Comparison

Egocentric-10K vs HumanScale: Egocentric Data for Robot Pretraining

An open 10,000-hour factory dataset with camera intrinsics and no action labels, vs a research study that pretrains on 5,000 hours of egocentric video and reports how it compares with robot data.

Short answer

Egocentric-10K is a released Hugging Face dataset: 10,000 hours of monocular head-mounted factory video under Apache 2.0, with camera intrinsics but no action labels. HumanScale is an arXiv study, not a dataset card: it pretrains a world-action model on 5,000 hours of egocentric video and reports stronger unseen-task results than matched robot data.

Spec comparison

Egocentric-10K vs HumanScale, attribute by attribute.

AttributeEgocentric-10KHumanScale
SourceHugging Face dataset card (builddotai)arXiv paper 2606.20521
TypeA released dataset, structured as WebDataset shardsA research study comparing egocentric human video with teleoperated real-robot trajectories as pretraining sources. The paper states code will be released
Egocentric data contained or used10,000 hours of footage, “collected exclusively in real factories”A 5,000-hour subset curated from the egocentric portion of HumanNet, selected for diversity in objects, skills and environments
Capture setupBuild AI Gen 1, a monocular head-mounted camera; 1080p (1920×1080) at 30 fps; 128° horizontal by 67° vertical field of view; no audioNot stated for the 5,000-hour subset. The paper describes egocentric collection in general terms (an off-the-shelf camera or headset, or harvested from the web)
Scale reported10,000 hours; 1.08 billion frames; 192,900 clips; median clip 180 seconds; 16.4 TB5,000-hour pretraining subset; scaling tested from 100 to 5,000 hours. HumanNet, which it builds on, is described as one million hours of human activity
Scenes and tasksFactory work; the directory structure lists factories 001 to 085. Task breakdown not statedDescribed as open-world; subset-level scene and task counts not stated
Labels or annotationsPer-worker intrinsics.json (OpenCV fisheye model) and per-clip metadata fields (factory_id, worker_id, video_index, duration_sec, width, height, fps, size_bytes, codec). No action or hand-pose labels describedPseudo-action labels: per-clip end-effector poses and gripper states estimated from retargeted hand-pose signals, after a filtering and labeling pipeline
Training recipeNot applicable; the card is not a training studyPretrain an autoregressive world-action model, then post-train on 1,500 AgiBot World trajectories (15 tasks, 100 demonstrations each)
Key claim“State-of-the-art in hand visibility and active manipulation density compared to previous in-the-wild egocentric datasets”; no transfer result reportedEgocentric pretraining scales with data and, at matched scale, outperforms real-robot pretraining on unseen tasks
Stated licenceApache 2.0Not stated for the data; the paper states code will be released
AvailabilityDownloadable from Hugging Face after agreeing to share contact informationAvailability of the 5,000-hour subset not stated in the paper text
Every third-party cell traces to the Egocentric-10K Hugging Face dataset card or the HumanScale paper (arXiv 2606.20521). Where a source does not state a fact, the cell says “not stated” rather than estimating it.

Spec comparison

What HumanScale reports, figure by figure.

ResultWhat the paper reportsWhere in the paper
Scaling with egocentric hoursBest post-training action loss falls monotonically from 100 to 5,000 hours: 0.0080 to 0.0067 on Seen tasks and 0.0234 to 0.0204 on Unseen tasksSection 4.1
Seen tasks, ego vs robot pretrainingRobot pretraining reaches 0.0071 at 5,000 hours against 0.0067 for egocentric; the paper calls the two comparably effective in distributionSection 4.2
Unseen tasks, ego vs robot pretrainingRobot pretraining stays near 0.025 (0.0254 at 5,000 hours); egocentric reaches 0.0204, roughly 20% lowerSection 4.2
Abstract headline24% lower validation loss on real-robot action prediction, and 52.5% and 90% higher success rates on in-distribution and out-of-distribution executionAbstract
Real-robot success, egocentric-pretrained92.5% in distribution and 90.0% out of distribution (AgiBot bimanual, averaged over three tasks)Table 2
Real-robot success, Wan2.2 baseline40.0% in distribution and 0.0% out of distribution. This is the no-embodied-pretraining baseline; Table 2 has no real-robot-pretrained rowTable 2, Section 4.3
Trajectories per 100-hour recipeRoughly 45,000 egocentric trajectories against about 8,000 real-robot trajectoriesSection 4.2
Figures are quoted as the paper states them. The paper calls its results “encouraging, but still preliminary”, so treat them as one study’s evidence rather than a benchmark for your own program.

