Comparison

Figure Project Go-Big vs EgoScale

A company announcement about humanoid navigation learned from human video vs a research paper on scaling egocentric video for dexterous manipulation.

Short answer

Figure’s Project Go-Big and NVIDIA’s EgoScale both point to egocentric human video as humanoid pretraining data, but they report different things. Figure’s company announcement states a Helix navigation result from 100% human video with no robot demonstrations and no hour count. EgoScale’s paper reports 20,854 hours, a log-linear scaling law and a 54% manipulation gain.

Spec comparison

Figure Project Go-Big vs EgoScale, as each source states it.

DimensionFigure Project Go-BigEgoScale
Source typeCompany blog announcement from Figure, September 18, 2025Research paper (arXiv 2602.16710) with a project page from NVIDIA’s GEAR lab
ModelHelix, Figure’s Vision-Language-Action (VLA) model for generalist humanoid controlA flow-based VLA policy with a VLM backbone and a DiT action expert
Human dataEgocentric human video, collected passively as people do behaviors in real Brookfield homesA mixture of egocentric human activity datasets, the majority in-the-wild recordings across household, industrial, retail and educational settings
Scale statedNo hour count. The post cites property scale: over 100,000 residential units, 500 million square feet of commercial office space and 160 million square feet of logistics space20,854 hours of action-labeled egocentric human video
Action labelsNot statedOff-the-shelf SLAM and hand-pose estimation, which the paper describes as noisy because collection is unconstrained
Robot data in the resultNone in the reported navigation result: "no robot demonstrations whatsoever"A small aligned mid-training stage: about 50 hours of human data and 4 hours of robot data across 344 tabletop tasks
TaskLanguage-commanded navigation of cluttered homes, output as low-level SE(2) velocity commandsDexterous bimanual tabletop manipulation on a humanoid with 22-DoF hands
Reported resultZero-shot human-to-robot transfer for navigation, which Figure says is to its knowledge a first for a humanoid learning end-to-end from human video aloneA log-linear scaling law and a 54% average success-rate improvement over a no-pretraining baseline
Licence and availabilityNot stated. The post describes Figure building its own datasetNot stated on the paper or project page text reviewed

Spec comparison

What each source means for a humanoid team planning pretraining data.

If your situation is…What the sources suggestWhat to ask a data provider
You need a humanoid to learn from human video without staged robot demonstrationsFigure states that a humanoid’s perspective and kinematics mirror a human’s, so everyday egocentric video can transfer. Its reported proof is navigation, not manipulationIs the capture head-worn, so the viewpoint matches the robot’s observation space, and does the spec cover the tasks your robot actually performs?
You want a citable scaling reference for human videoEgoScale’s paper documents a log-linear relationship between human data scale and validation loss, within the range it measuredCan the provider plan coverage against a written spec rather than quoting a total hour count?
You need dexterous manipulation on a specific robotEgoScale pairs large-scale human pretraining with a small aligned human-robot mid-training stage collected with the same camera configuration as the robotCan the provider run a small, closely matched batch scoped to one embodiment, not only large pretraining orders?
You need data you can train a commercial model onNeither source states a licence or an external availability path for its dataIs the licence written for commercial training, buyer-owned and backed by a documented consent chain?
Practical implications, using only what each source states plus what this site documents about custom collection.

Spec comparison

Where a custom egocentric collection fits next to both.

DimensionProject Go-Big and EgoScale, as statedCustom collection (Firsthand)
Who controls the capture planFigure collects through its own Brookfield partnership for its own Helix model. EgoScale reports its own corpus and setupA written skill spec for your scenes, tasks, objects and people, proven first with a Spec Pilot
ViewpointEgocentric human video in bothHead-worn, bimanual, whole-body egocentric capture for humanoid pretraining
Hand and action signalEgoScale: estimated after capture. Project Go-Big: not statedFrame-accurate action segments plus manipulation-grade 3D hand pose captured on the rig, not estimated after the fact
Sensor sync and depthNot stated for eitherTen synchronized streams on one hardware-triggered clock with a sub-2 ms ceiling, plus metric depth alongside RGB, IMU and pose
LicenceNot stated for eitherPerpetual, buyer-owned commercial licence with a documented consent chain
Delivery formatsNot stated for eitherRLDS, LeRobot, WebDataset, HDF5, zarr and Rerun .rrd
Left column: what each source states. Right column: the custom collection terms already published on this site.

