Comparison

Figure Project Go-Big vs GR00T N1

A humanoid navigation result learned from egocentric human video vs an open humanoid foundation model trained on a pyramid of web, human, synthetic and real-robot data.

Short answer

Figure’s Project Go-Big reports a Helix navigation result learned from 100% egocentric human video with no robot demonstrations. GR00T N1 is NVIDIA’s open humanoid foundation model, trained on a pyramid of web data, human video, synthetic data and real-robot trajectories, with latent actions for unlabelled video. One announces a collection effort; the other documents a training recipe.

Spec comparison

Figure Project Go-Big vs GR00T N1, as each source states it.

DimensionFigure Project Go-BigGR00T N1
Source typeCompany blog announcement from Figure, September 18, 2025Research paper on arXiv (identifier 2503.14734) plus the NVIDIA Isaac-GR00T repository on GitHub
What it isA humanoid pretraining data-collection initiative for Figure’s Helix model, accelerated by a partnership with BrookfieldAn open vision-language-action foundation model for humanoid robots, with a dual-system design: a vision-language module and a diffusion transformer that generates motor actions
Human data usedEgocentric human video, collected passively as people do behaviors in real Brookfield homesHuman videos drawn from seven existing datasets: Ego4D, Ego-Exo4D, Assembly-101, EPIC-KITCHENS, HOI4D, HoloAssist and RH20T-Human
Who collects the human videoFigure, through its own partnershipNot GR00T N1. The paper says it sources “diverse human egocentric video data from open datasets”
Robot data in the reported resultNone: “no robot demonstrations whatsoever”Heterogeneous mixture: real-robot trajectories, human videos, simulation trajectories and neural (video-generated) trajectories
Scale statedNo hour count. The post cites property scale: over 100,000 residential units, 500 million square feet of commercial office space and 160 million square feet of logistics spaceHuman-video hours are given per dataset in the paper’s Table 7. Other stated scale: 88 hours of in-house teleoperation, 827 hours of neural trajectories and 780,000 simulation trajectories
Action signals from human videoNot stated. The post says Helix outputs low-level SE(2) velocity commands from pixelsNone in the source video. The paper says human videos have no explicit action labels, so it learns latent actions from pairs of frames
Reported resultZero-shot human-to-robot transfer for navigation, which Figure says is to its knowledge a first for a humanoid learning end-to-end from human video aloneBeats Diffusion Policy and BC-Transformer baselines on simulation benchmarks and on real-robot tasks on the Fourier GR-1
Licence and availabilityNot stated. The post describes Figure building its own datasetThe repository lists Apache License 2.0. The paper states the GR00T-N1-2B checkpoint, training data and simulation benchmarks are publicly available

Spec comparison

What each source means for a team weighing humanoid foundation model training data.

If your situation is…What the sources suggestWhat to ask a data provider
You want evidence that human video can teach a humanoid without robot dataProject Go-Big reports navigation learned from human video alone, but it is one result with no comparison arm and no hour countWhich task does the result cover, and does it match the tasks your robot needs?
You want a documented recipe for blending data layersGR00T N1 describes a pyramid: web data and human video at the base, synthetic data in the middle, real-robot data at the topWhich layer is thinnest for your robot, and what would fill it?
Your human video has no action labelsGR00T N1 learns latent actions from frame pairs because its human videos carry none. Project Go-Big does not state how its video is turned into training signalDoes the data ship with action-adjacent annotation, or does your model have to infer it?
You need data you can train a commercial model onProject Go-Big is Figure’s own data. GR00T N1’s repository lists Apache 2.0, but the human videos it draws on come from other datasets, each with its own termsIs the licence written for commercial training, buyer-owned and backed by a documented consent chain?
Practical implications, using only what each source states plus what this site documents about custom collection.

Spec comparison

Where a custom egocentric collection fits next to both.