Spec comparison

What a robot pretraining program needs vs what each covers.

Pretraining needWhat Egocentric-10K and HumanScale provide or describeWhat a custom collection adds
Coverage outside a factory floorEgocentric-10K is collected exclusively in factories. HumanScale describes broad egocentric coverage but does not state the scene or task breakdown of its subsetA skill spec scoped to the buyer’s own target tasks and environments, proven on a small pilot batch first — see /custom-collection/egocentric-data-collection-pilot
Action or hand-pose labels aligned to the videoEgocentric-10K documents intrinsics only. HumanScale’s labels are pseudo-actions estimated from retargeted hand poseFrame-accurate action segments and manipulation-grade 3D hand pose captured on the rig, as described on /custom-collection/custom-egocentric-dataset
A licence confirmed for a funded productEgocentric-10K states Apache 2.0. HumanScale states no licence for its dataA buyer-owned, perpetual, non-exclusive commercial licence by default — see /guides/buyer-owned-training-data
A delivery format that fits the pipelineEgocentric-10K ships WebDataset shards. HumanScale states no dataset formatDelivery in RLDS, LeRobot, WebDataset, HDF5, zarr or Rerun .rrd, matching the pipeline already in use
Alignment to a target robotNeither source is robot execution data for your robot. HumanScale itself post-trains on real-robot data for action-space alignmentA collection plan scoped to the target embodiment and task — see /guides/robot-pretraining-data
The custom-collection column uses only capabilities this site already states elsewhere; it is not a new claim about either public source.

The sources

What is Egocentric-10K?

Egocentric-10K is a dataset hosted on Hugging Face by builddotai at huggingface.co/datasets/builddotai/Egocentric-10K. Its card states: “Egocentric-10K is the largest egocentric dataset. It is the first dataset collected exclusively in real factories.” The statistics table lists 10,000 total hours, 1.08 billion frames, 192,900 video clips, a median clip length of 180.0 seconds and 16.4 TB of storage.

Each clip comes from one device, which the card calls Build AI Gen 1: a monocular, head-mounted camera recording H.265/MP4 at 1080p and 30 fps, with a 128° horizontal and 67° vertical field of view and no audio. See /guides/what-is-egocentric-10k for the single-dataset explainer.

The sources

What is HumanScale?

HumanScale is a research paper at arxiv.org/abs/2606.20521, titled “HumanScale: Egocentric Human Video Can Outperform Real-Robot Data for Embodied Pretraining”. The paper states it conducts “a systematic study comparing egocentric human video and teleoperated real-robot trajectories as pretraining data sources for embodied foundation models, under fixed post-training and validation protocols”.

To isolate the pretraining source, the authors curate a 5,000-hour subset from the egocentric portion of HumanNet and compare it with an equal-scale multi-embodiment real-robot corpus. Both pretrain the same autoregressive world-action model. See /guides/what-is-humanscale for the single-paper explainer.

Framing

Is this a like-for-like comparison?

No. Egocentric-10K is an artefact you can load into a training run. HumanScale is evidence about a choice you make before that run: whether egocentric human video is a good pretraining source compared with teleoperated robot data.

The sources do not link the two. The HumanScale text we reviewed does not name Egocentric-10K; its dataset table lists a separate Build AI release, Egocentric-100K, at 100,405 hours. Nothing on the Egocentric-10K card refers to HumanScale.

Capture

What egocentric data does each contain or use, and how is it captured?

Egocentric-10K’s capture setup is fully specified: one standardised monocular head-mounted device for every worker, recorded in real factories. Because every clip shares one camera, resolution, frame rate and field of view are constant, and each per-worker intrinsics.json file records calibrated fisheye parameters (an OpenCV fisheye model with four distortion coefficients) at 1920×1080.

HumanScale does not describe a capture rig for its subset. It draws 5,000 hours from the egocentric portion of HumanNet, described as one million hours of human activity with over 800,000 hours of egocentric footage. For a buyer, HumanScale shows what kind of data worked at scale, not which hardware to specify.

Scale and diversity

How do they compare on scale and diversity?

