Comparison

Egocentric-10K vs EgoScale for Robot Pretraining

A 10,000-hour, Apache 2.0-licensed factory-only dataset vs a 20,854-hour NVIDIA research recipe with post-hoc action labels and an unconfirmed release license.

Short answer

Egocentric-10K is a published, Apache 2.0-licensed, 10,000-hour dataset captured exclusively in real factories, with camera intrinsics but no action labels. EgoScale is an NVIDIA research study and two-stage pretraining recipe built around a 20,854-hour corpus with SLAM- and hand-pose-derived action labels, reporting a log-linear scaling law, but its release terms are not a published open license on this site. Neither is robot execution data.

Spec comparison

Egocentric-10K vs EgoScale, attribute by attribute.

AttributeEgocentric-10KEgoScale
SourceHugging Face dataset card (builddotai)arXiv paper 2602.16710 and NVIDIA GEAR lab research page
What it isA published, downloadable dataset releaseA research study and two-stage pretraining recipe, not a published downloadable dataset release
Total hours10,000 hours20,854 hours of action-labeled egocentric human video
Episodes / clips192,900 video clips, median 180-second lengthMid-training stage covers 344 tabletop tasks; pretraining-stage task count not broken out in the material cited on this site
Scenes / domainSingle domain (factory work) across 85 factory sites; not broken out by task on the cardNot stated in the material cited on this site
DemonstratorsMean 4.68 hours of footage per worker; total worker count not stated on the cardNot stated in the material cited on this site
Capture setupBuild AI Gen 1, a single standardized monocular head-mounted camera for every workerAggregated egocentric video; not documented as a purpose-built, hardware-synchronized capture rig
Resolution / frame rate / field of view1080p at 30 fps, 128° horizontal by 67° vertical field of viewNot stated in the material cited on this site
AnnotationsPer-worker camera intrinsics (calibrated fisheye model); no action or language labels documented on the cardAction labels derived from off-the-shelf SLAM and hand-pose estimation, applied after capture
Scaling or transfer findingNot a scaling-law study; the card does not report a pretraining-loss or downstream-success curveReports a log-linear scaling law between human pretraining data volume and validation loss, correlated with a 54% downstream success-rate improvement on a 22-DoF dexterous hand
File formatWebDataset-structured H.265/MP4 shards, 16.4 TB totalNot stated as a single standardized delivery format in the material cited on this site
Stated licenseApache 2.0Confirm the specific release’s terms before commercial use; not a published open license on this site
Every row traces to the source’s own official page or paper. Where a source does not state a figure, this table says so rather than estimating one.

Spec comparison

What a robot pretraining program needs vs what each covers.

Pretraining needGap in Egocentric-10K / EgoScaleWhat a custom collection adds
A confirmed commercial license for a funded productEgocentric-10K states Apache 2.0, which is permissive; EgoScale’s release terms are not a published open license on this site and would need confirming directlyA buyer-owned, perpetual, non-exclusive commercial license by default — see /guides/buyer-owned-training-data
Task and environment coverage outside a factory floorEgocentric-10K is collected exclusively in factories; EgoScale’s mid-training stage is scoped to 344 tabletop tasks, with its broader pretraining-stage coverage not broken out in the material cited on this siteA skill spec scoped to the buyer’s own target tasks and environments, proven on a small pilot batch before scaling — see /custom-collection/egocentric-data-collection-pilot
Action or hand-pose labels synchronized to video on a purpose-built rigEgocentric-10K’s card documents camera intrinsics only, with no action or hand-pose labels; EgoScale’s labels come from off-the-shelf SLAM and hand-pose estimation applied after capture, not a hardware-synchronized rigFrame-accurate action segments and manipulation-grade 3D hand pose captured on the rig, as described on /custom-collection/custom-egocentric-dataset
A format that drops into an existing training pipelineEgocentric-10K ships as WebDataset shards; EgoScale’s material cited on this site does not state one dataset-wide delivery formatDelivery in RLDS, LeRobot, WebDataset, HDF5, zarr or Rerun .rrd, matching the pipeline already in use
Data aligned to a specific target robot and taskNeither source is robot execution data; EgoScale’s own mid-training stage exists precisely because broad human pretraining alone does not align to a target embodimentA collection plan scoped to the target embodiment and task — see /guides/robot-pretraining-data
Mapped against this site’s own stated custom-collection coverage, not a new claim about either public source.

The sources

What is Egocentric-10K?

Egocentric-10K is a published dataset hosted on Hugging Face by builddotai at huggingface.co/datasets/builddotai/Egocentric-10K. Its dataset card states roughly 10,000 total hours of egocentric video, 1.08 billion frames and 192,900 video clips with a median clip length of 180 seconds, collected exclusively inside real factories across 85 factory sites.

Each clip is captured with a single device the card calls Build AI Gen 1 — a monocular, head-mounted camera recording 1080p video at 30 fps with a 128° horizontal by 67° vertical field of view and no audio track. The card reports a mean of 4.68 hours of footage per worker, structured as WebDataset-format TAR shards, each paired with a per-worker intrinsics.json file carrying calibrated fisheye camera parameters. The card states the dataset is licensed under Apache 2.0. See /guides/what-is-egocentric-10k for the full single-dataset explainer.

