocentric collection fit alongside both?

Project Go-Big is Figure’s own initiative for Figure’s own model, built on a property partnership specific to Figure and Brookfield. GEN-0’s dataset is in-house, and the post describes no way for outside teams to obtain it. A team that needs data scoped to its own robot, tasks and environments has to source it separately.

A custom collection starts with a written skill spec covering the scenes, tasks, objects and people a corpus is missing, proven with a fast, on-demand Spec Pilot before volume scales. Capture is head-worn, bimanual and whole-body for humanoid pretraining, delivered under a perpetual, buyer-owned commercial licence with a documented consent chain, in RLDS, LeRobot, WebDataset, HDF5, zarr and Rerun .rrd. See /custom-collection/humanoid-pretraining-data and /custom-collection/pretraining-data-collection.

For buyers

What should you ask for when buying humanoid pretraining data?

Ask what the data is (human video or robot data), how action labels were produced, whether the viewpoint matches your robot, whether sensor streams are synchronized, how coverage was planned against a spec, and whether the licence permits commercial training with documented consent. Neither post answers those for outside buyers. See /guides/robot-pretraining-data-diversity-plan.

Evaluation criteria

Eight things to check on any vendor.

Is the data human video or robot data?
Figure states its navigation result used 100% egocentric human video and no robot demonstrations. GEN-0’s post describes manipulation data from its own robots and devices, and does not say whether any of it is human video. The two sit on opposite sides of the human-video vs robot-data question.
Is the scale stated in hours?
GEN-0 states over 270,000 hours. Figure states property scale, not a dataset size, and publishes no hour count. A buyer should not infer an hour figure for Project Go-Big, or read the two numbers as the same unit.
Is the reported result about the same task?
Figure reports a navigation result for Helix. GEN-0 reports post-training results on manipulation task sets. The two are not benchmarks of the same capability, so neither can be read against the other.
Is the claim from a paper or a blog post?
Both are company blog posts, not peer-reviewed papers. Each states a data approach and reported results without the full methodology a paper would carry, so both deserve the same level of scrutiny.
Can an outside team license the data?
Neither source states a licence or an availability path for outside teams. A program that needs commercially usable data still needs its own collection, scoped to its robot and tasks.

Red flags

Walk away when you see these.

  • Treating Project Go-Big as a published dataset size. Figure’s post names no hour count.
  • Comparing GEN-0’s 270,000+ hours with Project Go-Big as if both counted the same thing. One is robot manipulation hours, the other states no hours at all.
  • Assuming GEN-0 used human video. The post does not say so.
  • Reading Figure’s navigation result as evidence that human video alone is enough for dexterous manipulation. The post does not claim that.
  • Assuming either source’s data is available for commercial training without a stated licence.

Scoring template

Score candidates against your skill spec.

Copy this table, weight each criterion for your use case, and score each vendor on the same free or paid sample.

CriterionWeight (1–5)Figure Project Go-BigGEN-0
Is the data human video or robot data?———
Is the scale stated in hours?———
Is the reported result about the same task?———
Is the claim from a paper or a blog post?———
Can an outside team license the data?———

FAQ

Common questions.

What is the main difference between Figure Project Go-Big and GEN-0?

Project Go-Big is a Figure announcement about collecting egocentric human video with Brookfield to pretrain Helix, with a reported navigation result from human video alone. GEN-0 is a Generalist AI model family pretrained on over 270,000 hours of in-house robot manipulation data, with a stated emphasis on quality and diversity over sheer volume.

Does GEN-0 use human video like Project Go-Big?

The GEN-0 post describes manipulation data collected with 1,000s of data collection devices and robots. It does not say how much comes from robots rather than other devices, or whether any is human video.

Does Figure state how many hours Project Go-Big has collected?

No. Figure’s post states property scale, over 100,000 residential units plus commercial office and logistics space, and says collection has begun. It does not publish an hour count.

Which is better for humanoids, human video or robot data?

Neither post tests one against the other. Figure reports a navigation result from human video with no robot demonstrations. Generalist reports manipulation results from robot data. The trade-offs are covered in human video vs robot data for pretraining.

Can I license the data from either project?

Neither source states a licence or an availability path for outside teams. Check each publisher directly, and review any licence with counsel before commercial training.

How do I get custom humanoid pretraining data instead?

Write a skill spec for the scenes, tasks, objects and people your model needs, then run a fast, on-demand Spec Pilot against it before scaling. Delivery is under a perpetual, buyer-owned commercial licence. See pretraining data collection for robot foundation models.

Judge it on your own skill spec.

Get the free 40-episode sample pack, or send us your target skills and hours for a scoped quote.