On raw hours, Egocentric-10K’s 10,000 hours is twice the 5,000-hour subset HumanScale pretrains on. But the numbers measure different things: one is a corpus you can download, the other is the scale of a controlled experiment that also tests 100 and 1,000 hours.

On diversity the picture reverses. Egocentric-10K is single-domain by design: its card states collection exclusively in real factories. HumanScale selects its subset for diversity and reports that egocentric video shows broader workspace, interaction and scene coverage than real-robot data at matched duration.

Labels

Which labels and annotations does each provide?

Egocentric-10K ships video plus metadata. Each clip has a JSON file with factory_id, worker_id, video_index, duration_sec, width, height, fps, size_bytes and codec, and each worker folder has calibrated intrinsics. The card describes no action, hand-pose or language labels, so a team using it for policy learning would add its own labelling.

HumanScale processes its subset through what the abstract calls “a carefully designed filtering and labeling pipeline”, which the paper describes as filtering, deduplication, privacy review and pseudo-action labelling via hand-pose retargeting. The labels are per-clip end-effector poses and gripper states estimated from retargeted hand-pose signals, placing the human data in the same action space as the robot data.

Transfer

How does HumanScale combine human data with robot data, and what does it report about transfer?

HumanScale uses human video for pretraining and a small amount of real-robot data afterwards. Its conclusion is to “pretrain on egocentric human video to learn diverse world representations, then adapt with a small amount of labeled real-robot data for action-space alignment”. Concretely, it post-trains each pretrained model on 1,500 AgiBot World trajectories covering 15 tasks, then evaluates on held-out trajectories from those tasks (Seen) and on 25 tasks excluded from post-training (Unseen).

On Seen tasks the paper finds the two sources comparably effective. On Unseen tasks, scaling robot pretraining produced no consistent improvement, while egocentric pretraining kept improving. The abstract reports 24% lower validation loss on real-robot action prediction and 52.5% and 90% higher success rates on in-distribution and out-of-distribution execution. Those percentages equal the point gaps in Table 2 against the Wan2.2 no-pretraining baseline (92.5 vs 40.0, and 90.0 vs 0.0), so check which comparator a quoted figure refers to.

The paper states its limits: one world-action model built on Wan 2.2, training capped at 5,000 hours because of limited robot data, and a vision-language-action study left to future work. Egocentric-10K reports no transfer experiment.

Licensing

What are the licence and availability terms of each?

Egocentric-10K’s card states: “Licensed under the Apache 2.0 License.” Access runs through Hugging Face, where the card notes you must agree to share your contact information to download. The licence text itself governs what that allows.

HumanScale states no licence for its data in the text reviewed. The paper says code will be released at a GitHub repository it names, but it states no licence or release terms for the 5,000-hour subset, and the subset’s availability is not stated. Ask the authors directly and get commercial-use terms in writing.

Gaps

What does each lack or leave open for robot pretraining?

Egocentric-10K leaves open domain breadth, annotation depth and transfer evidence. It covers factory work only, ships no action or hand-pose labels, and reports no experiment showing how models pretrained on it perform on a robot. It is a large, openly licensed source of factory footage, and that is what it claims to be.

HumanScale leaves open reproducibility, licence clarity and generality. The paper does not state how a reader can obtain the exact subset, its evidence comes from one architecture and one post-training set, and its labels are estimates rather than measured ground truth.

For buyers

What does each imply for a data buyer?

Read together, they suggest a sequence rather than a choice. HumanScale offers a published argument that diverse egocentric video is a strong pretraining source and that a small amount of aligned robot data should follow. Egocentric-10K offers a concrete, permissively licensed pool of one kind of egocentric data. Use the first to justify a strategy and the second as one input.

Custom collection

Where does custom egocentric collection fit alongside either?

Custom collection is not a substitute for either source. It fills coverage that a published dataset’s scope and a study’s fixed subset cannot. A program might use Egocentric-10K as one input, take HumanScale’s finding as a reason to prioritise diversity, then commission a fast, on-demand pilot batch scoped to the scenes, tasks and failure cases its own model is missing.

Firsthand collects custom egocentric video to a buyer’s skill spec, tests the spec on a small Spec Pilot batch before scaling, and delivers in RLDS, LeRobot, WebDataset, HDF5, zarr or Rerun .rrd. The default licence is buyer-owned, perpetual and non-exclusive, confirmed in writing before capture. See /guides/robot-pretraining-data for how pretraining and post-training divide the work, and /custom-collection/pretraining-data-collection for the engagement model.