The sources

What is EgoScale?

EgoScale is a research program from NVIDIA’s GEAR lab documented in a paper at arXiv 2602.16710 and on NVIDIA’s own GEAR lab research page. It studies whether pretraining a robot foundation model on large-scale egocentric human video improves downstream manipulation performance, and how that improvement scales with data volume. It is not a downloadable dataset release documented on this site — it is a published research recipe built around a 20,854-hour egocentric video corpus.

See /guides/what-is-nvidia-egoscale for the full single-source explainer, and /compare/egoscale for a side-by-side against a custom, commercially licensed pretraining collection.

Side by side

Is each a dataset, a recipe or both?

Egocentric-10K is primarily a dataset: a published collection of roughly 10,000 hours of factory-floor footage with per-worker camera intrinsics, intended to be used directly by other researchers. EgoScale is primarily a research recipe: a two-stage training methodology (broad human pretraining, then a small aligned human-robot mid-training stage) built around a 20,854-hour corpus, studied for what it reveals about scaling behavior rather than released as a standalone downloadable dataset documented on this site.

That distinction matters for how each is used. Egocentric-10K’s value to a buyer is mainly as a large, permissively licensed source of factory-manipulation footage. EgoScale’s value is mainly as a citable reference point for how egocentric-video scale affects pretraining loss and downstream task success.

Capture and labels

How is the egocentric video captured and labeled in each?

Egocentric-10K standardizes on one device — Build AI Gen 1, a monocular head-mounted camera — for every worker, which keeps resolution, frame rate and field of view identical across the whole corpus. Its card documents calibrated per-worker camera intrinsics but no action, hand-pose or language labels.

EgoScale’s paper describes its action labels as derived from off-the-shelf SLAM (for camera trajectory and scene geometry) and hand-pose estimation, applied to aggregated egocentric video rather than captured live on a purpose-built, hardware-synchronized rig.

Scaling and transfer

How do they compare on scale, and what does EgoScale report about scaling and transfer to robots?

On raw hours, EgoScale is the larger corpus at 20,854 hours against Egocentric-10K’s roughly 10,000 hours — about twice as much footage. Egocentric-10K’s card does not report a scaling-law study; it is a description of scale and capture, not a pretraining-loss curve.

EgoScale reports a log-linear scaling law between human pretraining data volume and validation loss, and ties that trend to a 54% downstream success-rate improvement on a 22-degree-of-freedom dexterous hand versus no pretraining — a quantitative, measured result tied to a specific evaluation setup that Egocentric-10K’s card does not attempt to replicate.

Licensing

What licence and availability does each state?

Egocentric-10K’s Hugging Face dataset card states an Apache 2.0 license — a widely used permissive license that allows use, modification and redistribution, including for commercial purposes, subject to the license’s own terms.

EgoScale’s paper and GEAR lab page do not document a standalone open dataset license for the 20,854-hour corpus — any release terms for the underlying data would need confirming directly with NVIDIA before commercial use. For an early-stage robotics team, that is a real blocker for a funded product, not a detail to defer. A custom collection closes that gap directly: Firsthand’s default is a buyer-owned, perpetual, non-exclusive commercial license, confirmed in writing before capture begins. See /guides/buyer-owned-training-data for why that distinction matters.

For buyers

What does each lack for robot pretraining?

Egocentric-10K’s gap is domain breadth and annotation depth. Its card states the footage is collected exclusively inside real factories, so a team pretraining for a household, retail, office or outdoor task has no coverage of that domain in this corpus, and no action or hand-pose labels ship with it. EgoScale’s gap is license certainty and capture precision: its release terms are not a published open license on this site, and its action labels come from post-hoc estimation rather than a purpose-built synchronized rig.

Both sources share one structural limitation for robot learning specifically: neither is robot execution data. EgoScale’s own mid-training stage exists precisely because broad human pretraining alone does not align to a target embodiment — a finding that applies equally to Egocentric-10K’s factory footage.

Custom collection

Where does custom egocentric collection fit alongside either source?

Custom collection is not a competitor to Egocentric-10K or EgoScale — it is how a program fills the specific coverage gap that neither a published dataset’s own scope nor a research recipe’s fixed corpus can close for a particular buyer’s tasks and environments. A program might pretrain broadly on Egocentric-10K’s factory-floor footage, treat EgoScale’s scaling-law result as a benchmark for how scale affects loss, and then commission a custom, commercially licensed batch scoped to the exact scenes, tasks and failure cases its own model is missing.

Firsthand delivers custom batches in RLDS, LeRobot, WebDataset, HDF5, zarr and Rerun .rrd, so a custom collection mixes cleanly alongside data referenced from either source at any pipeline stage. See /guides/robot-pretraining-data for how pretraining, mid-training and post-training divide that work, and /custom-collection/pretraining-data-collection for the full engagement model.

Evaluation criteria

Eight things to check on any vendor.