The question

What is the difference between Figure Project Go-Big and EgoScale?

Project Go-Big is a humanoid pretraining data-collection initiative that Figure announced in a company blog post on September 18, 2025. Figure says it is building what it calls the world’s largest and most diverse humanoid pretraining dataset for Helix, accelerated by a partnership with Brookfield. EgoScale is a research paper from NVIDIA’s GEAR lab (arXiv 2602.16710) that trains a VLA on 20,854 hours of action-labeled egocentric human video and reports a log-linear scaling law.

Both treat egocentric human video as a way to pretrain robots. They differ in source type, in the task they report on, and in how much detail they publish. Neither is a Firsthand product, and Firsthand has no relationship with Figure, Brookfield or NVIDIA. For the longer single-source explainers, see /guides/what-is-figure-project-go-big and /guides/what-is-nvidia-egoscale.

Figure

What does Figure state about Project Go-Big?

Figure states that Project Go-Big is accelerated by a partnership with Brookfield, which it describes as owning over 100,000 residential units worldwide, alongside 500 million square feet of commercial office space and 160 million square feet of logistics space. It says data collection has already begun in Brookfield environments and will continue to scale.

The post reports one result. Figure trained Helix on 100% egocentric human video, collected passively as people do behaviors in real Brookfield homes, with no robot demonstrations, and Helix now responds to commands such as "Walk to the kitchen table" by generating closed-loop navigation control from pixels. Figure says that, to its knowledge, this is the first time a humanoid has learned end-to-end from images and language to low-level SE(2) velocity commands using only human video. It also says a single Helix network now outputs both manipulation and navigation commands.

The post does not state an hour count, an episode count, an action-label method, a licence or a benchmark number, so this page does not either.

EgoScale

What does EgoScale state about its data and recipe?

EgoScale pretrains on 20,854 hours of egocentric human video, more than 20 times larger than prior efforts according to the paper. The majority is in-the-wild egocentric recording across household, industrial, retail and educational settings. Action labels come from off-the-shelf SLAM and hand-pose estimation, which the paper says are noisy because collection is unconstrained, while the scale and diversity of the data still provide effective supervision.

The recipe has two stages. Large-scale human pretraining comes first. A lightweight mid-training stage then uses about 50 hours of human data and 4 hours of robot data across 344 tabletop tasks, with human demonstrations collected using the same camera configuration as the robot, matched viewpoints and calibrated intrinsics. The paper reports a 54% average success-rate improvement over a no-pretraining baseline on a 22-DoF dexterous hand.

Task and result

Are the two reported results comparable?

No. Figure’s reported result is a navigation capability learned from human video with no robot data. EgoScale’s reported result is dexterous manipulation, reached with human pretraining plus a small amount of aligned robot data. Different embodiments, different tasks, different evaluation setups and different levels of published detail mean the 54% figure and the navigation result answer different questions.

Read them as two independent pieces of evidence for the same broad idea: human egocentric video carries transferable signal for robots. Neither says how much data your robot needs.

Scaling

What does each source state about scaling?

EgoScale states a log-linear relationship between human data scale and validation loss, and says that loss correlates strongly with real-robot performance. The paper is explicit that it does not extrapolate beyond the range it measured.

Project Go-Big states an intent to scale collection across Brookfield environments and frames diversity of real-world spaces as the goal. It does not publish a scaling curve. For how published scaling claims differ from announcements, see /compare/egoscale and /guides/why-dataset-diversity-matters-in-robot-learning.

Mixture

Where does human video fit in a humanoid pretraining mix?

EgoScale’s structure is the clearer template: broad human-video pretraining first, then a small aligned mid-training dataset closely matched to the target robot. That mirrors the stage split in /guides/robot-pretraining-data. Figure’s post adds that, for navigation, human video alone produced a transfer result, but it presents that as an initial learning result rather than a general recipe.

For the wider trade-off between human video and robot-collected data, see /compare/human-video-vs-robot-data-for-pretraining.

Custom collection

Where does custom egocentric collection fit alongside both?

Project Go-Big is Figure’s own initiative for Figure’s own model, built on a property partnership specific to Figure and Brookfield. EgoScale’s corpus is a fixed research mixture. A team that needs data scoped to its own robot, tasks and environments has to source it separately: a public corpus, a custom collection, or both.