DimensionProject Go-Big and GR00T N1, as statedCustom collection (Firsthand)
Who controls the capture planFigure collects through its own Brookfield partnership for its own Helix model. GR00T N1 uses existing open video datasets chosen by its authorsA written skill spec for your scenes, tasks, objects and people, proven first with a fast, on-demand Spec Pilot
ViewpointEgocentric human video in Project Go-Big. Egocentric video among the seven datasets GR00T N1 draws onHead-worn, bimanual, whole-body egocentric capture for humanoid pretraining
Annotation schemaNot stated for Project Go-Big. GR00T N1’s human video has no action labels; the paper notes HOI4D has frame-wise hand and object pose annotationsFrame-accurate action segments plus manipulation-grade 3D hand pose captured on the rig
Sensor sync and depthNot stated for eitherTen synchronized streams on one hardware-triggered clock with a sub-2 ms ceiling, plus metric depth alongside RGB, IMU and pose
LicenceNot stated for Project Go-Big. Apache 2.0 for the Isaac-GR00T repository, with each source dataset carrying its own termsPerpetual, buyer-owned commercial licence with a documented consent chain
Delivery formatsNot stated for Project Go-Big. GR00T N1 fine-tuning data uses a LeRobot v2-style layout with an extra modality.json file, per the repositoryRLDS, LeRobot, WebDataset, HDF5, zarr and Rerun .rrd
Left column: what each source states. Right column: the custom collection terms already published on this site.

The question

What is the difference between Figure Project Go-Big and GR00T N1?

Project Go-Big is a humanoid pretraining data-collection initiative that Figure announced in a company blog post on September 18, 2025. Figure says it is building what it calls the world’s largest and most diverse humanoid pretraining dataset for Helix, accelerated by a partnership with Brookfield. GR00T N1 is NVIDIA’s “open foundation model for humanoid robots”, described in arXiv 2503.14734 and released through the github.com/NVIDIA/Isaac-GR00T repository.

Both put human video in the training picture for humanoids. The difference is what each source shows. Project Go-Big reports one navigation result and no dataset size. GR00T N1 documents a model and a layered data recipe. Neither is a Firsthand product, and Firsthand has no relationship with Figure, Brookfield or NVIDIA. Firsthand data was not used to train either. For the single-source explainers, see /guides/what-is-figure-project-go-big and /guides/gr00t-n1-data-pyramid-explained.

Figure

What does Figure state about Project Go-Big?

Figure states that Project Go-Big is accelerated by a partnership with Brookfield, which it describes as owning over 100,000 residential units worldwide, alongside 500 million square feet of commercial office space and 160 million square feet of logistics space. It says data collection has already begun in Brookfield environments and will continue to scale.

The post reports one result. Figure trained Helix on 100% egocentric human video, collected passively as people do behaviors in real Brookfield homes, with no robot demonstrations, and Helix now responds to commands such as “Walk to the kitchen table” by generating closed-loop navigation control from pixels. Figure says that, to its knowledge, this is the first time a humanoid has learned end-to-end from images and language to low-level SE(2) velocity commands using only human video.

The post does not state an hour count, an episode count, an action-label method, a licence or a benchmark number, so this page does not either.

GR00T N1

What do the GR00T N1 paper and repository state?

GR00T N1 is described as an open foundation model for humanoid robots and as a vision-language-action model with a dual-system design: a vision-language module interprets the scene and instruction, and a diffusion transformer generates motor actions. The abstract says it is trained “with a heterogeneous mixture of real-robot trajectories, human videos, and synthetically generated datasets”.

The repository README now describes GR00T N1.7, a later release that the README says adds 20K hours of EgoScale human video to pretraining. This page uses the original paper for N1 and labels anything taken from the README as N1.7. The paper’s own scope note says the model “focuses primarily on short-horizon tabletop manipulation tasks”.

Training data

Humanoid foundation model training data: how do the two approach it?