Is the claim stated on the source’s own official page?
Every figure on this page traces to Egocentric-10K’s Hugging Face dataset card or EgoScale’s arXiv paper and NVIDIA GEAR lab page. Where a figure is not stated on either official source, this page says so rather than estimating it.
Is it a published dataset or a research recipe?
Egocentric-10K is a published dataset with per-worker files, intended to be used directly. EgoScale is a research study and two-stage training recipe built around a 20,854-hour corpus, not a downloadable dataset release documented on this site.
Are action or hand-pose labels included, and how were they produced?
Egocentric-10K’s card documents camera intrinsics only, with no action or hand-pose labels described. EgoScale’s paper states its action labels come from off-the-shelf SLAM and hand-pose estimation, applied to aggregated egocentric video after capture rather than on a purpose-built rig.
Is a license stated, and does it cover commercial use?
Egocentric-10K’s card states an Apache 2.0 license. EgoScale’s paper and GEAR lab page do not document a standalone open dataset license for the 20,854-hour corpus — any release terms would need confirming directly with NVIDIA before commercial use.
What does each report about scale, scaling or transfer to robots?
Egocentric-10K’s card is a description of scale and capture, not a scaling-law study. EgoScale reports a measured log-linear scaling law tied to a 54% downstream success-rate improvement on one dexterous hand.

Red flags

Walk away when you see these.

  • Assuming Egocentric-10K’s factory-only footage transfers to a non-factory target task without its own alignment check.
  • Treating EgoScale’s 20,854-hour figure as a dataset you can download and use directly — it is the corpus size behind a research recipe, not a published dataset release documented on this site.
  • Training a commercial product on either source without confirming license terms directly — EgoScale’s release terms need confirming, even though Egocentric-10K states Apache 2.0.
  • Assuming EgoScale’s 54% improvement on a 22-DoF dexterous hand generalizes to a different embodiment without its own aligned mid-training stage.

Scoring template

Score candidates against your skill spec.

Copy this table, weight each criterion for your use case, and score each vendor on the same free or paid sample.

CriterionWeight (1–5)Egocentric-10KEgoScale
Is the claim stated on the source’s own official page?———
Is it a published dataset or a research recipe?———
Are action or hand-pose labels included, and how were they produced?———
Is a license stated, and does it cover commercial use?———
What does each report about scale, scaling or transfer to robots?———

FAQ

Common questions.

What is the main difference between Egocentric-10K and EgoScale?

Egocentric-10K is a published, Apache 2.0-licensed, 10,000-hour Hugging Face dataset collected exclusively in real factories, with camera intrinsics but no action labels. EgoScale is an NVIDIA research study and two-stage pretraining recipe built around a 20,854-hour corpus with SLAM- and hand-pose-derived action labels, but its release terms are not a published open license on this site.

How much data does each use?

Egocentric-10K’s Hugging Face card states roughly 10,000 hours across 192,900 video clips. EgoScale’s paper states 20,854 hours of action-labeled egocentric human video for pretraining, plus a smaller mid-training stage of roughly 50 hours of human video and about 4 hours of robot data across 344 tasks.

Is Egocentric-10K a downloadable dataset like EgoScale’s corpus?

Egocentric-10K is published as a downloadable dataset with per-worker files. EgoScale is a research recipe and scaling-law study built around its 20,854-hour corpus, not a standalone downloadable dataset release documented on this site.

Does Egocentric-10K or EgoScale include action or hand-pose labels?

Egocentric-10K’s dataset card documents per-worker camera intrinsics only — no action or hand-pose labels are described. EgoScale’s paper states its action labels come from off-the-shelf SLAM and hand-pose estimation, applied after capture rather than on a purpose-built synchronized rig.

Did Egocentric-10K report a scaling law like EgoScale did?

No. Egocentric-10K’s card is a description of scale and capture setup, not a pretraining-loss study. EgoScale reports a quantitative log-linear scaling law tied to a 54% downstream success-rate improvement on a 22-DoF dexterous hand.

What license applies to Egocentric-10K and EgoScale?

Egocentric-10K’s Hugging Face card states an Apache 2.0 license, a permissive license that allows commercial use subject to its own terms. EgoScale’s release terms for its 20,854-hour corpus are not a published open license on this site and would need confirming directly with NVIDIA before any commercial use.

Which should a robot data buyer use, Egocentric-10K or EgoScale?

They answer different questions. Egocentric-10K offers a large, permissively licensed source of factory-manipulation footage with a confirmed license. EgoScale offers a citable, quantitative reference for how egocentric-video scale affects pretraining loss and downstream success, with its own release terms left unconfirmed. Most programs treat both as reference points, then plan their own diversity spec rather than copying either figure as a target.

How do I get a custom pretraining dataset informed by Egocentric-10K or EgoScale’s approach?

Write a skill spec covering the scenes, tasks, objects and people a corpus is missing, informed by the scaling and capture lessons from either source, then start with a small Spec Pilot batch before scaling volume — see /custom-collection/egocentric-data-collection-pilot and /custom-collection/pretraining-data-collection.

Judge it on your own skill spec.

Get the free 40-episode sample pack, or send us your target skills and hours for a scoped quote.