Comparison

Figure Project Go-Big vs HumanScale

A humanoid navigation result learned from egocentric human video vs a paper that compares human video with real-robot data as pretraining sources.

Short answer

Figure’s Project Go-Big reports a Helix navigation result learned from 100% egocentric human video, with no robot demonstrations and no hour count. HumanScale is a research paper that directly compares egocentric human video with teleoperated real-robot data as pretraining sources, reporting, at equal pretraining data, a 24% lower validation loss and higher real-robot success for human video.

Spec comparison

Figure Project Go-Big vs HumanScale, as each source states it.

DimensionFigure Project Go-BigHumanScale
Source typeCompany blog announcement from Figure, September 18, 2025Research paper on arXiv, identifier 2606.20521
Question addressedWhether Helix can learn to navigate homes from egocentric human video aloneWhether egocentric human video is as good as teleoperated real-robot data for embodied pretraining. The paper says it is “not merely a viable substitute for model pretraining but can lead to superior performance”
Data typeEgocentric human video, collected passively as people do behaviors in real Brookfield homesEgocentric human video “processed through a carefully designed filtering and labeling pipeline”, compared against teleoperated real-robot trajectories
Robot data in the reported resultNone: “no robot demonstrations whatsoever”Teleoperated real-robot trajectories are the comparison arm. The paper’s recommended paradigm then adapts with “a small amount of labeled real-robot data for action-space alignment”
Comparison designNo human-video vs robot-data comparison reportedA systematic study under fixed post-training and validation protocols, with the same amount of pretraining data in both arms
Scale statedNo hour count. The post cites property scale: over 100,000 residential units, 500 million square feet of commercial office space and 160 million square feet of logistics spaceEqual pretraining data in both arms. An hour count is not stated in the abstract on the paper’s arXiv page
Reported resultZero-shot human-to-robot transfer for navigation, which Figure says is to its knowledge a first for a humanoid learning end-to-end from human video alone24% lower validation loss on real-robot action prediction, and 52.5% and 90% higher success rates on in-distribution and out-of-distribution real-robot task execution
Capture hardwareNot statedNot stated in the abstract
Licence and availabilityNot stated. The post describes Figure building its own datasetNot stated in the abstract. It is a research paper, not a commercial dataset release

Spec comparison

What each source means for a humanoid team weighing human video against robot data.

If your situation is…What the sources suggestWhat to ask a data provider
You want evidence that human video can stand in for robot data in pretrainingHumanScale reports a controlled comparison in which egocentric human video outperformed teleoperated real-robot data at the same amount of pretraining data. Project Go-Big reports a result with no robot data but runs no comparisonHow are clips filtered and labeled, and can that pipeline be applied to the scenes and tasks in your spec?
You want a humanoid to learn navigation from peopleFigure states a humanoid’s perspective and kinematics mirror a human’s, and reports closed-loop navigation from pixels learned from human video aloneIs the capture head-worn, so the viewpoint matches the robot’s observation space?
You still plan to use some robot dataHumanScale’s stated paradigm is to pretrain on egocentric human video, then adapt with a small amount of labeled real-robot data for action-space alignmentHow much robot data does alignment need for your embodiment? That is set per program, not by either source
You need data you can train a commercial model onNeither source states a licence or a way for outside teams to obtain its dataIs the licence written for commercial training, buyer-owned and backed by a documented consent chain?
Practical implications, using only what each source states plus what this site documents about custom collection.

Spec comparison

Where a custom egocentric collection fits next to both.

DimensionProject Go-Big and HumanScale, as statedCustom collection (Firsthand)
Who controls the capture planFigure collects through its own Brookfield partnership for its own Helix model. HumanScale is a study, not a collection serviceA written skill spec for your scenes, tasks, objects and people, proven first with a Spec Pilot
ViewpointEgocentric human video in bothHead-worn, bimanual, whole-body egocentric capture for humanoid pretraining
Annotation schemaNot stated for Project Go-Big. HumanScale states a filtering and labeling pipeline, with details in the paperFrame-accurate action segments plus manipulation-grade 3D hand pose captured on the rig
Sensor sync and depthNot stated for eitherTen synchronized streams on one hardware-triggered clock with a sub-2 ms ceiling, plus metric depth alongside RGB, IMU and pose
LicenceNot stated for eitherPerpetual, buyer-owned commercial licence with a documented consent chain
Delivery formatsNot stated for eitherRLDS, LeRobot, WebDataset, HDF5, zarr and Rerun .rrd
Left column: what each source states. Right column: the custom collection terms already published on this site.

The question

What is the difference between Figure Project Go-Big and HumanScale?

Project Go-Big is a humanoid pretraining data-collection initiative that Figure announced in a company blog post on September 18, 2025. Figure says it is building what it calls the world’s largest and most diverse humanoid pretraining dataset for Helix, accelerated by a partnership with Brookfield. HumanScale is a research paper on arXiv, titled “HumanScale: Egocentric Human Video Can Outperform Real-Robot Data for Embodied Pretraining”.