Evaluation criteria

Eight things to check on any vendor.

Is the claim stated on the source’s own official page?
Every Egocentric-10K figure on this page traces to its Hugging Face dataset card, and every HumanScale figure to arXiv 2606.20521. Where a fact is not stated on either, this page says “not stated”.
Is it a released dataset or a research study?
Egocentric-10K is a downloadable dataset with per-worker files. HumanScale is a controlled comparison of pretraining sources; the paper states code will be released and does not state a licence or release terms for its 5,000-hour subset.
Which labels exist, and how were they produced?
Egocentric-10K’s card documents camera intrinsics and clip metadata only. HumanScale estimates end-effector poses and gripper states from retargeted hand-pose signals as pseudo-action labels.
Is a licence stated, and does it cover your use?
Egocentric-10K states Apache 2.0. HumanScale’s paper states no data licence in the text reviewed, so a team would need to confirm terms directly before relying on its data.
What does the source report about transfer to robots?
Egocentric-10K reports no transfer result. HumanScale reports validation-loss and real-robot success results from one world-action model on one post-training set, which it calls preliminary.

Red flags

Walk away when you see these.

  • Treating HumanScale’s 5,000-hour subset as a dataset you can download. The paper describes a study, not a data release.
  • Assuming HumanScale used Egocentric-10K. The paper’s dataset table lists Egocentric-100K, a different release, and its pretraining subset comes from HumanNet.
  • Quoting the 52.5% and 90% abstract figures without checking the comparator. Table 2 gives those gaps against the Wan2.2 no-pretraining baseline.
  • Training a commercial product on either source without confirming licence terms in writing.

Scoring template

Score candidates against your skill spec.

Copy this table, weight each criterion for your use case, and score each vendor on the same free or paid sample.

CriterionWeight (1–5)Egocentric-10KHumanScale
Is the claim stated on the source’s own official page?———
Is it a released dataset or a research study?———
Which labels exist, and how were they produced?———
Is a licence stated, and does it cover your use?———
What does the source report about transfer to robots?———

FAQ

Common questions.

What is the main difference between Egocentric-10K and HumanScale?

Egocentric-10K is a released Hugging Face dataset of 10,000 hours of factory video under Apache 2.0, with camera intrinsics and no action labels. HumanScale is an arXiv study that pretrains a world-action model on a 5,000-hour egocentric subset and reports how it compares with robot-data pretraining.

Did HumanScale use Egocentric-10K?

The HumanScale text we reviewed does not say so. It draws its 5,000-hour pretraining subset from the egocentric portion of HumanNet, and its dataset table lists a different Build AI release, Egocentric-100K. Neither source describes a link between the two.

How much egocentric data does each use?

Egocentric-10K’s card states 10,000 hours, 1.08 billion frames and 192,900 clips. HumanScale pretrains on a 5,000-hour subset and tests scaling from 100 to 5,000 hours.

Which one includes action labels?

Neither provides measured action labels. Egocentric-10K’s card documents intrinsics and clip metadata only. HumanScale estimates end-effector poses and gripper states from retargeted hand-pose signals and calls them pseudo-action labels.

What does HumanScale report about egocentric versus robot pretraining?

At matched 5,000-hour scale, egocentric and robot pretraining are comparable on Seen tasks, while robot pretraining stays near 0.025 loss on Unseen tasks and egocentric reaches 0.0204. The paper calls its results encouraging but still preliminary.

What licence does each have?

Egocentric-10K’s card states Apache 2.0. HumanScale states no licence for its data in the text reviewed; it says only that code will be released. Confirm commercial-use terms in writing before building a product on either.

Can I get custom egocentric data instead of relying on either?

Yes. Firsthand collects custom egocentric video to a buyer’s skill spec, starts with a small Spec Pilot batch, and delivers in RLDS, LeRobot, WebDataset, HDF5, zarr or Rerun .rrd under a buyer-owned, perpetual, non-exclusive default licence. See /custom-collection/egocentric-data-collection-pilot.

Is Firsthand affiliated with Egocentric-10K or HumanScale?

No. Firsthand has no relationship with the Egocentric-10K publisher or the HumanScale authors. This page reads their official sources and compares them for data buyers.

Judge it on your own skill spec.

Get the free 40-episode sample pack, or send us your target skills and hours for a scoped quote.