They sit at different points in a pipeline. Project Go-Big is about getting human video at scale in real homes for Helix. GR00T N1 is about how a model combines layers once data exists. The GR00T N1 data pyramid puts web data and egocentric human video at the wide base, synthetic data in the middle and real-robot trajectories at the narrow top, as laid out in /guides/gr00t-n1-data-pyramid-explained.

Project Go-Big, as described, belongs to the base of that picture: human video collected without a robot. Figure does not say whether or how it plans to blend that video with other layers, so this page does not either. How the layers are mixed in practice is covered in /guides/building-a-robot-pretraining-data-mixture.

Labels

How does each source turn human video into a training signal?

GR00T N1 states that its human videos have no explicit action labels. It trains a VQ-VAE on pairs of frames to produce a latent-action label, and for neural trajectories also uses a trained inverse dynamics model to infer pseudo-actions. For human videos the paper uses “learned latent actions as flow-matching targets”. Terms are defined in /glossary/latent-actions and /glossary/inverse-dynamics-model.

Project Go-Big’s post says Helix produces low-level SE(2) velocity commands from pixels, but it does not describe how the human video becomes a training signal. A buyer should not assume the same latent-action method, or any other, for Figure’s data.

Results

Are the two reported results comparable?

No. Figure’s result is zero-shot, language-commanded navigation of homes from human video alone. GR00T N1’s results are against baselines: at 100 demonstrations per task it averages 45.0% against 33.4% for Diffusion Policy across three simulation benchmarks, and on the GR-1 humanoid full-data success averages 76.8% against 46.4%. Different tasks, different measurements and different evaluation setups mean the two answer different questions.

Neither result isolates human video on its own against robot data. Project Go-Big runs no robot-data arm, and the GR00T N1 sections reviewed include no run that removes human video, so its figures do not measure that layer alone. Reading either as proof of what human video replaces goes beyond what the source states.

Scale

How do the stated scales compare?

They do not compare directly. GR00T N1 states 88 hours of in-house teleoperation expanded to 827 hours of neural trajectories, and 780,000 simulation trajectories, with human-video hours per dataset in its Table 7. Project Go-Big states property access, which describes how many real spaces a partnership opens up, not how much recorded data exists. Figure says only that collection has begun and will continue to scale.

The shared point is diversity. Figure frames diversity of real-world spaces as its goal, and GR00T N1 draws on seven human-video datasets. A pretraining plan should start from your robot’s coverage gaps rather than a headline number. See /guides/why-dataset-diversity-matters-in-robot-learning.

Access

Can an outside team use the data from either?

Project Go-Big is Figure’s own initiative for Figure’s own model, built on a property partnership specific to Figure and Brookfield, and the post describes no way for outside teams to obtain its data. The Isaac-GR00T repository lists the Apache License 2.0, and the paper states the GR00T-N1-2B checkpoint, training data and simulation benchmarks are publicly available. The human videos it draws on come from other datasets, each with its own terms, which the paper does not restate.

A team that plans to train a commercial model on either needs to confirm terms directly with the publisher, in writing, before use. A fixed public corpus also cannot be reshaped afterwards to your target tasks, embodiment or coverage gaps.

Custom collection

Where does custom egocentric collection fit alongside both?

A team that wants human data scoped to its own robot, tasks and environments has to source it separately from both. A custom collection starts with a written skill spec covering the scenes, tasks, objects and people a corpus is missing, proven with a fast, on-demand Spec Pilot before volume scales. The pilot process is described in /custom-collection/egocentric-data-collection-pilot.

Capture is head-worn, bimanual and whole-body for humanoid pretraining, delivered under a perpetual, buyer-owned commercial licence with a documented consent chain, in RLDS, LeRobot, WebDataset, HDF5, zarr and Rerun .rrd. See /custom-collection/humanoid-pretraining-data and /custom-collection/pretraining-data-collection.

For buyers

What should you ask for when buying humanoid foundation model training data?