Both put egocentric human video at the centre of pretraining. The difference is the evidence. Project Go-Big reports one navigation result and no comparison. HumanScale is built as a comparison, human video against teleoperated real-robot data. Neither is a Firsthand product, and Firsthand has no relationship with Figure, Brookfield or the HumanScale authors. For the single-source explainers, see /guides/what-is-figure-project-go-big and /guides/what-is-humanscale.

Figure

What does Figure state about Project Go-Big?

Figure states that Project Go-Big is accelerated by a partnership with Brookfield, which it describes as owning over 100,000 residential units worldwide, alongside 500 million square feet of commercial office space and 160 million square feet of logistics space. It says data collection has already begun in Brookfield environments and will continue to scale.

The post reports one result. Figure trained Helix on 100% egocentric human video, collected passively as people do behaviors in real Brookfield homes, with no robot demonstrations, and Helix now responds to commands such as “Walk to the kitchen table” by generating closed-loop navigation control from pixels. Figure says that, to its knowledge, this is the first time a humanoid has learned end-to-end from images and language to low-level SE(2) velocity commands using only human video.

The post does not state an hour count, an episode count, an action-label method, a licence or a benchmark number, so this page does not either.

HumanScale

What does the HumanScale paper state?

The abstract on the paper’s arXiv page frames the problem this way: teleoperated real-robot trajectories remain the dominant pretraining source for embodied foundation models because of their precise action supervision and embodiment alignment, but their scalability is limited by collection cost, acquisition difficulty and low behavioral and environmental diversity. Egocentric human video is a scalable, lower-cost and more diverse alternative, and the paper says its effectiveness against teleoperated data was underexplored.

To test it, the authors run a systematic study comparing the two as pretraining sources under fixed post-training and validation protocols. They report that egocentric data, when processed through a carefully designed filtering and labeling pipeline, can lead to superior performance. With the same amount of pretraining data, models pretrained on egocentric data achieved a 24% lower validation loss on real-robot action prediction, and 52.5% and 90% higher success rates on in-distribution and out-of-distribution real-robot task execution.

Other pages on this site describe HumanScale at the level of its research question. The figures here come from the abstract on the paper’s arXiv page, which is the official source. This page does not state a corpus size, capture rig, filtering method or licence for HumanScale, because the abstract does not. The paper itself is the place to read those.

Human vs robot

Human video vs robot data for humanoids: which do these sources support?

Both lean toward human video, with very different strength of evidence. Project Go-Big’s result shows a navigation capability can be learned with no robot data at all, but it runs no robot-data arm, so it cannot say which is better. HumanScale is the source that tests the question directly, and in its reported setup human video came out ahead at equal pretraining data.

HumanScale does not argue for dropping robot data entirely. Its stated paradigm is to pretrain on egocentric human video to learn diverse world representations, then adapt with a small amount of labeled real-robot data for action-space alignment. That matches the trade-off described in /compare/human-video-vs-robot-data-for-pretraining: human video scales on a worn rig and a participant, while robot data aligns a policy to one embodiment.

Task and result

Are the two reported results comparable?

No. Figure’s result is zero-shot, language-commanded navigation of homes from human video alone, output as low-level SE(2) velocity commands. HumanScale’s results are validation loss on real-robot action prediction and success rates on real-robot task execution, in a study built around a controlled comparison. Different tasks, different measurements and different evaluation setups mean the navigation result and the paper’s percentages answer different questions.

What they share is direction, not size. Reading Project Go-Big as confirming HumanScale’s percentages, or HumanScale as confirming Figure’s navigation claim, goes beyond what either source states.

Labels

Why does the labeling pipeline matter in the HumanScale result?

The abstract attributes the result to egocentric data “when processed through a carefully designed filtering and labeling pipeline”. In other words, the reported advantage is a property of processed human video, not of raw footage. Project Go-Big’s post does not state how its video is turned into training signal.

For a buyer, that makes label quality part of the dataset, not an add-on. This site documents what action supervision for human video looks like, wrist-level pose plus articulated hand pose, in /guides/hand-pose-and-wrist-action-labels-for-pretraining. What a given program ships is set in its skill spec.

Scale

How do the stated scales compare?

They do not, because neither source states an hour count in the material this page uses. Project Go-Big states property access, which describes how many real spaces a partnership opens up, not how much recorded data exists. The HumanScale abstract states that both arms used the same amount of pretraining data, which is a design condition rather than a total.

The shared point is diversity. Figure frames diversity of real-world spaces as its goal, and HumanScale cites low behavioral and environmental diversity as a limit of teleoperated data. A pretraining plan should start from your robot’s coverage gaps rather than a headline number. See /guides/why-dataset-diversity-matters-in-robot-learning.