A custom collection starts with a written skill spec covering the scenes, tasks, objects and people a corpus is missing, proven with a fast, on-demand Spec Pilot before volume scales. Capture is head-worn, bimanual and whole-body for humanoid pretraining, delivered under a perpetual, buyer-owned commercial licence with a documented consent chain, in RLDS, LeRobot, WebDataset, HDF5, zarr and Rerun .rrd. See /custom-collection/humanoid-pretraining-data and /custom-collection/pretraining-data-collection.

For buyers

What should you ask for when buying humanoid pretraining data?

Ask how action labels were produced, whether the viewpoint matches your robot, whether sensor streams are synchronized, how coverage was planned against a spec, and whether the licence permits commercial training with documented consent. Neither Project Go-Big nor EgoScale answers those for outside buyers, which is why the checklist in /guides/robot-pretraining-data-diversity-plan starts from your robot’s coverage gaps rather than from either announced scale.

Evaluation criteria

Eight things to check on any vendor.

Is the claim from a paper or a blog post?
EgoScale is an arXiv paper with a documented method and evaluation. Project Go-Big is a company blog announcement that states a partnership, a collection approach and one reported capability without the tables or training detail a paper would carry. Both are primary sources, but they support different levels of scrutiny.
Is the reported result about the same task?
Figure reports a navigation result for Helix. EgoScale reports dexterous manipulation on a 22-DoF hand. The two results are not benchmarks of the same capability, so neither number can be read against the other.
Is the result human-only or human plus robot data?
Figure states its navigation result used 100% egocentric human video and no robot demonstrations. EgoScale states its recipe adds a small aligned human-robot mid-training stage, and says that rather than replacing robot data, large-scale human demonstrations amplify its effectiveness.
Is the scale stated in hours?
EgoScale states 20,854 hours. Figure states property scale, not a dataset size, and publishes no hour count in the post. A buyer should not infer an hour figure for Project Go-Big.
Can an outside team license the data?
Neither source states a licence or an availability path for outside teams. A program that needs commercially usable data still needs its own collection, scoped to its robot and tasks.

Red flags

Walk away when you see these.

  • Treating Project Go-Big as a published dataset size. Figure’s post names no hour count.
  • Reading Figure’s navigation result as evidence that human video alone is enough for dexterous manipulation. The post does not claim that.
  • Reading EgoScale as a human-only recipe. The paper pairs human pretraining with a small aligned mid-training stage that includes robot data.
  • Assuming either source’s data is available for commercial training without a stated licence.

Scoring template

Score candidates against your skill spec.

Copy this table, weight each criterion for your use case, and score each vendor on the same free or paid sample.

CriterionWeight (1–5)Figure Project Go-BigEgoScale
Is the claim from a paper or a blog post?———
Is the reported result about the same task?———
Is the result human-only or human plus robot data?———
Is the scale stated in hours?———
Can an outside team license the data?———

FAQ

Common questions.

What is the main difference between Figure Project Go-Big and EgoScale?

Project Go-Big is a Figure company announcement about collecting egocentric human video with Brookfield to pretrain Helix, with a reported navigation result from human video alone. EgoScale is an NVIDIA research paper that pretrains on 20,854 hours of egocentric human video and reports a log-linear scaling law and a 54% success-rate gain on a dexterous hand.

Does Figure state how many hours Project Go-Big has collected?

No. Figure’s post states property scale, over 100,000 residential units plus commercial office and logistics space, and says collection has begun. It does not publish an hour count.

Did Figure use robot data for the Project Go-Big navigation result?

Figure states the result used 100% egocentric human video and required no robot demonstrations. That statement is about the navigation result specifically.

Does EgoScale use only human data?

No. EgoScale pretrains on human video, then adds a small aligned human-robot mid-training stage of about 50 hours of human data and 4 hours of robot data across 344 tabletop tasks.

Can I license the data from either project?

Neither source states a licence or an availability path for outside teams. Check each publisher directly, and review any licence with counsel before commercial training.

How do I get custom humanoid pretraining data instead?

Write a skill spec for the scenes, tasks, objects and people your model needs, then run a fast, on-demand Spec Pilot against it before scaling. Delivery is under a perpetual, buyer-owned commercial licence. See pretraining data collection for robot foundation models.

Judge it on your own skill spec.

Get the free 40-episode sample pack, or send us your target skills and hours for a scoped quote.