Ask which layer of your data mixture the data fills, how clips are labeled and whether action signals are measured or inferred, whether the viewpoint matches your robot, whether sensor streams are synchronized, how coverage was planned against a spec, and whether the licence permits commercial training with documented consent. Neither source answers those for outside buyers. See /guides/robot-pretraining-data-diversity-plan.

Evaluation criteria

Eight things to check on any vendor.

Is the scale stated in hours?
GR00T N1 gives human-video hours per dataset in its Table 7 and states hours for its teleoperation and neural trajectories. Figure states property scale and no hour count. A buyer should not infer an hour figure for Project Go-Big.
Does the source report a dataset, a model or a single result?
Project Go-Big reports one navigation result from data Figure is still collecting. GR00T N1 describes a model and the data recipe behind it. They answer different questions.
Is the claim from a paper or a blog post?
Project Go-Big is a company blog announcement. GR00T N1 is a research paper on arXiv with a public repository. A paper carries a methodology that a blog post does not, but both are self-reported and neither replaces your own evaluation on your robot.
How are actions obtained from human video?
GR00T N1 learns latent actions because its human video has no action labels. Project Go-Big’s post does not state how its human video becomes a training signal.
Can an outside team license the data?
Project Go-Big states no licence or availability path. GR00T N1’s repository lists Apache 2.0, but the human videos behind it are other datasets with their own terms. A program that needs commercially usable data still needs its own collection, scoped to its robot and tasks.

Red flags

Walk away when you see these.

  • Treating Project Go-Big as a published dataset size. Figure’s post names no hour count.
  • Reading Project Go-Big as evidence that human video beats robot data. Figure reports no robot-data comparison.
  • Reading GR00T N1’s success rates as a measure of human video alone. They are against Diffusion Policy and BC-Transformer baselines, and the sections reviewed include no run that removes human video.
  • Reading the repository’s N1.7 notes as the original paper. The README now describes N1.7, a later release.
  • Assuming either source’s human data is available for commercial training without checking the licence of the underlying data.

Scoring template

Score candidates against your skill spec.

Copy this table, weight each criterion for your use case, and score each vendor on the same free or paid sample.

CriterionWeight (1–5)Figure Project Go-BigGR00T N1
Is the scale stated in hours?———
Does the source report a dataset, a model or a single result?———
Is the claim from a paper or a blog post?———
How are actions obtained from human video?———
Can an outside team license the data?———

FAQ

Common questions.

What is the main difference between Figure Project Go-Big and GR00T N1?

Project Go-Big is a Figure announcement about collecting egocentric human video with Brookfield to pretrain Helix, with a reported navigation result from human video alone. GR00T N1 is NVIDIA’s open humanoid foundation model, trained on a pyramid of web data, human video, synthetic data and real-robot trajectories.

Does Figure state how many hours Project Go-Big has collected?

No. Figure’s post states property scale, over 100,000 residential units plus commercial office and logistics space, and says collection has begun. It does not publish an hour count.

How does GR00T N1 use human video that has no action labels?

Its paper states human videos have no explicit action labels, so it learns latent actions from pairs of frames and uses them as flow-matching targets. For neural trajectories it also uses inverse-dynamics pseudo-actions.

Does Project Go-Big show human video beats robot data?

No. Figure reports a navigation result learned from 100% human video with no robot demonstrations, but it does not run a robot-data comparison.

Is Firsthand affiliated with Figure or NVIDIA, or was its data used by either?

No. Firsthand has no relationship with Figure, Brookfield or NVIDIA, and Firsthand data was not used to train Helix or GR00T N1. This page reads their official sources and compares them for data buyers.

How do I get custom human data for a humanoid instead?

Write a skill spec for the scenes, tasks, objects and people your model needs, then run a fast, on-demand Spec Pilot against it before scaling. Delivery is under a perpetual, buyer-owned commercial licence. See pretraining data collection for robot foundation models.

Judge it on your own skill spec.

Get the free 40-episode sample pack, or send us your target skills and hours for a scoped quote.