Custom collection

Where does custom egocentric collection fit alongside both?

Project Go-Big is Figure’s own initiative for Figure’s own model, built on a property partnership specific to Figure and Brookfield. HumanScale is a study, and neither source describes a way for outside teams to obtain its data. A team that wants data scoped to its own robot, tasks and environments has to source it separately.

A custom collection starts with a written skill spec covering the scenes, tasks, objects and people a corpus is missing, proven with a fast, on-demand Spec Pilot before volume scales. Capture is head-worn, bimanual and whole-body for humanoid pretraining, delivered under a perpetual, buyer-owned commercial licence with a documented consent chain, in RLDS, LeRobot, WebDataset, HDF5, zarr and Rerun .rrd. See /custom-collection/humanoid-pretraining-data and /custom-collection/pretraining-data-collection.

For buyers

What should you ask for when buying human-video pretraining data?

Ask how clips are filtered and labeled, whether the viewpoint matches your robot, whether sensor streams are synchronized, how coverage was planned against a spec, and whether the licence permits commercial training with documented consent. Also ask how much robot data alignment will need for your embodiment. Neither source answers those for outside buyers. See /guides/robot-pretraining-data-diversity-plan.

Evaluation criteria

Eight things to check on any vendor.

Does the source compare human video with robot data?
HumanScale does: its study compares egocentric human video with teleoperated real-robot trajectories under fixed post-training and validation protocols. Project Go-Big does not. Figure reports a result with no robot demonstrations, but does not run a robot-data arm alongside it.
Is the scale stated in hours?
Figure states property scale and no hour count. The abstract on HumanScale’s arXiv page states equal pretraining data in both arms and no hour count. A buyer should not infer an hour figure for either.
Is the reported result about the same task?
Figure reports closed-loop language-commanded navigation for Helix. HumanScale reports validation loss on real-robot action prediction and success rates on real-robot task execution. They are different measurements, so neither can be read against the other.
Is the claim from a paper or a blog post?
Project Go-Big is a company blog announcement. HumanScale is a research paper on arXiv. A paper carries a methodology that a blog post does not, but both are self-reported and neither replaces your own evaluation on your robot.
Can an outside team license the data?
Neither source states a licence or an availability path for outside teams. A program that needs commercially usable data still needs its own collection, scoped to its robot and tasks.

Red flags

Walk away when you see these.

  • Treating Project Go-Big as a published dataset size. Figure’s post names no hour count.
  • Reading Project Go-Big as evidence that human video beats robot data. Figure reports no robot-data comparison.
  • Quoting HumanScale’s 24%, 52.5% and 90% figures without the condition attached: they are at the same amount of pretraining data, under the paper’s own protocols.
  • Comparing a navigation result with HumanScale’s validation loss and task-success figures as if they measured the same thing.
  • Assuming either source’s data is available for commercial training without a stated licence.

Scoring template

Score candidates against your skill spec.

Copy this table, weight each criterion for your use case, and score each vendor on the same free or paid sample.

CriterionWeight (1–5)Figure Project Go-BigHumanScale
Does the source compare human video with robot data?———
Is the scale stated in hours?———
Is the reported result about the same task?———
Is the claim from a paper or a blog post?———
Can an outside team license the data?———

FAQ

Common questions.

What is the main difference between Figure Project Go-Big and HumanScale?

Project Go-Big is a Figure announcement about collecting egocentric human video with Brookfield to pretrain Helix, with a reported navigation result from human video alone and no comparison. HumanScale is a research paper that directly compares egocentric human video with teleoperated real-robot data as pretraining sources.

What does HumanScale report about human video vs robot data?

Its abstract reports that, with the same amount of pretraining data, models pretrained on egocentric human video achieved a 24% lower validation loss on real-robot action prediction, and 52.5% and 90% higher success rates on in-distribution and out-of-distribution real-robot task execution than models pretrained on teleoperated real-robot data.

Does Project Go-Big show human video beats robot data?

No. Figure reports a navigation result learned from 100% human video with no robot demonstrations, but it does not run a robot-data comparison. HumanScale is the source that tests that question.

Does Figure state how many hours Project Go-Big has collected?

No. Figure’s post states property scale, over 100,000 residential units plus commercial office and logistics space, and says collection has begun. It does not publish an hour count.

Can I license the data from either project?

Neither source states a licence or an availability path for outside teams. Check each publisher directly, and review any licence with counsel before commercial training.

How do I get custom human-video pretraining data instead?

Write a skill spec for the scenes, tasks, objects and people your model needs, then run a fast, on-demand Spec Pilot against it before scaling. Delivery is under a perpetual, buyer-owned commercial licence. See pretraining data collection for robot foundation models.

Judge it on your own skill spec.

Get the free 40-episode sample pack, or send us your target skills and hours for a scoped quote.